Hi Susanna!!
When you're still fairly new, or don't have a lot of data yet, we suggest that if you get a Pre-shot number you're not comfortable shooting, that you "Stall", DON'T feed, and post and ask for help so we can make sure someone is here to keep track of you. Our "no shot" number here starts at 150, so if you had a pre-shot of 160, we would have told you to go ahead and shoot the full dose and then check at +1 or +2 to see how he's doing.
Lantus needs to be given at the same dose, every 12 hours unless you get a number under 50 during any cycle(which would mean a reduction in dose) or if the nadirs are staying higher than we'd like, you'd increase every 3-5 days (6-10 cycles)
That first time you're shooting a lower number is scary! We've all been there! Eventually though, with lots of testing, you'll learn how your kitty responds to both insulin and food, and then you'll learn to go ahead and shoot lower and lower numbers. The idea is to eventually "shoot low to stay low"
I understand you can't get many mid-cycle tests during the week due to work. Is there any chance you might have a family member or friend/neighbor that could get those tests? If not, you can only do what you can do during the week and we understand that, but it makes it that much more important to get tests in during the PM cycle and on weekends.
His numbers stay in the same area even I increasing his dosage.
Without getting more tests through your cycles, it's really impossible to say if you should increase his dose, but from what I see on his spreadsheet, when you CAN test, he's staying higher than we'd like for his nadir (the lowest part of the cycle) and probably does need more insulin,
BUT without knowing how low he's going at night, it's impossible to know if he really needs more insulin, or he's bouncing off an un-seen low.
If you look at China's spreadsheet and find 1/9/14, you'll see in the PM cycle, she got down to 55....then if you look at the AM and PM cycles for 1/10/14, you'll see she's in the 300's...
that's a bounce! If I hadn't tested the cycle before, and just assumed she needed more insulin because of the higher numbers she had for 1/10, she would have been overdosed. Bounces can last up to 72 hours, so when we know they might be bouncing, we don't want to increase their insulin. With Kangaroo, we just have no way of knowing if his high pre-shots are due to bouncing, or needing more insulin since we don't have those mid-cycle test results.
At this point, there's just no way to know for sure what's going on with Kangaroo, but we need to decide on a dose and hold it (unless the numbers tell us otherwise) and get as many tests in as you can.
Keep asking questions! We'll do what we can to help you and Kangaroo! (I'd love to know why you have a kitty named Kangaroo...sounds like it should be a good story...lol)