I expect 1/2 U syringes tomorrow

A Fae

Member Since 2021
so I rechecked and at +3 was 68. I didn't want him to go lower so I fed him a high carb meal.
68 is a perfectly safe number. We save the higher carbs for dips below 50. Next time try some of his usual LC food to see if you can keep him surfing.

He seems to be doing well on the dose. However, per SLGS he has earned a reduction and you take his dose down to 0.75U.
Any chance you would look at following TR? With TR, you would hold the dose. But to follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one.
 
Any chance you would look at following TR? With TR, you would hold the dose. But to follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one.
I do have anxiety disorder and tend to act when I should chill. Now 50 as low BG is etched in my mind, Thanks.
I am not set on a dosing method yet, still don't really understand them. I want to do best for kitty and our budget. I have mostly been doing 2 checks per cycle, poor kitty I have a hard time getting blood at times. I follow ear chart and use a pill bottle with warm water. He may be a bit dehydrated I will add some water to his food.
 
I do have anxiety disorder and tend to act when I should chill. Now 50 as low BG is etched in my mind, Thanks.
I am not set on a dosing method yet, still don't really understand them. I want to do best for kitty and our budget.
Oh we have all thrown high carb (and often too much) at our cat when we first saw green. It's part of the rite of passage on this journey. We are so used to higher numbers that normal numbers seem low to us at the beginning. Over time you get used to greens and they even become addictive! :D

With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days. You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90 days. The aim is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). Like I said. TR requires 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day.

If you are feeding 100% LC wet food and can do 4 tests a day, I would encourage you to follow TR. With TR you can hold a dose that sees the cat in normal numbers (50-100 on a human meter).
If you choose to follow TR, you would hold the dose and not reduce it.
 
Last edited:
If you are feeding 100% LC wet food and can do 4 tests a day, I would encourage you to follow TR. With TR you can hold a dose that sees the cat in normal numbers (50-100 on a human meter) If you choose to follow TR, you would hold the dose and not reduce it..
Thanks for the explanation, it makes sense now.
I should be able to test 4x/day. I will try my best on TR and if I can't do it I can always change.
I got this info off a mail order pet supply company:
Halo Chicken & Beef Stew has a Carbohydrate content 4.8% on a dry matter basis (1.1% on an as fed basis)
Halo Lamb Stew has a Carbohydrate content of 7.1% on a dry matter basis (1.6 on an as fed basis)
I am waiting for an email from Halo to confirm.
 
Good morning. Ben is looking good. Have you tried a thin layer of vaseline on the ear tips? This helps the blood "bead" up and not smear into the fur. It is my lifesaver when I am testing. Also, you might want to look at the Balance It chart. It helps to determine the caloric content of cat food. BalanceIT.com Good luck, Ben's Mom/Dad.
 
Ben is about tired of these sharp things & ear grabbing MoM is doing. He has now started looking at me like "are you coming for me again, OH NO", and he is curling his ear soon as we sit on the bed with him on my lap. Silly kid, I hope for his sake we go into remission.
 
Ben is about tired of these sharp things & ear grabbing MoM is doing. He has now started looking at me like "are you coming for me again, OH NO", and he is curling his ear soon as we sit on the bed with him on my lap. Silly kid, I hope for his sake we go into remission.
Be patient. You are not testing that much. You should look at some of the other kitties spreadsheets where they test constantly. Make sure you offer a treat Ben likes every time you test and maybe that will make things easier for him. You are new on this site so it is hard in the beginning to test. I dreaded it in the beginning and swore I could not do it. Now, my Susie will come to the testing site and be patient and accept it but I need to have that treat for her. It will get easier for you and your Ben. Just be relaxed and calm. Use the vaseline and know where to put the lancet (of course that can vary). I believe that Ben will get better at this. And, of course, offer lots of love before and after the test. By the way, trying to test Ben on your lap might be a mistake. I test Susie on a blanket on the floor where I have better control. Plus, you don't want Ben to associate sitting on your lap with a bad experience. Some people test on a counter. I prefer to test on the floor.
 
Be patient
I am perfectly patient it's Ben - lol - He is fine on my lap, he likes being there just doesn't like the ear stick. We sit in a place reserved only for diabetes treatment.
For the 3 years I did sub Q's for the 17-20 year old Groovy Cat, he was on my lap.
This is showing he is feeling much much better. His favorite is meat I cook, esp turkey. So he gets his favorite,
TURKEY LURKEY made by MoM with love.
 
I am perfectly patient it's Ben - lol - He is fine on my lap, he likes being there just doesn't like the ear stick. We sit in a place reserved only for diabetes treatment.
For the 3 years I did sub Q's for the 17-20 year old Groovy Cat, he was on my lap.
This is showing he is feeling much much better. His favorite is meat I cook, esp turkey. So he gets his favorite,
TURKEY LURKEY made by MoM with love.
Your baby is certainly loved. You did three years of Sub Q's for Groovy Cat? Please don't tell me it was CKD. I lost a kitty to that two years ago. Caught it too late. It was already Stage 4. Bless you for loving on your kitties like you do. Ben is in great hands with you.
 
Back
Top