i don't understand my numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Member Since 2016
i'm not sure if i should put this here or on the lantus board.

i don't understand how my cats numbers can vary so much over the course of 24 hours, when all circumstances are the same 24/7.

can someone help explain to me how, for example, mr b can be 110 AMPS but then 12 hours later he is 307 PMPS.

utterly confused and frustrated i cant get him at least out of the 300's.

thanks in advance
 
It could be bouncing.
When one or more of the following happen
1) the glucose drops quickly
2) the glucose drops to an unfamiliar number (ex 100s when previously running up in 300s and 400s
3) the glucose drops to a hypoglycemic number (below 50 mg.dL on a human meter, below 68 mg/dL on a pet meter)
that triggers compensatory hormones which release stored glucose (glycogen).
This can raise the glucose for several days.
 
I am not one of the advice givers but I just want you to know your not alone--this is a frustrating disease.
Most of our kittys probably had FD well before DX so the lower numbers take the body some getting used to without freaking out...
Hang in there the numbers will level out when the body accepts that it is ok.....until then we often suggest wearing "patience pants" :rolleyes:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Jen, I agree with BJ. Bouncing is a normal part of getting a kitty regulated. With Lantus, you want to look at the lows and ignore the highs.
I see you increased the dose by 0.5 recently. With a preshot of 110 this morning, he may have been much lower overnight. Can you try to get some testing in the PM cycles?
When a kitty in on a bounce, all glucose uptake is shut down to preserve it for the brain. It's a reaction to a perceived low, whether it was actually too low, or just lower than the kitty is used to. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce. If a dose is too large, kitty can come crashing down from a bounce. It can be dangerous.
 
Hi Jen, I agree with BJ. Bouncing is a normal part of getting a kitty regulated. With Lantus, you want to look at the lows and ignore the highs.
I see you increased the dose by 0.5 recently. With a preshot of 110 this morning, he may have been much lower overnight. Can you try to get some testing in the PM cycles?
When a kitty in on a bounce, all glucose uptake is shut down to preserve it for the brain. It's a reaction to a perceived low, whether it was actually too low, or just lower than the kitty is used to. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce. If a dose is too large, kitty can come crashing down from a bounce. It can be dangerous.
nice to see you Andy!
 
Misterbeesmom, I understand your confusion / frustration. Small Kitty is in the same situation and
I can't figure out what I might be doing wrong. Split a 24h by 2 and you have the exact same
actions made... with 2 set of results completely different. One thing that is hard but I try to do, is to
make abstractions of results, good or bad, until a cruse has been attained. For what I understand
dose adjustment can cause spikes. Might be like a long river going through a very long path
with the water you drink have had to cover miles and miles before reaching you glass.

Hard to understand, know the feel of being a spectator when it's your little Kitty's health is
in question.

Keep on, you're at the right place for help and advice, the groups has helped me getting
through some ''hard time''.
 
Last edited:
There is also a phenomenon we call "new dose wonkiness" where increasing the dose, even just the tiny 0.25 units we increase, results in paradoxically higher numbers. This too can take a few days to settle down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top