I can't believe that I don't know this...

Status
Not open for further replies.

KattyKay

Member Since 2017
I am embarrassed to say that I don't know what are "good" blood glucose numbers.:( Caesar has mostly been in the blues preshot and in the blue or dark greens for the middle of the day. Is that good? Also, no shot below 100, correct?

Please don't judge me too harshly about not getting his blood glucose reading before each shot... it depends if I am home or not to do it.

Thanks for your support. I really do appreciate it. A few weeks back I made a small donation to the site because I am so grateful. I will continue to support this site as it is a vital resource for so many cat moms and dads!
 
Just curious if you are not home to get PS reading, is someone else there to give him insulin shot? Looks like no shots have been missed. Anyways, since you are using AlphaTrak2 meter, normal BG range is 68 - 120. Some cats can naturally run lower or higher of course.
 
Just curious if you are not home to get PS reading, is someone else there to give him insulin shot? Looks like no shots have been missed. Anyways, since you are using AlphaTrak2 meter, normal BG range is 68 - 120. Some cats can naturally run lower or higher of course.
Yes, my husband does shots, just not BG monitoring.
 
hi there, and welcome:bighug::bighug::bighug:

His BG is in a good range.
I'm not sure what dosing protocol you are following, or if you have had a chance to read up about them, on this site, as you are feeding dry, and as it seems you have limited availability to test slgs would seem to be the better fit.
On that dosing method, which is a little more conservative, you would take reductions below 90 (human meter) that 76 on the AT today earned him a reduction to 1.25.

Yes, my husband does shots, just not BG monitorin
If you could get DH(dear hubbie) on board to home test that would be safest.
Do you think you would be able to check BG in the pm cycle? Maybe a just before bed test on a regular basis? It would give you some useful data to help with dosing. If you are finding the cost of AT strips prohibitive, you could use a human meter, strips are a fraction of the cost.


Here's a link to slgs dosing method, note the numbers quoted on the sticky are for a human meter.
 
Just curious if you are not home to get PS reading, is someone else there to give him insulin shot? Looks like no shots have been missed. Anyways, since you are using AlphaTrak2 meter, normal BG range is 68 - 120. Some cats can naturally run lower or higher of course.
I have seen that 68-120 cited as normal on an AT2 in other discussions here. When I look at lab reports, normal is 72-175 or 71-159. Should I worry about these different ranges? Is it just an approximate definition of "normal" given ECID, non fasting vs fasting, and stress or no stress? Or is the AT2 known to not be equivalent to a lab test number? (I did notice once that an AT2 measurement at the vet's office did not exactly match the near simultaneous blood sample sent out for analysis.)
 
I am embarrassed to say that I don't know what are "good" blood glucose numbers.:( Caesar has mostly been in the blues preshot and in the blue or dark greens for the middle of the day. Is that good? Also, no shot below 100, correct?

Please don't judge me too harshly about not getting his blood glucose reading before each shot... it depends if I am home or not to do it.

Thanks for your support. I really do appreciate it. A few weeks back I made a small donation to the site because I am so grateful. I will continue to support this site as it is a vital resource for so many cat moms and dads!
Alphatrak normal range is 68-150. Human meters it's 50-120.
 
hi there, and welcome:bighug::bighug::bighug:

His BG is in a good range.
I'm not sure what dosing protocol you are following, or if you have had a chance to read up about them, on this site, as you are feeding dry, and as it seems you have limited availability to test slgs would seem to be the better fit.
On that dosing method, which is a little more conservative, you would take reductions below 90 (human meter) that 76 on the AT today earned him a reduction to 1.25.


If you could get DH(dear hubbie) on board to home test that would be safest.
Do you think you would be able to check BG in the pm cycle? Maybe a just before bed test on a regular basis? It would give you some useful data to help with dosing. If you are finding the cost of AT strips prohibitive, you could use a human meter, strips are a fraction of the cost.


Here's a link to slgs dosing method, note the numbers quoted on the sticky are for a human meter.
First off, I didn't know what "DH" was on the boards! I think that I need to have my husband watch the video of Peanut getting his BG checked. The only time that my DH tried to get blood he hit the vein and Caesar bled a lot. He was scared that he really hurt him. I am a teacher about to go on summer break, so I will be able to check his BG regularly. I can handle the cost of the strips right now. I found them on jet.com for $42 for a box of 50, plus I get 10% cash back! Thanks for your help!
 
Thank you everyone! Having a range is very helpful even if the numbers are a little different.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top