i shot late & got the best preshot # yet - mean anything?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele&Molly

Active Member
Since lasts weeks mishap of W shooting 2.5u instead of 2.25u, Molly has been doing pretty well. Mostly hanging out in the 200's - with some odd 300 spikes at +3 or +4 (food?).

Tonight i was 45 minutes late on pmps and she's given me the best preshot number yet!

Would you mind eyeballing her ss - i feel like i might be missing something very simple.
 
Oh, Michele

I was excited at the lower pre-shot and was going to say it was most likely the dose was settling and showing you what it could do, THEN I came back to see that you shot the lower dose.

I want to *sigh, BUT I may have done something similar if it were my Paul.

In essence, you've started over again by shooting the lower dose tonight.

May I suggest you just pick the 2u and shoot it and spot check for a few weeks to see what happens?

I mean, if shooting the 2u to give you numbers you will shoot steady on, IMO, is better than shooting a dose that will give you numbers you change the dose on alot.

You have already stated you are happy with 200 PS's and 100 peaks, so the 2u or less will likely give you that on a steady basis.

Also, I suggest the 2u to shoot b/c I think the PS you got was actually raised by the +10 snack, so honestly could have been lower of you were not there to feed.

I think 2u, check for ketones, stay diligent with the diet, let the dose settle, DO A CURVE, then re-evaluate the dose.

Be prepared for wacky numbers again the next few days while body adjusts to dose change, k. ;-)
 
Just that 2.25U was holding her at surfing numbers well. You get steady numbers post +12 time on a good dose - they don't automatically jump up once +12 arrives. Think of it like coasting.

Since things are working well, maybe stay with the 2U dose and see if her preshots climb.
 
Just to offer a different perspective......the 2.25 unit dose is not taking her below the generally accepted renal threshold so I would not want to reduce the dose.

Look at 2/19 where you have good spotcheck data. Her preshot was 200 and she never went lower than preshot although she did hang pretty flat. Same thing on 2/16. Even the evening of 2/16 where she had a preshot of 200 and dropped down to 104, her next preshot was still in the 200s, so there's no evidence of resound.

So using the data you have collected, there really isn't any evidence that shooting the full dose at a preshot of 155 would put her at risk. I think you just need to get a preshot in the 100s sometime when you can be home to test and assure yourself that it is safe the shoot the full dose. In the meantime, I hope you stick with the 2.25 units.
 
So using the data you have collected, there really isn't any evidence that shooting the full dose at a preshot of 155 would put her at risk. I think you just need to get a preshot in the 100s sometime when you can be home to test and assure yourself that it is safe the shoot the full dose. In the meantime, I hope you stick with the 2.25 units.

I agree with Terri and she makes a good point about the renal threshold. I forgot about that.

When you're close to good dose, the numbers stabilize. That's what you're seeing. You need the data on lower preshots to be more comfortable with shooting below 200. Which, ha ha, guess what? Means you're going to have to hold the 2.25U dose on preshots below 200 as well or else your data's worthless and you continue spinning your wheels.

If I lived closer I'd come over and hold your hand.

Or shoot her for you. I promise I wouldn't screw up the dose :lol:
 
With the lack of spot checks it is hard to say one way or another what happened today, or on a lot of days for that matter (sorry Michele!).

She could have gone much lower today and like Melissa said, the +10 feeding brought her up to the 155 preshot, or not, we just don't know. Not sure why you were feeding her then unless she was really bugging you which should have warranted a spot check. She could have just been hungry or she could have been lower than she was used to prompting the need to bring herself up. Again, we don't know.

Please try to get some before bed spot checks in...these are important, as are all spot checks, but you need to see where she is at before you turn in.

With all that in mind, I am still reluctant to go along with lowering the dose since she is still in the 200's and 300's. I wish we had more data on this dose. It is too bad you have to go back to work on Monday and will not be able to do more spot checks, but if you get one before you go out the door that should help (two hours post feeding).
 
It means you now have a new base line.

You know you can give the same dose at that BG level and it also means that you can "smile" :lol:
 
Hi Jay! Nice to 'see' you! Checked your SS and it looks like Frankie is responding to the Lantus. How do you like it and how is he doing these days?
 
We just switched and I'm learning on the fly how to use this insulin. The board has been guiding me, as it appears based on the behavior of the insulin that I may have been over dosing him. So we are going to start over in the AM, skip tonites shot and start the process all over again in the AM.

We had PZI Vet on cruise controi. I'd test/feed/shoot and forget. Idexx isnt manufacturing it any more so I was forced to go thru this torment again.

But both he and his brother are doing far better then I.

They get to sleep all day, hang in a gorgeous apartment with a Terrace and a view of the Skyline of Manhattan, in bldg with a pool, doorman,dry cleaner. I have to fight sometimes to get into my bed (its their's) and push them around to get under my covers. They get petted at will, and when they wake up they wake me up to feed them and then send me out to work to worry about Frankies dosing, and the bills.

What a life, they have.

I'm coming back as a cat, in my next life and find a sucker just like me to take care of me.

How are you guys doing?

Cats Rule.

Jay
pamela and tigger said:
Hi Jay! Nice to 'see' you! Checked your SS and it looks like Frankie is responding to the Lantus. How do you like it and how is he doing these days?
 
After I posted, I saw your post over in lantus. Yes, there really is a learning curve with these two L insulins. I had to unlearn everything I knew about PZI when we started with Levemir.

Tigger is doing real well on Levemir. We do not expect to ever go into remission, but my goal is to get him to stay in the 100's with a gradual dip like what Lyndy (Scruffy) describes as a hammock curve. We manage to do that most of the time. My SS needs updating, but you can see there. We don't follow all the rules of the Tilly protocol but I think when cats are as long term diabetic as Tigger is you bend them a little bit and find what works for you. Again, our goal is not remission so we don't push for those much lower, in the green most of the time, numbers. Maybe others would disagree with me, but that is where we are at for now.

Tigger is feeling great on Lev. I am glad we switched when we did, almost a year ago. He has also been on a raw diet for the last couple of years which I think helps a lot too with his health. He will be 15 this year.

"They get to sleep all day, hang in a gorgeous apartment with a Terrace and a view of the Skyline of Manhattan, in bldg with a pool, doorman,dry cleaner. I have to fight sometimes to get into my bed (its their's) and push them around to get under my covers. They get petted at will, and when they wake up they wake me up to feed them and then send me out to work to worry about Frankies dosing, and the bills.

What a life, they have.

I'm coming back as a cat, in my next life and find a sucker just like me to take care of me."

I always enjoyed your humor! Your boy's sound like they have a wonderful life with their Dad and are spoiled like all our kitties. :)
 
Spoiled?

I swear they knew when I found them in a box in my apartment with a note on it till Bide A Wee calls from an ex girlfriend who left them "temporarily". That was almost 14 years ago now.

They expected it way back then, now that they are older and smarter, they believe its an entitlement program.
Jay

pamela and tigger said:
After I posted, I saw your post over in lantus. Yes, there really is a learning curve with these two L insulins. I had to unlearn everything I knew about PZI when we started with Levemir.

Tigger is doing real well on Levemir. We do not expect to ever go into remission, but my goal is to get him to stay in the 100's with a gradual dip like what Lyndy (Scruffy) describes as a hammock curve. We manage to do that most of the time. My SS needs updating, but you can see there. We don't follow all the rules of the Tilly protocol but I think when cats are as long term diabetic as Tigger is you bend them a little bit and find what works for you. Again, our goal is not remission so we don't push for those much lower, in the green most of the time, numbers. Maybe others would disagree with me, but that is where we are at for now.

Tigger is feeling great on Lev. I am glad we switched when we did, almost a year ago. He has also been on a raw diet for the last couple of years which I think helps a lot too with his health. He will be 15 this year.

"They get to sleep all day, hang in a gorgeous apartment with a Terrace and a view of the Skyline of Manhattan, in bldg with a pool, doorman,dry cleaner. I have to fight sometimes to get into my bed (its their's) and push them around to get under my covers. They get petted at will, and when they wake up they wake me up to feed them and then send me out to work to worry about Frankies dosing, and the bills.

What a life, they have.

I'm coming back as a cat, in my next life and find a sucker just like me to take care of me."

I always enjoyed your humor! Your boy's sound like they have a wonderful life with their Dad and are spoiled like all our kitties. :)
 
Hello my fellow New Yorker!!

After i die, i want to come back as one of your cats!!! Hurry, what floor is the pool on??

Good luck with the 'new' insulin - you'll have it down in no time (and i agree, it's very different from PZI which was the insulin i used for years before switching over to Lev).

Your cats are lucky to have you!!

and p.s. nice to see you here in Lev - thanks for responding to me post.
 
I am actually in NJ on the other side of the Hudson.

The pool is an outdoor pool resting on top of the parking garage.

I'm lucky to have had them pick me to take care of them.

Jay

Michele&Molly said:
Hello my fellow New Yorker!!

After i die, i want to come back as one of your cats!!! Hurry, what floor is the pool on??

Good luck with the 'new' insulin - you'll have it down in no time (and i agree, it's very different from PZI which was the insulin i used for years before switching over to Lev).

Your cats are lucky to have you!!

and p.s. nice to see you here in Lev - thanks for responding to me post.
 
Yeah, Jay, I want to come back as one of YOUR cats too!

Mine are the same though. I work and toil and serve them and they lounge and sleep and watch birds in the trees and are fed and petted and brushed.... what a life!

(I had to unlearn everything I knew about vetsulin - actually, I still haven't really managed that!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top