I have some questions about pricking the ear

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Alex552, Mar 11, 2024.

1. Alex552

Alex552 Member

Hi, recently I just found out that my 16 years old cat got diabetes, so I'm new to this process, I've seen various videos of how to prick the cat's ear but some of them prick the ear right into the vein and some of them prick the ear between the exterior side and the vein, my question is, where should I prick my cat's ear to not cause any damage, it would be helpful to see some photos with the exact location of the poking, also I have one more question, I find it hard to stabilize its BG, the lowest it went was 190, my vet told me to give him the 40UI insulin every 6 hours, 2UI if it's >360mg/dL and 1UI if it's <360mg/dL but not lower than 160mg/dL, the thing is it's very unstable, every morning he's having somewhere around 600, my glucose meter shows the "HI" value instead of actual numbers, as far as I know the limit of the testing is 600, after 6 hours sometimes drops to 300, other times to 200, and sometimes even to 400, so I don't know why is this difference from a day to another given the fact that nothing changes, I give him the insulin at every almost 6 hours every day, the food he eats it's the same everyday, I'm feeding him with Royal Canin diabetic both dry and wet food, so I don't get it where the problem is.. Also, I've checked a few days ago 6 hours after the last shot of insulin, that was somewhere about 19:00/7PM, he had 366 at 7PM, and checked his BG at 00:00/12AM, he got 330, so, over night his BG increases alot and I have no clue what could cause that.

2. squeem3

squeem3 Well-Known Member

Ideally you prick between the edge of the ear and the vein. If you hit the vein itself, no big deal. Most cats will get a hematoma from pricking but apply firm pressure to the ear with a tissue after pricking to help stop the bleeding and minimize a hematoma.

What is the name of the insulin?