I'd give a small meal of regular low carb food before you leave. He's probably getting past nadir although they can continue to drop slowly to the end of a cycle. Test as soon as you get back at +11. If he's generally between 268-360 that's higher than he should be. I'll encourage you again to put up your SS that I know you now have on your phone. If we can see how he's doing we can help with dosing.Amps 269
+2 336
+4 198
+6 177
+8 103
Retest + 8 = 128
I have to leave and this is new. Never seen these low #s
He usually hangs around 268- 360
Should I stuff him full of food?
I wick be gone for 3 hours.
I don't understand why you reduced the dose from 1.5 u this AM when the pre shot BG was 269 to 0.5 u this PM when the PMPS was 240, well within the same range as the AMPS. If +8 was the lowest BG today at 103 on an AlphaTrak meter, the 1.5 u dose was fine. Lantus works best with consistent dosing, numbers permitting, so that the depot remains stable.To address other questions:
He gets to eat whatever he is willing to eat. First choices are wet lc ff, ultimately, it's whatever he is willing to self feed. If he is force fed, he gets ad.
Today's dose was 1.5u am
Reduced to .5u pm
I don't understand why you reduced the dose from 1.5 u this AM when the pre shot BG was 269 to 0.5 u this PM when the PMPS was 240, well within the same range as the AMPS. If +8 was the lowest BG today at 103 on an AlphaTrak meter, the 1.5 u dose was fine. Lantus works best with consistent dosing, numbers permitting, so that the depot remains stable.
That seems odd to me too. Why did the vet decide apple only needed 1/3 of the dose? He had a pretty good cycle in my opinion. You could do a curve at the 0.5 unit dose and see how that's working.That dose was chosen by the vet after we discussed how the day went.
That seems odd to me too. Why did the vet decide apple only needed 1/3 of the dose? He had a pretty good cycle in my opinion. You could do a curve at the 0.5 unit dose and see how that's working.
Have you decided not to use the FDMB spreadsheet? It is the best way for members to see how the insulin works with your cat and help, give suggestions, and answer questions you might have.
I agree. That's why I asked why the vet decided on cutting the dose by so much and suggested a curve at the 0.5 units dose.On the face of it it may seem like an odd decision, and that cycle in isolation seemed ok, but to be perfectly honest with no data history to look through it's impossible for any of us to give an informed opinion.
103 was a perfect nadir number. I agree with the others that the dose should have stayed the same. Not sure why the vet would want the cat to stay in high numbers. Ideally you shod aim for around 85-110 for the lowest.To address other questions:
He gets to eat whatever he is willing to eat. First choices are wet lc ff, ultimately, it's whatever he is willing to self feed. If he is force fed, he gets ad.
Today's dose was 1.5u am
Reduced to .5u pm
103 was a perfect nadir number. I agree with the others that the dose should have stayed the same. Not sure why the vet would want the cat to stay in high numbers. Ideally you shod aim for around 85-110 for the lowest.
150 is the very top of normal (68-150). Under 150 is when the pancreas has a chance to rest and heal. 150 is not a "bad" number, but it should not be the ultimate goal.Vet said his goal is 150.
That seems odd to me too. Why did the vet decide apple only needed 1/3 of the dose? He had a pretty good cycle in my opinion. You could do a curve at the 0.5 unit dose and see how that's working.
Have you decided not to use the FDMB spreadsheet? It is the best way for members to see how the insulin works with your cat and help, give suggestions, and answer questions you might have.
Cutting to 1/3 the dose is too much of a drop for a 50 point difference, IMO. My old vet thought 200-250 was a good goal. I obviously disagreed and quickly got a new vet.Vet said his goal is 150.