911 I MADE A TERRIBLE MISTAKE. DONT WANT HER TO DIE FROM IT. HELP PLEASE !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I used to be a member here about 3 years ago. Mom-mom (my cat) has been doing pretty well. As a matter of fact, lately I have seen really good numbers. Unfortunately, in the last 5 days, I have had 5 tragedies in my family with one, so far, fatal. I DONT have a clear head and I think I may have gave her the insulin at 9:30 and again at 11 p.m. Her number is dropping rapidly. Her insulin has been holding for 17-21 hours each time. She was at 233 when I shot, then in an hour went to 164, 20 minutes later 118, so I gave her about a tbsp. and 1/2 of honey, ice cream, treats, etc. Now 1/2 hour later she actually went up 2 points to 121. It's definately gonna be an all-nighter tonight. Can I do anything else? Like I said before, I THINK I shot her twice, I am 90% sure. What can I do????? SOMEONE PLEASE HELP
 
Hey Lucy, take a deep breath and try to calm down a little.
Can you tell me which insulin it is?
Do you have any high carb dry food?
What is she testing at now?

:bighug:
 
Also switch the ? To 911 so that it will get more attention and let's see if we can get more eyes on this.
 
OMG Your cat looks EXACTLY like Lucy. I dont remember how to change the ? to 911. What area do I go into for that?

Lol cool you have a very beautiful kitty! ;)

There should be an option if you click on the headline.

Can you let me know the info I asked in the questions
 
126 and I just gave her some more treats, she is eating them

That's good, ok so don't give her too much to eat, do you have any high carb gravy food? You can squeeze some gravy off and give her about a teaspoon. The dry food I would only give 4-5 pieces as you don't want to fill her up.

What insulin is it you are Using?
 
I changed my name also. I started calling Lucy "mom-mom" a few years ago.

Ok it's really useful to know the insulin type.
So here's what you need to do. The last two numbers were really similar. So can you tell me how much you shot both times?
And best to restest every 10-20 minutes just so I can be sure she is climbing or at least holding steady. :)

How old is your wee one?
 
Mom-mom is 14. Right now her dosage is a hair under 1.0. So that's the amount I shot, if I did, in fact, shoot twice. Again, I am not 100% sure if I did that for sure,, but it sure seems like it. She is eating her sheba wet food right now. Is that good? Or is it not any kind of sign either way????
 
well, maybe you didn't shoot twice! Let's hope for the best and that's the case and you've just scared yourself. Better safe than sorry. :bighug::bighug:

Don't let her eat too much! If you need to keep her numbers up it's best she doesn't fill up on low carb food. You want to 'trickle feed' with high carb so that she's keeping her bg up. Can you do another test?
 
163. I almost definitely HAD to shoot twice. After all the treats, food and 2 tbs. of honey, her numbers would have been astronomical by now don't you think?? So she went up another 40
 
163. I almost definitely HAD to shoot twice. After all the treats, food and 2 tbs. of honey, her numbers would have been astronomical by now don't you think?? So she went up another 40

I think Levimer is a depot insulin, and I don't know much about it, I'm only familiar with ProZinc. it's good it was a low dose though even if you did shoot twice. But as I said better safe than sorry.

I'm just treating this as if you have shot twice and just like a hypo. :) That's fabulous news she's definitely climbing. How many hours now since the first shot and possible second dose?
 
I think I did the first one 7 hours ago and the second one 3 1/2 hours ago, approximately. I fell asleep during the test. I NEVER have done that. I had 4 or 5 tragedies in my family over the past week. So far only 1 death. Although there was an attempted suicide. My life has been so abnormally crazy, I don't even know if I AM coming or going. I guarantee this will never happen again. This cat is my entire life. She was diagnosed 4 years ago and she was 2.5 pounds, seriously. The vet tried to tell me to put her to sleep because she wouldn't make it. Well here we are, 4 years later, she is 17 pounds and looks great (most of the time, anyway) She is like my daughter to me. I don't have children, only 2 cats.
 
I think I did the first one 7 hours ago and the second one 3 1/2 hours ago, approximately. I fell asleep during the test. I NEVER have done that. I had 4 or 5 tragedies in my family over the past week. So far only 1 death. Although there was an attempted suicide. My life has been so abnormally crazy, I don't even know if I AM coming or going. I guarantee this will never happen again. This cat is my entire life. She was diagnosed 4 years ago and she was 2.5 pounds, seriously. The vet tried to tell me to put her to sleep because she wouldn't make it. Well here we are, 4 years later, she is 17 pounds and looks great (most of the time, anyway) She is like my daughter to me. I don't have children, only 2 cats.

Bless you, it never rains but it pours as we say here. Lots of hugs and prayers for you and your family. Please don't blame yourself for this, you are human and under a lot of pressure and I'm sure your stress levels are off the scale. :bighug::bighug:

She has a fabulous mummy! Believe me, you are coping with a lot and still taking care of her that's just amazing.

Ok so I have to go out (to the vets) I will be gone about an hour or so. Please don't panic, everything is going well. She's not dropped down into hypo numbers and is climbing. You will (if you shot twice) have 2 nadirs. I think levemir nadir Can be up to 12 hours after the shot. So it's really really important you continue to only trickle feed now until after the second nadir should be.

For now I would hold back on food and give a little every time you check her bg and it's staying in similar numbers or dropping. Dry food stays in the system for longer than honey or gravy so for me (personally) in this case that's what I would do.

You are doing extremely well! And so is kitty.
I wish I didn't have to leave but you will be ok, just keep doing what you are doing.
Test in another 30 minutes and see where she is. If she's the same/similar numbers or lower give a few more dry biscuits. if she's higher don't give anything.
I will try to be as quick as I can. :bighug:
 
Levemir is a depot insulin usually with a later nadir than Lantus. I have found that the nadir for me occurs anywhere from +8 to +12, so vigilant testing would be in order. Please keep testing and posting the numbers as you test.
I really find that I get MUCH better numbers with Levemir than Lantus. I have tried both of them and definitely, hands down, Levemir works the best, for me anyway. Do you prefer Lantus???
 
I really find that I get MUCH better numbers with Levemir than Lantus. I have tried both of them and definitely, hands down, Levemir works the best, for me anyway. Do you prefer Lantus???


I used Lantus initially with my first FD kitty then switched to Levemir since the Lantus seemed to "sting" him. I still use Levemir with my other FD kitty and personally prefer it to Lantus. The only thing that I don't like sometimes is that the nadir is later and I have to do later testings.


Have you retested yet?
 
she was 163 an hour ago. I am gonna test again, hang on


How many hours after the shot was this reading? How many hours after the first shot did you possibly give a second shot. And how many hours after the possible second shot was this reading? Trying to get a time line figured out using the format of "preshot +1. +2 +3 hours after shot" to get a clearer picture. Since people can be in different time zones using the +1 +2 +3 method makes it easier to follow.
 
Her number is now 218. We pulled an all-nighter together, but we made it. It's 5:45 a.m here so it looks like I will be sleeping all day WITH the cat. It's a great day to sleep all day anyway. We are expecting heavy thunderstorms anyway all day and into tomm. I am in Pennsylvania. So since this little "episode", the one shot was at 9:45 p.m and the other was at 12:45 a.m should I still shoot at the correct time? That would be 12 hours from the last shot. 12:45 p.m. Only if she shows me high numbers
 
You may still need to monitor her, since Lev seems to frequently have a late nadir (Mary Ann is much more familiar with Levemir than I am) and if my math is correct you're still only about 5 hours past the second shot.
 
She is at 218 now. Thank God !!!! I am sooo tired from being up all night. But it sure does beat the other choice of possibly finding her dead. OMG.

Glad you got some more help, I'm in N.Ireland so it's still only 11am for me. Good going! Glad to see that number!
 
You are such a kind person. You took all this time out of your day to help me with this. God Bless you for that. And for just "being the person that you are". You saved me from a real big panic attack.
Thank You again.
Good Luck at the vet, Have a nice day

Thank you, and you are more than welcome. I'm only too happy to help and pass it on for the help I got here. :bighug:
 
@TempestsMum , will you be able to stay with her for a while still? I have been up all night myself and don't know how much longer I can go without catching a nap. I don't know if Mary Ann is still here.
 
@TempestsMum , will you be able to stay with her for a while still? I have been up all night myself and don't know how much longer I can go without catching a nap. I don't know if Mary Ann is still here.


I am still checking in. Was going to go BTB after Maxie's shot but I will stay up and check in.

From my personal experiences with using Levemir with 2 kitties I found that onset was around +4 hours after shot, so if the possible second shot was done only 5 hours ago I would still do some more testings.
 
I am still checking in. Was going to go BTB after Maxie's shot but I will stay up and check in.

From my personal experiences with using Levemir with 2 kitties I found that onset was around +4 hours after shot, so if the possible second shot was done only 5 hours ago I would still do some more testings.
Mary Ann, if you need to go BTB I can still hang in here for a little while. I just probably don't have more than an hour or so left in me.
 
I will get a nap later. Had some coffee so I am good for a few hours anyway. :)
Thanks! :) I didn't want to leave if there was no one else to help her, and I know Tara said she has a vet appointment. If you're good to go, I will catch a couple of hours' sleep - I have to be back up in 2 1/2 hours anyway! Agh!:arghh:
 
Thanks! :) I didn't want to leave if there was no one else to help her, and I know Tara said she has a vet appointment. If you're good to go, I will catch a couple of hours' sleep - I have to be back up in 2 1/2 hours anyway! Agh!:arghh:

I'm back was just a quick trip there and back and traffic was light. :)
 
I think I did the first one 7 hours ago and the second one 3 1/2 hours ago, approximately. I fell asleep during the test. I NEVER have done that. I had 4 or 5 tragedies in my family over the past week. So far only 1 death. Although there was an attempted suicide. My life has been so abnormally crazy, I don't even know if I AM coming or going. I guarantee this will never happen again. This cat is my entire life. She was diagnosed 4 years ago and she was 2.5 pounds, seriously. The vet tried to tell me to put her to sleep because she wouldn't make it. Well here we are, 4 years later, she is 17 pounds and looks great (most of the time, anyway) She is like my daughter to me. I don't have children, only 2 cats.
You are doing a fantastic job and since your dose is not a lot it won't be difficult to steer. Don't beat yourself up about it. We've all made mistakes during times of sleep depreciation and stress.

Omg I'm so sorry for all the heartache your family is going through.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top