I HAVE QUESTIONS. πŸ€” 8/3 Moo AMPS 457

QUEEN GAMPO

Member Since 2026
Hello! I'm new here, I usually post in the FDSG on Facebook (and I did consult there as well), but I'd like to see what the message board has to say. My vet hospital just called about Moo's home curve results from yesterday. He's the owner and head doctor, as my regular vet is not in the office until Thursday. He reviewed Moo's numbers and recommended going from the 2 to 3 units. I told him I didn't feel comfortable jumping a whole unit, and he said it would be fine for me to do the 2.5, but he advised he didn't see much of a change from the 1.5 to the 2. Which is also true. πŸ€” I'm so confused. He might actually BE okay with 3, but I'd hate to run into problems as well. He said he would like to see Moo under 250, which heck yes I would too. I don't wanna see him in any trouble along the way tho either. He said most the kitties end up around that 4-4.5 unit range which I'm not opposed to at all, but I myself would hate to see a hypo. πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™€οΈ Was I right just telling him I'd feel safer at 2.5?? Or am I just prolonging my poor boy's high numbers?? πŸ€” It can't be good for him to sit hovering in the 300-500 range either. Ugh... I wish this was alot easier. 😿😒 Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. Mostly just to calm my worries.

Moo pic for Moo tax. 😻
 

Attachments

  • 20191106_134343.jpg
    20191106_134343.jpg
    731.5 KB · Views: 7
Here is the link to your first post about Lantus on the Feline Health forum, and with some background for folks: NEW MEMBER!! 😊

I do have a couple comments. First of all, when people switch from a non depot insulin (Prozinc in your case) to Lantus, we recommend taking the dose of the previous insulin into consideration. He wasn't seeing anything under 200 on the 3 units of Prozinc. We would have suggested starting at 3.0 units of Lantus. So I think you'd be find to move to 3 units now.

We do have a couple of dosing methods we use here and I recommend you read this Sticky Note and decide if you'd like to follow one of them. Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Once you've picked one, we'll be able to better help you with dosing going forward. A questions first, is the Hills urinary/hairball formula a low carb wet food? That is a requirement for following Tight Regulation. If it is kibble, which I see reference to in the spreadsheet, anyway you can get kibble out of the picture? That's likely one of the main reasons he's in higher numbers.

And lastly, I recommend getting into the habit of taking a second test in the night after the PMPS time. Many cats go lower at night. A test even 2-3 hours after the PM shot will tell us if he's one of those cats that dives during the night and bounces during the day.
 
Moo is adorable πŸ₯° πŸˆβ€β¬›πŸ’ž
Welcome and we are glad you’re here and we wil be happy to help.
Glad Moo is being a good boy for his insulin dosing and ear pricks!
Wishing you both lots of good luck! πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€
 
Here is the link to your first post about Lantus on the Feline Health forum, and with some background for folks: NEW MEMBER!! 😊

I do have a couple comments. First of all, when people switch from a non depot insulin (Prozinc in your case) to Lantus, we recommend taking the dose of the previous insulin into consideration. He wasn't seeing anything under 200 on the 3 units of Prozinc. We would have suggested starting at 3.0 units of Lantus. So I think you'd be find to move to 3 units now.

We do have a couple of dosing methods we use here and I recommend you read this Sticky Note and decide if you'd like to follow one of them. Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Once you've picked one, we'll be able to better help you with dosing going forward. A questions first, is the Hills urinary/hairball formula a low carb wet food? That is a requirement for following Tight Regulation. If it is kibble, which I see reference to in the spreadsheet, anyway you can get kibble out of the picture? That's likely one of the main reasons he's in higher numbers.

And lastly, I recommend getting into the habit of taking a second test in the night after the PMPS time. Many cats go lower at night. A test even 2-3 hours after the PM shot will tell us if he's one of those cats that dives during the night and bounces during the day.
Thank you. I appreciate your input. 😊 My vet did suggest a 2 unit start with Lantus but, I hesitated. They've been very good to me so far. You're probably right, he probably would be fine at 3 units. I don't know why I worry, but I do. I adopted the SLGS method right from the start, and I guess I'm really adhering to that. 🀣 You're also correct to assume the Hills is a kibble. I'm standing very firm on that one for grazing, I know we can work his insulin dose around that. It does definitely influence his numbers tho. He used to eat that exclusively as a grazer all day long, but I have transitioned to one whole can of Fancy Feast pate at each dosing. He now grazes less on the kibble, but it's still a part of his diet for sure. I think I've decided to play it safe and just increase a half unit, and stick to the AAHA and Roomp and Rand protocol. Moo is very happy and content and has been throughout this whole ordeal, despite his high numbers. I would rather him be that, than in an emergency. He was even perfectly fine when his ketones rose to 6.3!! I was a total wreck, him... totally fine, not a care in the world. I monitored at home, and he came down. He's my unique miracle boy. He's now holding steady at 0.3 ketones every week, which I take time to celebrate. He's even started playing more again, and sleeping atop his cat tree more, he also gives more purrs these days. I just can really tell he's more comfortable since he started getting insulin. He shifted between spots around the house so frequently before we started. He was probably uncomfortable. 😿 I always seem to hear that high numbers are safer than too low, and that scares me. I don't think I could handle a seizure situation, or him just collapsing. My cats are my kids. I just want them to be happy. 😺 Regarding testing at night, I can surely try. I don't stay up too late most nights, his dosing is at 9:30am/pm, but if that could give more info I'm willing to do my best with that. It literally takes him a half hour to finish his can of food anyway. 😹 And then it's litter box duty.
 
Hi Queen Gampo! Welcome to the forum. Do you know the carb value of the kibble you're feeding? Would you consider trying a lower carb kibble which might help to bring down his numbers. When Jude was diagnosed, he was eating a high carb wet food, and he went into remission with a food change after one month on insulin. Higher numbers are definitely safer than lower numbers especially if he goes low enough to be hypoglycemic, but those higher numbers can be hard on their bodies as well. He's adorable and so fortunate to have you caring for him!!
 
Last edited:
Hi Queen Gampo! Welcome to the forum. Do you know the carb value of the kibble you're feeding? Would you consider trying a lower carb kibble which might help to bring down his numbers. When Jude was diagnosed, he was eating a high carb wet food, and he went into remission with a food change after one month on insulin. Higher numbers are definitely safer that lower numbers especially if he goes low enough to be hypoglycemic, but those higher numbers can be hard on their bodies as well. He's adorable and so fortunate to have you caring for him!!
Yeah it's high. I am not 100% sure the carb breakdown. I know the group has told me before but I haven't retained the info. 27-31% I wanna say. πŸ€” I know it's terrible, but I refuse to eliminate it. Moo can be regulated around his grazing habits. Which has already changed significantly since eating 2 whole cans of FF per day. I had a traumatic experience with another kitty I loved dearly when he developed crystals. Ultimately he had to be put down. 😿😭 I won't risk my boys developing any urinary issues, this food has kept all 3 safe their whole lives. Moo is 15. Jax and Kitten, the brudders are 9. They all graze it. My goal isn't necessarily remission, I would love some regulation. I know it's doable.
 
Yeah it's high. I am not 100% sure the carb breakdown. I know the group has told me before but I haven't retained the info. 27-31% I wanna say. πŸ€” I know it's terrible, but I refuse to eliminate it. Moo can be regulated around his grazing habits. Which has already changed significantly since eating 2 whole cans of FF per day. I had a traumatic experience with another kitty I loved dearly when he developed crystals. Ultimately he had to be put down. 😿😭 I won't risk my boys developing any urinary issues, this food has kept all 3 safe their whole lives. Moo is 15. Jax and Kitten, the brudders are 9. They all graze it. My goal isn't necessarily remission, I would love some regulation. I know it's doable.
Not trying to be pushy at all, but just throwing this out there. Dr. Elsey's has a lower carb kibble that all of my five cats love. There are others, too.
 
Roomp and Rand is the TR protocol. SLGS is a dosing method develop on FDMB years ago. Could you put SLGS in your signature, since you are right, with dry food in the picture you follow SLGS.

I had a cat diagnosed with urinary issues one week after Neko's FD diagnosis. Turns out low carb wet food with low phosphorus, and plenty of water added, was the ticket to food both could eat. Neko kept stealing from his bowl so I couldn't feed him the urinary food anymore. More details on the website from a vet specializing in feline nutrition: Cat Urinary Tract Diseases: Cystitis, Urethral Obstruction, Urinary Tract Infection. By the way, FF is rather higher in phosphorus, so not the best option for a crystals kitty.
 
Roomp and Rand is the TR protocol. SLGS is a dosing method develop on FDMB years ago. Could you put SLGS in your signature, since you are right, with dry food in the picture you follow SLGS.

I had a cat diagnosed with urinary issues one week after Neko's FD diagnosis. Turns out low carb wet food with low phosphorus, and plenty of water added, was the ticket to food both could eat. Neko kept stealing from his bowl so I couldn't feed him the urinary food anymore. More details on the website from a vet specializing in feline nutrition: Cat Urinary Tract Diseases: Cystitis, Urethral Obstruction, Urinary Tract Infection. By the way, FF is rather higher in phosphorus, so not the best option for a crystals kitty.
None of the kitties I have now have ever developed urinary issues, and I attribute that to the food I have been feeding since they were weaned off kitten food. The Hills Urinary and Hairball formula. It's not prescription it's OTC. It keeps the numbers balanced. It's been working thus far, and I refuse to go thru any of that again as it was heartbreaking.
 
Not trying to be pushy at all, but just throwing this out there. Dr. Elsey's has a lower carb kibble that all of my five cats love. There are others, too.
I know about the low carb kibbles out there, the FB group has an extensive list. I just prefer to stick with what I know has been working for years. I refuse to go thru any of that again as it was heartbreaking.
 
Back
Top