I need help/eye on cedric please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
I have been posting over in the other Lantus forum since Cedric went back on insulin nearly 3 weeks ago. I am good at his spreadsheet but not so much at regulating him, since he was only on Lantus for about 30 days back in 2011.

Please let me know what you think about what I did/didn't do this am:

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=90411

thanks for your help/thoughts!

Jesse
 
Jesse:

I think the first consideration is whether you want to follow Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. You can post here no matter which approach you opt for. By selecting a method of dosing, you'll have guidelines that will help your decision making.

I think you need to not be quite so aggressive with dose increases. When you raised the dose by 0.5u, I suspect there were more blue nadirs than you were able to catch given your work schedule. Most of those higher numbers look a lot like bounces, at least to my eyes. That being the case, regardless of the protocol, you would be raising Cedric's dose by 0.25u.

As for this morning, what you opt for has a lot to do with your comfort level and whether you can monitor. Looking at your +1, it looks like Cedric was starting a bounce. If that's the case, you could have stalled for a bit and then shot. One thought is whether you can move your shot time so you can get an early test and/or have some room in your schedule if you need to stall.
 
Sigh. I just feel like I don't know what I am doing and it is stressful. I just tested him at 6pm eastern and he was 346. Being the only person here and working 7 days a week doesn't help.

I am not sure what the difference is between "tight" and "relaxed" - Cedric is given insulin every 12 hours, although sometimes I have to move his shoot time due to my work schedule at my part time job.

I just can't seem to figure out how to help him and what is causing this...he did have a tooth extracted last month and he had pancreatitis late last summer, but the meds he was on did nothing.

confused_cat
 
The biggest difference between Tight Regulation and SLGS is where numbers are for a dose reduction and how long you hold the dose. With TR, if numbers fall below 50, you reduce the dose. Doses are held for 3 days and then evaluated for an increase. With SLGS, the criteria for a reduction is 90 and doses are held for a week.

Did the vet do post-procedure x-rays after the extraction? Sometimes a root is left and there's no way to know unless x-rays were taken. If the root is left, there could be inflammation. When Cedric fell out of remission, did you take him to the vet to make sure there was no infection or other health problem?
 
Just sending support and Vines. Your in the right place and will get it figured out. Don't get overwhelmed and remember to breath.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
The biggest difference between Tight Regulation and SLGS is where numbers are for a dose reduction and how long you hold the dose. With TR, if numbers fall below 50, you reduce the dose. Doses are held for 3 days and then evaluated for an increase. With SLGS, the criteria for a reduction is 90 and doses are held for a week.

Did the vet do post-procedure x-rays after the extraction? Sometimes a root is left and there's no way to know unless x-rays were taken. If the root is left, there could be inflammation. When Cedric fell out of remission, did you take him to the vet to make sure there was no infection or other health problem?

I took him in when I tested him in mid-Feb and his BG was high. The ran a senior blood panel on him plus an urinalysis. Nothing. His dental is usualy done in late april, but we decided to do it early as it was needed.

I fell asleep on the couch last night after indending to take his BG reading at 10pm. I woke up at 10:30 feeling a wet spot on my butt. He threw up on the couch (I have a throw on there) and it was next to me and he was eating it. Needless to say I spent the time cleaning up and not testing him. :sad:
 
Hey Jesse,
I'm sorry about that wet butt wake up call. I hope Cedric's tummy is feeling better now.
I don't have any advice, just stopping by to say we're all pulling for you.
One thing, If Sienne says you might be a little too aggressive on your increases, have you thought about asking her if you might reduce Cedric to .75? There are a couple people here who know more than the rest of us put together, she's one of them. I don't want to push you, but i'd be inclined to change my question and ask her what dose she might recommend. Just my 2 cents.
I hope it's a good day for you both!! hugs and scritches from us. - mary and ollie
 
since Cedric has thrown a couple of lower AMPS numbers, would it be possible to start getting a +11 before your morning shot? Then you'll know whether the AMPS is surfing, rising, or still dropping. Also if he is doing a big drop at night, like 3/6, you could try setting an alarm to get another test sometime during the night. That would show you if he is actually going low, or just kind of staying around the same number all night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top