I am so frustrated!

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
I have been trying for almost 3 weeks to get Oliver's insulin regulated. For a few days, I thought I was good with 1U twice a day. Then, the last two days, I have tested him prior to his AM injection and his BG is very low. (89 this morning.) My vet is not happy with me and has told me to stop testing and to give him his injection as long as he is eating. (He is eating, but not very enthusiastically.) I am just not comfortable doing that. I hate skipping his insulin shot. Yesterday he tested 147 in the AM so I skipped his shot and he was up to 329 by evening. I really hate this whole process.
 
Im really new to this whole diabetes situation also. Bailey was diagnosed 5-27-14. I know this can be so fustrating. Bailey has had a few minor complications since his diagnosis. I feel like if its not one thing its something elts lately. Hang in there, it will get better and I know the wonderful people on this board will be able to give you some sage advice.
 
Which meter are you using when you post here? Max has been on lantus since mid November and with the tests I've done I would never just shoot and not test. He would have gone hypo many times by now. I'm sure my vet feels I test too much also but he won't say that to me. Max still is not regulated by the way. Keep testing and posting. I also recommend that you start posting on the tight regulation board.

Elise
 
I generally use the Relion Micro and those are the numbers I am posting. I have an Alpha Track, but I only use that when the Micro readings are really low (i.e. less than 60.)

BTW, my meter did read LO once this morning and I immediately retested and got 83. I am assuming that was a meter malfunction(?)
 
I'm not a lantus user, but I'm fairly certain lantus is supposed to be dosed based on the lowest point (nadir) in the cycle, not the pre-shot value, so skipping based on a pre-shot is probably not 'necessary' depending on how low he is going in between injections.
 
Lantus is dosed based upon Nadir and not the pre-shot. I got a low reading today but jumped the gun and fed high carb. Later readings taken every 30 were 145-187. I think my LO was a strip error.
 
Have you read over both the Tight Regulation and the Start Low Go Slow protocols for using Lantus (and Levemir)? Made a decision as to which you want to follow?

Those do provide guidance for dosing and being safe, depending on how tightly you want to regulate him. The Pred will alter what you do somewhat, as it will impact the glucose levels, you just stay as steady as you can. If necessary, you may need a small bolus of shorter acting insulin on the days he has the pred.

You're probably ready to post in one of the Lantus forums and get more focused advice from experienced Lantus users on a regular basis. Tight Regulation is here and Relaxed Lantus is here
 
You need to share it. I tried to get in but am locked out and it says asking for permission.
 
I am new as well. Peyton was diagnosed 5-28-14 and has spent the majority of that time at the vet. Now we are on the regulation rollercoaster. Hang in there! I'm right there with ya!
If you are having trouble with your spreadsheet just post a new topic to the group and someone will help you. A member actually did mine for me and then transferred ownership to me after she set it up. I'm waaaay to computer illiterate for things like that :)
((((HUGS))))
Julie and Peyton, just diagnosed
 
I can get to it now but the numbers are so small. Like I said, I didn't get mine started so I don't know how to make them bigger. I can just get the drift by looking at the colors.

Elise
 
I can see it on my phone (miraculously, because my phone doesn't always cooperate!)

Whenever the glucose goes below 50 mg/dL, a dose reduction of 0.25 units is earned. so rather than skipping, a dose reduction may allow you to shoot twice a day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top