I need more advices...please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathy Chen

Member Since 2014
Assam is using Lantus for one month and recently the AMPS and PMPS is getting higher each day. I always do the GLU test at +4 when I am home, and the data shows Lantus still works. I really worried about Assam and do hope she can remission as soon as possible. Could anyone give me some advices? Should I reduce the dose or keep the dose for couple weeks to see how it works? (Assam eats 4 times a day which is before AMPS/PAMS and each +4, 4times meal are 70g canned food ).

Here is the form for Assam
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... ring#gid=0

Please ignore the Chinese parts...Thank you so much!

PS Please let me know if I post in the wrong place.

Thank you all again.

Cathy
 
Hi Cathy

It actually looks like for the most part Assam is doing really well but it does look like she is dropping lower at night and that is causing her to bounce back up in the morning. I'd drop her back to .50 and see if that helps smooth her out some.

Just curious...What does her name mean?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Dear Mel and The Fur Gang,

I read the "Tight Regulation Protocol" said "Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!" That's the reason I really don't know what I should do now.....
Moreover, sometimes I test +6 and her Glu go back to 1XX or a little higher. I don't know it gets higher because of the food or herself....:(

Assam is a name of black tea~:P
 
I may be missing something, but it seems the lowest she has been on .75 was above 50, not low enough to reduce. Mel, do you think she's going lower when mommabean hasn't had a chance to test?
The numbers I see look great, but then, I have Lucian. :roll:
 
When they go up in the middle and dip down towards the next preshot that's an inverse curve. An inverse curve means the dose is a little too high normally.

@Deb...look at the pm tests she's dropping lower overnight. Plus there are a couple days she dropped very quickly. But otherwise she looks GREAT!!! I suspect she's bouncing a tiny bit and her ideal dose may be somewhere between .5 &.75 But the only way to test it is to drop and see. Worst that will happen is she doesn't hold and we go up again.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Dear Mel and The Fur Gang,

Should I try to reduce the dose this weekend so I can test more times, or should I keep this dose more days to see if she can hold the Glu by herself? My goal is remission so I can't take any chance... :cry:

For more information, 11/14/2014 during +4 time, Assam has diarrhea so she didn't eat the meal. She got well in the 11/15 morning and ate all food. That's why the Glu was abnormal in the 11/15 AMPS.
 
Hi Cathy, we all hope for remission, but your goal should always be to have a happy, healthy cat.

Whether they go into remission or stay on small doses of insulin forever, as long as they are healthy, we have to be satisfied with that.

You're doing a great job with your baby, be patient, it gets easier. :-D
 
When you try the reduction is up to you and your schedule. It will take about 3 days before the full results of the reduction to show because the depot has to readjust.

We all have the goal of remission but only the cat can decide if they are going to go down that path. I personally have 3 diabetics...1 in remission for over 3 years, 1that is tightly regulated on a mere drop and 1that is a work in progress. Autumn mine on the drop will more than likely always be a microdose kitty. Maxwell went OTJ with just a diet change and 2 weeks of insulin. And Casey has come down from 11u to 1.75u he may or may not go into remission. But all 3 are healthy and happy and if you didn't know who the diabetics were you couldn't pick them out of my 16 cats.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Dear Debbie and Mel,

I understand I need to be more patient however I do feel depressed sometimes and wonder if this is the best I can do for her.
She is my only cat and I love her so much. I pray she can remission so she doesn't need to take any shot or test Glu everyday.
I will slow done my speed. Thank you so much.

Here is another question.
(please see her form https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... ring#gid=0)
Her Glu was a little different between 11/17~11/18.
She threw up at 11/17 night (7:15pm) and 11/18 morning(7:15am). It might be a hairball or she doesn't get well after diarrhea at 11/14, I really don't know.
Is this may be the reason cause her Glu back to 282 at 11/18 PMPS?
I contacted to the vet and she said I should back to 1u tomorrow morning..

I am so confused....
 
Vomiting or other illness may raise glucose.

For diabetic kitties, you just have to go with where they are. If you give a low carb treat, they often will come to you for testing and shots with no problem. If it were super painful, they wouldn't do that. And human diabetics do ths for life, because a human pancreas doesn't heal like a cat's can. It may be an annoyance to test and shoot, but no more than that.

I may send Deb over here to give you some patience pants ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top