I can't figure my cat's dosage out

Christine and Bella

Member Since 2025
Hello,

I am so stuck on bella, I am just doing .25 right now and she is still spiking up into the 500s. Tonight when I tested her, her PMPS was 218 but at +3 shes in the 500s, I don't know how to get her having good consistent cycles without spiking. I have had my insulin since the end of December, could it be because of old insulin? Any advice on what I should do next
 
Hello. It’s good to hear from you. Looking at her spreadsheet, I really think that you need to increase her dose 2.5 units. It will be important to make sure that she gets the snacks (that you’re probably already giving her) but make sure that she gets them at +2 and +4. You may need to do other times, but around two and four hours after the shot will be important to support her blood glucose. Hopefully she will see some green after the increase.I would not advise reducing the dose if she goes below 90 (per SLGS) I think you should either follow the modified pro zinc method (if she doesn’t eat dry food.) Otherwise, I think you need to set a custom reduction point because she may drop below 90 — and that’s actually a very good thing — if we can keep her in more of the good healthy greens… that’s better for her. As far as her spiking high right now, some of that is bouncing from the lower numbers that she’s not used to, but she doesn’t stay high very long and she tends to get back into the lower numbers. But overall, I think she would do a lot better on .5 units. I noticed that earlier in her spreadsheet she also was having better numbers on the .75 units, but for now we should just do it 1/4 unit increase. She was only just diagnosed and started insulin at the beginning of this year, and it can take some cats months to get better regulated. I doubt if your insulin is old because she wouldn’t be going down in her BG at all if that were the case, many people here use their ProZinc for six months
 
Great job last night and great cycle today! Look at those nice numbers. I hope you stuck with only low carb snacks. I am really pleased with the numbers and very happy you gave the .5 dose this morning. How is she doing today overall?
 
She had a nice blue PMPS. Be sure to give her a good snack at +2 and if you are going to sleep before +4 then leave food out for her overnight. What is your shot time again? I am sorry… I am sure I have asked you that question before.
 
She had a nice blue PMPS. Be sure to give her a good snack at +2 and if you are going to sleep before +4 then leave food out for her overnight. What is your shot time again? I am sorry… I am sure I have asked you that question before.
I give her a shot at 7am and 7pm,

I had to take her to the vet today, she has had an increase in her asthma attacks and has wheezing the past couple of days, she ended up sneezing, or coughing (i wasn't there) some speckles of blood today, so I took her in. My vet did an examination, and we decided to wait on doing blood work and xrays since i get them done regularly (around 3 to 4 months) and we ended up prescribing her some oral steroid (prednisolone) to calm her cough down and amoxicillin antibiotic in case she has a respiratory infection. Both of these are taken orally instead of an injection, my vet said this could affect her BG and make her go higher than normal while she is on these. I will go back in an do bloodwork and xrays if this doesn't help.

Wanted to ask you opinion on all this, should i be increasing her dosage while she is on it if we do see an increase in BG? Would love to know if you have had past kitties on oral steroids or antibiotics and how it effected their BG. Frustrated since she seemed to be having some good numbers before this happened.
 
I give her a shot at 7am and 7pm,

I had to take her to the vet today, she has had an increase in her asthma attacks and has wheezing the past couple of days, she ended up sneezing, or coughing (i wasn't there) some speckles of blood today, so I took her in. My vet did an examination, and we decided to wait on doing blood work and xrays since i get them done regularly (around 3 to 4 months) and we ended up prescribing her some oral steroid (prednisolone) to calm her cough down and amoxicillin antibiotic in case she has a respiratory infection. Both of these are taken orally instead of an injection, my vet said this could affect her BG and make her go higher than normal while she is on these. I will go back in an do bloodwork and xrays if this doesn't help.

Wanted to ask you opinion on all this, should i be increasing her dosage while she is on it if we do see an increase in BG? Would love to know if you have had past kitties on oral steroids or antibiotics and how it effected their BG. Frustrated since she seemed to be having some good numbers before this happened.
So i did some research, I don't think amoxicillin effects BG too much, so I gave that to her after i gave her her meal and shot, but I am waiting on the steroid. Her PMPS was really high tonight (590) I am wondering if that is because of the vet, she was very stressed out. Not sure what you think about her numbers. I read that the steroid can make BG go higher, not sure if that is short term or long term only. She will only be on this steroid for a little while, not long term. I decided to wait to give her steroid to her until the morning since her numbers are so high. Not sure if that is a good call. When give it to her should i give it with her insulin in the morning or should I wait a while?
 
I give her a shot at 7am and 7pm,

I had to take her to the vet today, she has had an increase in her asthma attacks and has wheezing the past couple of days, she ended up sneezing, or coughing (i wasn't there) some speckles of blood today, so I took her in. My vet did an examination, and we decided to wait on doing blood work and xrays since i get them done regularly (around 3 to 4 months) and we ended up prescribing her some oral steroid (prednisolone) to calm her cough down and amoxicillin antibiotic in case she has a respiratory infection. Both of these are taken orally instead of an injection, my vet said this could affect her BG and make her go higher than normal while she is on these. I will go back in an do bloodwork and xrays if this doesn't help.

Wanted to ask you opinion on all this, should i be increasing her dosage while she is on it if we do see an increase in BG? Would love to know if you have had past kitties on oral steroids or antibiotics and how it effected their BG. Frustrated since she seemed to be having some good numbers before this happened.
The prednisolone will definitely raise her blood glucose. What is the dose and frequency? How many days will she be on it? Also if she does have a respiratory infection that can also raise her BG.
 
The vet stress definitely could have derailed her cycle and set her up for the black PMPS.

She uses a Flixotide inhaler twice a day, right? How many puffs does she get morning and night? One each time or two? If she only gets one puff in the morning and one in the evening, you can increase to two puffs in the morning and two in the evening. I hope you are using the 250 mcg inhaler.

Also, do you have an Albuterol rescue inhaler for her just in case?
 
The prednisolone will definitely raise her blood glucose. What is the dose and frequency? How many days will she be on it? Also if she does have a respiratory infection that can also raise her BG.
dosage is 1.5 ml every 12 hours for 3 days, 1.5 once daily for 3 days, then 1.5 everyone other day for 3 treatments
 
The vet stress definitely could have derailed her cycle and set her up for the black PMPS.

She uses a Flixotide inhaler twice a day, right? How many puffs does she get morning and night? One each time or two? If she only gets one puff in the morning and one in the evening, you can increase to two puffs in the morning and two in the evening. I hope you are using the 250 mcg inhaler.

Also, do you have an Albuterol rescue inhaler for her just in case?
yes, I will look into increasing it as well, i do 1 puff in morning and 1 at night, do you think i should increase it along with giving the oral steroid, or should i wait until i am done with the oral steroid, I think it's only 125 micrograms, I do have an albuterol inhaler for her as well
 
Do you think i should increase to .75 for tonight? I gave her her steroid and antibiotic this morning, I meant to test her around +4 and +6 but i have something come up unexpectedly and could test her until later and she is high.
 
Great blue preshot this morning! Good move shooting .75. The .75 dose should have been held for six cycles (3 days) anyway. I am hoping for some good numbers today. (don’t bounce, Bella!)
 
Hello,

It has been a a little bit of a wild ride, I thought I would wait until after her steroid was over to try to get her having normal cycles to update you. She was done with her steroid on the 8th of March and it really helped her stop coughing. Yesterday she went low really fast so I ended up taking her to the vet just in case since it was so early in the cycle, we did draw blood as well so I thought I would post the blood work here. She didn't end up going truly hypo her lowest was 50 before I got it to go up. My vet told me to skip her insulin shot last night to see what she would do, she was hoping maybe she was in remission but she spiked all the way almost to 600 this morning so I asked my vet and she told me to give her .5. That is where we are at now, and she dropped all the way into green numbers today. Not sure what I should do this evening for dosage. She is very tricky. I have uploaded her blood work below. Also we did end up testing her thryoid as well (i didn't get a copy of that blood work) all the numbers came back fine for her thyroid
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9771.jpg
    IMG_9771.jpg
    387.1 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG_9772.jpg
    IMG_9772.jpg
    518.1 KB · Views: 4
Hello,

It has been a a little bit of a wild ride, I thought I would wait until after her steroid was over to try to get her having normal cycles to update you. She was done with her steroid on the 8th of March and it really helped her stop coughing. Yesterday she went low really fast so I ended up taking her to the vet just in case since it was so early in the cycle, we did draw blood as well so I thought I would post the blood work here. She didn't end up going truly hypo her lowest was 50 before I got it to go up. My vet told me to skip her insulin shot last night to see what she would do, she was hoping maybe she was in remission but she spiked all the way almost to 600 this morning so I asked my vet and she told me to give her .5. That is where we are at now, and she dropped all the way into green numbers today. Not sure what I should do this evening for dosage. She is very tricky. I have uploaded her blood work below. Also we did end up testing her thryoid as well (i didn't get a copy of that blood work) all the numbers came back fine for her thyroid
She is very sensitive right now, I only gave her .25 this morning and she is already down to 92, I have been skipping her shot in the evening at the intruction of my vet and I am nervous I won't be able to detect hypo if I am sleeping, not sure what do to for dosage at this point
 
Back
Top