I am so incredibly frustrated!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I cannot update my spreadsheet right now...so I'll try to explain as best as I can.

Wed pmps was over 350. I gave 1u after feeding. +6 he was over 400. Thurs amps was over 300. I gave 1u after feeding. I couldn't get a +6 cause I was at work. Pmps was 102! So I couldn't shoot. +3 from pmps was over 360. And he was drooling in his sleep.

How am I ever going to get him regulated if giving the same dose, same food, same food amt has such extreme opposite effects for no apparent reason?

The last time I did a curve for my vet, she said that since he was still reaching 400 sometimes that I should bring him up to 2u. That probably would have killed him yesterday...even though his amps was pretty high. GGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

I feel like I'd seriously give up if it didn't mean he'd slowly starve to death. :oops:
 
I would be frustrated too! Some of the days have been when you had to skip at night so maybe we can find a way around that. You have had some nice curves (like December 1st). I can't explain the 350 with nadir of 400 unless it was a fur shot?

I think I would continue with the one unit. If you get a lower pmps, do the waiting thing without feeding to make sure it is sure rising. If he gets up above 200, shoot the one unit or .75 if you won't be around to monitor. If he is in the 150-180 range but sure rising, consider a token dose - like .2 or so. You shot .5 into 164 on 12/14 but it looks like that could have been too much. He went high after that and then maybe low enough to cause a bounce the next day.

I know it is hard to collect the numbers but part of the issue with him is that you don't have enough data to draw good conclusions. Get a test whenever you can - going out the door in the am, coming in pm, before bed test, set the alarm for +6 and get a test. All that data, even if over several days, will help us help you.

The good news here is that he is getting some great numbers on one unit or less! This is a great situation to be in - just challenging.
 
I test/shoot about 945pm and am.

I always set my alarm to wake up at 330am and test.
I cannot test mid afternoon mon-fri, but on the weekends I usually test several times a day.

His nadir doesn't seem to be at +6 though...there have been several times that his preshot # is less than his +6.
I will do curves sat and sun to compare.

As far as fur shot...I am shooting in his side. After sticking the needle in, I let go of the tent, feel around the area to make sure it isn't poking out anywhere, then I inject.
 
Well, I missed all the night numbers. Sorry - I didn't move it over far enough. It is true - some days he reacts just the way you think he should and some days he gets high numbers. A complete curve might help us figure it out.

Have you always shot in the same spot or do you vary it? I wonder if changing the shot spot would make a difference. Here's a good video with lots of choices: http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx ... 01&id=7434

And it is always the same food? Any other food in the house he could be sneaking?
 
No food sneaking available.

About a week ago I switched from shooting by his back legs to shooting on his side.

The drooling freaked me out last night, too.
 
BOy, she is all over the place
Ia mthinking that the 400's could be from a slight bounce or fur shot?
You are seeing some good action on the 1 unit though...
I think I might stick with that a little while longer
I know how frustrating this can be, but hang in there
you are doing a great job :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top