I could use some help for Anya

ratbrat

Member Since 2019
Hello, I tested Anya's bg tonight and it is 163 this will be her 2nd Lantus injection. Do I go ahead and give it to her? This morning it was 240 I gave her her injection of 1 unit Lantus at 9:30 am so it has been a little over 12 hours since her last shot. She was just diagnosed on Saturday February 2nd.
 
Hi there we'd love to help you out but that's not much information to go on to be able to advise you safely.

Did you get anymore tests than just the preshot tests?
I'ts possible that she may have gone lower during the course of the day.

How much does Anya weigh?
What sort of food does she eat? Is it wet or dry? Do you know the Carb %
Have you changed her diet recently?
 
No, just before her shot. How much am I supposed to be testing?
That sort of depends on your schedule.

If you are available all day I would test at shot time +2 or +3 then again at +5 or +6 or +7. It is ok and infact preferable if you mix it up a bit.

But a couple of test in both the am and pm cycle would be a good place to start.
 
Hi there we'd love to help you out but that's not much information to go on to be able to advise you safely.

Did you get anymore tests than just the preshot tests?
I'ts possible that she may have gone lower during the course of the day.

How much does Anya weigh?
What sort of food does she eat? Is it wet or dry? Do you know the Carb %
Have you changed her diet recently?
No, I thought I was supposed to just test before her shots. At the vet she tested 418, she had a uti and I have been treating her with clavamox , she will be done with that tomorrow . When I got my testing things together on 2/5 she was 225. She was on dry and canned before she got sick, so l took the dry away, and she's been on fancy feast classic pates, and Sheba perfect portions pates ever sense her vet appointment Thursday January 31st. She weighs 9 lbs 4oz. I tested her again post meal she was 242. Picked up my Lantus and syringes, tester her on 2/7 pre meal she was 240 , gave her 1 unit Lantus, tested her for her pm shot ,she was 163 pre meal. I didn't give her lantus. I was afraid she would go to low during the night.
 
That sort of depends on your schedule.

If you are available all day I would test at shot time +2 or +3 then again at +5 or +6 or +7. It is ok and infact preferable if you mix it up a bit.

But a couple of test in both the am and pm cycle would be a good place to start.
I can try to do more testing, I ordered more strips and lancettes, I'm afraid I'll run out.
 
can try to do more testing, I ordered more strips and lancettes, I'm afraid I'll run out.
What meter are you using?
Most of us use human meters and the dosing methods we follow were developed using Human meters.
The advantage of this is that they are much more economical than the pet meters.
A number of folk use a human meter regularly and keep a pet meter as a back up in case they want to double check something or their regular meter conks out.
 
What meter are you using?
Most of us use human meters and the dosing methods we follow were developed using Human meters.
The advantage of this is that they are much more economical than the pet meters.
A number of folk use a human meter regularly and keep a pet meter as a back up in case they want to double check something or their regular meter conks out.
It is a True Metrix pro, My daughter and son in law are both medical professionals so they gave it to me. I am so new at this, and have bad eyesight, I need new glasses it's really hard for me to see her little ear , my daughter is helping as she can, and I watch my grandkids 2 and three year old so testing is hard when they are here. I can't get the spread sheet done , because I only have my phone and my old tablet that is on its last leg. I don't know...I feel like the whole thing is working against me. I'm going to test her now hopefully I won't have to stick the poor cat so many times to get a sample.
 
It is a True Metrix pro, My daughter and son in law are both medical professionals so they gave it to me.
I'm not familiar with that one.
I'm glad your daughter is helping you.
We've had a number of folk with bad eyesight, and there is a gadget that they have bought to help. Let me just tag @LizzieInTexas I think if I remember she purchased one which really helped. Sometimes all we need is new reading glasses though (sorry that's just the optometrist in me talking)

If you are having technical difficulties with setting up the spreadsheet, @Marje and Gracie may be able to help you. I have a pretty old tablet that I use as well as my PC and my phone. Please don't let that dishearten you. I know how overwhelming it can all be.

You've already done a great job of getting onto the forum and setting up and account some even struggle with that.

Good luck with the first test, take it easy, breath, stay calm and reward your girl even if you don't get a test.
 
I'm not familiar with that one.
I'm glad your daughter is helping you.
We've had a number of folk with bad eyesight, and there is a gadget that they have bought to help. Let me just tag @LizzieInTexas I think if I remember she purchased one which really helped. Sometimes all we need is new reading glasses though (sorry that's just the optometrist in me talking)

If you are having technical difficulties with setting up the spreadsheet, @Marje and Gracie may be able to help you. I have a pretty old tablet that I use as well as my PC and my phone. Please don't let that dishearten you. I know how overwhelming it can all be.

You've already done a great job of getting onto the forum and setting up and account some even struggle with that.

Good luck with the first test, take it easy, breath, stay calm and reward your girl even if you don't get a test.
Oh thank-you so much! I give her pure bites freeze dried chicken for her treat after testing and her shot I hope those are ok. The ingredients is just chicken breast. I feel so bad about poking her, I end up crying, but I will keep going. Her bg this morning is 305 .I didn't give her her Lantus last night because I was afraid she was too low at 163. So I give her the the lantus this morning right? I appreciate your help with the eyesite problem too!! I'm going to try to get my signature at least done tonight when my grandkids go home.
 
Ok, I tested her no food, and she is 305.
Well done!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

How many hours is that since her last shot?
.I didn't give her her Lantus last night because I was afraid she was too low at 163. So I give her the the lantus this morning right?
That was a good choice as long as she has never had ketones or DKA. Especially as you are getting used to the whole testing thing.
 
I gave her shot yesterday morning at 9:30 am, so almost 24 hours (just shy 1/2 hour)
that's what I thought but just wanted to double check, without the ss it makes it very hard to visualize, I hope that we will be able to help you set that up so we can help you in this journey.

So far you've had
240 yesterday morning and you shot,
163 yesterday pm where you skipped
305 this morning
. She was just diagnosed on Saturday February 2nd.
Have you changed her diet since her diagnosis?
 
that's what I thought but just wanted to double check, without the ss it makes it very hard to visualize, I hope that we will be able to help you set that up so we can help you in this journey.

So far you've had
240 yesterday morning and you shot,
163 yesterday pm where you skipped
305 this morning

Have you changed her diet since her diagnosis?
Yes correct. The only diet change I made was to take away the free fed dry, she was already on canned fancy feast and Sheba both just pates. She prefers canned, so it was very easy, I had her on just canned before I started her Lantus , so from 1/31 and her fist shot of lantus was yesterday am. So 7 days with no dry food at all. I'm hoping I can get that spread sheet done over the weekend, I'm hoping my tablet will work for me, or my phone.
 
Yes correct. The only diet change I made was to take away the free fed dry, she was already on canned fancy feast and Sheba both just pates. She prefers canned, so it was very easy, I had her on just canned before I started her Lantus , so from 1/31 and her fist shot of lantus was yesterday am. So 7 days with no dry food at all. I'm hoping I can get that spread sheet done over the weekend, I'm hoping my tablet will work for me, or my phone.
Thanks for answering that. It's great that the transition was so easy, we were lucky like that too.
When she was diagnosed what was her Blood Glucose at the Vets?
How much does she weigh? I'm just trying to work out if her starting dose is adequate for her.

On the board there are two dosing methods we follow.
On one of them (Tight Regulation/TR) the dose is based on the weight.
The other (Start Low Go Slow/SLGS) if the cat is on a wet Low Carb diet, like Anya, the starting dose would be 0.5u

Have you had a chance to read any of the information on dosing?
Here are some links start with this one, new to the group it has basic info on lantus as well as links to other helpful threads
(just click on it)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

This other link is about the two dosing methods
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

It helps us to help you if you pick the one that you feel at this point in time will be the best fit for you, given your availability, and comfort levels. The advice we would offer you would vary depending on which of the methods you want to follow.

I hope we can get you set up with the ss soon.
 
Thanks for answering that. It's great that the transition was so easy, we were lucky like that too.
When she was diagnosed what was her Blood Glucose at the Vets?
How much does she weigh? I'm just trying to work out if her starting dose is adequate for her.

On the board there are two dosing methods we follow.
On one of them (Tight Regulation/TR) the dose is based on the weight.
The other (Start Low Go Slow/SLGS) if the cat is on a wet Low Carb diet, like Anya, the starting dose would be 0.5u

Have you had a chance to read any of the information on dosing?
Here are some links start with this one, new to the group it has basic info on lantus as well as links to other helpful threads
(just click on it)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

This other link is about the two dosing methods
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

It helps us to help you if you pick the one that you feel at this point in time will be the best fit for you, given your availability, and comfort levels. The advice we would offer you would vary depending on which of the methods you want to follow.

I hope we can get you set up with the ss soon.
I did read about the dosing methods, but didn't full understand them. I will try to make a better effort to understand them. I did read the lantus board as well. I just don't have very good reading compensation at all, and have to re-read over and over.
Anya's reading was 418 at the vet, I brought her in because she had blood in her urine and was peeing outside the box, I'm glad she had a uti, because I wouldn't had know about her being diabetic! She weighed 9 lbs 4 oz at the vet. The vet wanted her on 1 unit twice daily, but I'm am afraid that's too much based on her bg last nigh (163) so I guess I'm leaning towards the go slow method but don't fully understand them yet. I have my grand kids today, but will try to re- read through the links you provided. Thank-you so much!
 
Back
Top