I guess I'm back

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllenandRover

Member Since 2011
Hi, I've been gone for almost 4 years, but I guess I'm coming back. I am adopting a new kitty that is already diagnosed as diabetic and newly started on Lantus. My previous experience (with Rover) was PZI so understanding how Lantus works will be my learning curve.

Anyway, I wanted to say hi again and then start talking to folks in the Lantus group.
 
Yes, I'll be home testing - I couldn't do it without that tool!

I remembered that Lantus has an overlap effect. So definitely, some learning for me on this one.
 
Welcome back!

So nice of you to adopt an extra sweet kitty. Once you have dealt with one diabetic cat, taking on a second one isn't as big of a deal.

What is the new kitties name? What state/province is he/she going to be living in?

You know we are going to be looking for a spreadsheet. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Directions here to set one up http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Wow, I just read the directions for the spreadsheet - you guys have come so far since I was here. Google docs? Really? I'm sure I can figure it out. The board is so much more snazzy now!

The cat's name is Tabby, he is about 11 1/2 years old and he looks like a tabby cat. I hope to have him in a couple of days which is why I thought I'd use this time to get reacquainted with the board and learn about Lantus.

Rover passed away in April 2009 after being diabetic for 3 years and then OTJ for about a year until he died of cancer. I have other cats and a small dog. I work from home (as I did with Rover) so I should be able to keep a good eye on Tabby.
 
I am so happy it is Tabby. He definitely needed a home ASAP poor thing. Hope all goes well and he is soon in his new home with you. Bless you dancing_cat
 
Congratulations! I read about Tabby on DCIN's page! So nice that you are giving him a home. Be sure to visit the Lantus forum, so you can read the stickies and learn how it works and the differences between that and PZI.

Let us know how we can help and what questions you have.
 
Hey, Ellen!

How nice to know you're still around, and that you're going to give Tabby a home!

I hope all is well with your family. Sorry to hear about Rover - Scruffy died last year of cancer and kidney failure; he'd been diet-controlled for almost four years, though. Two very well-loved boys, though, weren't they?

Good luck with Tabby!
 
So glad you adopted King Tabby. Any kitty that loves headgear has to be a fun kitty.

b4fe49fc-4d9e-43ed-a06f-50fd3254883b.jpg
 
Darn it, I did not get the headgear. Perhaps I should look through the rest of that bag of things he came with.

He's doing GREAT, by the way. Today's +4 was 99. I'm going to head over to the Lantus board and get some advice pretty soon. I've been sticking with 1.0 unit, but his pre-shot numbers are getting lower and lower so I need to think about whether to stay with that dose.

He sure is happy.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... tdmc#gid=0
 
I can not access your spreadsheet. Somewhere along the line, I think the share options (permissions) were not set correctly. I can never figure out what to change.

When you said publish to the web (under the File command), did you copy the link that is down at the bottom of that pop-up window (this is the one you want) into your signature, or the Internet address in the website address box at the top of the screen?
 
You are getting some really low numbers. Please do not shoot any insulin at PMPS unless your cat's BG (blood glucose) is over 200.

ETA: How experienced are you with shooting low numbers?
 
I gave him .5u tonight (half dose). He was 125 at +13. Based on what he did today at AMPS 145, I thought a reduced shot was preferred to skipping a shot. I will check him again in 3 hours and he has another meal tonight (I do 4 small meals a day rather than 2 meals).

I am used to PZI, that is what I used with Rover until he went into remission and while I am not a tight regulation person per se, I do like to keep them in good range.
 
well, well, well. hello my friend. so glad you are back. lantus is dosed according to nadir and not PS'es. I have twinkie on lantus and wheezer, sigh, is still on levimir. just 2 drops and I cannot get him off
 
DIAN!! :YMHUG:

Glad you are still here. Glad Wheezer is still here!
Thanks for the tip. Yeah. I was thinking that +6 at 99 was not good enough so I didn't want to skip a shot.
We'll see how that works out!

And thanks, Deb too.
 
yep, wheezer still here but he does grate. KWIM? lantus is pretty easy to work with. just make sure no shaking, rolling, squirting back in ect. also the pens are cheaper in the long run but looks as though you may have tabby OTJ before long. you are good at this. just a small learning curve
and :YMHUG: back at ya
 
Hey there - looking good on this dose. Wonder if he dropped under 50 this morning? Below 50 and he gets a 0.25dose decrease.

How do you feel about posting on the tight regulation board? http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9You are getting hang of this new insulin and I suspect you will know a lot of the old timers on there . They are great at advising dose changes and so on.. and its a great sense of community!
 
while I am not a tight regulation person per se, I do like to keep them in good range.

Even though it's called the Lantus Tight Regulation forum, it's really some folks that follow SLGS, some folks are a more 'Relaxed' style, some are the TR followers. There are even a lot of Levimir users there on Lantus TR.

It's really a place where you have more 'eyes' watching and can get more advice about dosing. Just pop that question mark icon on your post and someone curious will look at your post and answer.

Great group of folks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top