I seriously think Stinky is just messing w/me

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedSteppMom

Member Since 2011
Somehow, he's figured out how to shoot his own insulin...either that, or adjust the monitor settings so that they say he doesn't need a shot. We've had another no-shot day today, but his PMPS # was the exact same # as his mid-day # (158)...which is odd, since that also happened to us on Sunday-at which point I tested myself to make sure the meter was working correctly. Right now, when he does get his ProZinc, he's currently on 1 unit. Should I consider reducing it, or should I just wait a while longer until we have more data to base things on? His spreadsheet should actually work now, if you'd like to take a look at it.

Edited to add: Also, his poor little ears look red & bruised, and there are a couple of scabs from pokes that were um, harder than I meant for them to be. Is Vaseline the only thing I can put on them? I am using the rice sock beforehand & am getting better!
 
Alyssa,

Now that you have a spreadsheet up, would you be willing to come over to the PZI support group and ask about mini dosing? We have several people who have done it and they could help you set up a scale that might work for you. The forum: viewforum.php?f=24

158 is a high enough number for a tiny amount of insulin, but you should have advice from people who are experienced with ProZinc mini dosing.
 
if your Stinky is like my Stinky, I wouldn't doubt he's messing with you. :lol:

i just wanted to address the vaseline question. vaseline i believe is used to help the blood pool so you can get the blood sample onto the test strip. i don't think it helps with healing necessarily? what you can use though to help with the bruising and healing is 1. make sure to apply pressure for several seconds after you get your sample to stop the bleeding. just give the ear a bit of a pinch and hold it for a few and 2. you can use a dab of neosporin. neosporin can be used to help pool the blood to make testing easier AND to help with healing
 
I read about Neosporin, also, and the article I read said to get the Neosporin that says it is for pain....it must have something that deadens a little, and might help the stick not hurt kitty. I've been meaning to get some. Maybe this will remind me.
 
Thanks, I'll post on the PZI forum a little bit later today. His AMPS was 220, so I went ahead & gave him 1 unit. As far as Neosporin goes, I'm actually allergic to that, but I have Bacitracin w/pain relief...do you know if that's OK to use?
 
Alyssa,
Just looked at your SS and wanted to let you know....you should not be shooting this way. It is not safe to be quite honest.
You need to lower your dose.
I think as a newbie you can't be expected to understand how insulin works so I am not trying to embarrass you but please do not keep shooting this way....
And by all means check your Stinky's bg's thruout the day.
Lori
 
WickedSteppMom said:
Thanks, I'll post on the PZI forum a little bit later today. His AMPS was 220, so I went ahead & gave him 1 unit. As far as Neosporin goes, I'm actually allergic to that, but I have Bacitracin w/pain relief...do you know if that's OK to use?

Yes, Bacitracin works wonderfully - I prefer it and so does my vet....
 
Can you recheck him in a bit?? Perhaps you should lower the dose... like a .25? One dose sure seems to knock him down alot... My spreadsheet although small, adjusted Bean quite a bit with just .25. I know all kitties are different but just saying... a little high is better than too low
 
I truly appreciate all advice & help. My gut told me this morning to only give him .5, but I'm still so new to this that I didn't want to do something wrong. I should've listened to my gut. After all, "it's easier to put more insulin into the cat than to get it out once it's been put in." (as I keep reading.) I'm going to test him again shortly & after I get that reading, I will post everything over on the PZI forum to what kind of dosing scale I should use. The wildest part about this ride is that the majority of my family on both sides has diabetes, but I'm one of the few who seems to be in the clear (so far-though I regularly get checked & take preventative measures) and yet I'm learning so much more about it through the care of my sweet kitty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top