iBkoryD
Member Since 2011
Hello folks!
My name is Kory and I am in Denver Colorado. I have a cat named Smokey that is 10 and was over weight. He lost a lot of weight and had a bad upper respiratory disease and after getting him out of the vet they diagnosed with diabetes.
The vet put him on 2.5 units of Lantus twice a day. He was doing well for 7 days then yesterday morning he vomited once, would not eat and could barley stand or walk. I took him in to the vet and they monitored him for the day and got him eating. They really had no clue what was wrong with him and thought maybe it was pancreatitis. One thing they did do is lower his units to 1 in the am and 1 in the pm.
I don't think my vet is very knowledgeable when it comes to feline diabetes so here I am. I did some online research and am wondering if he possibly was hit by the somogyi effect?
When I brought him in his BG was 70 and I have no clue what it was prior to that because I was not doing home BG testing.. I am now though.
Yesterday before dinner his BG was 158 and an hour after dinner he was at 121. He is now on 1 unit in the am and 1 unit in the pm.
Today before breakfast his BG was 128 and an hour after breakfast he was at 106.
I guess I am wondering what you folks think caused his issue? I am also curious what your opinions are of his BG numbers yesterday and today so far?
Any comments or suggestions I would really appreciate!
My name is Kory and I am in Denver Colorado. I have a cat named Smokey that is 10 and was over weight. He lost a lot of weight and had a bad upper respiratory disease and after getting him out of the vet they diagnosed with diabetes.
The vet put him on 2.5 units of Lantus twice a day. He was doing well for 7 days then yesterday morning he vomited once, would not eat and could barley stand or walk. I took him in to the vet and they monitored him for the day and got him eating. They really had no clue what was wrong with him and thought maybe it was pancreatitis. One thing they did do is lower his units to 1 in the am and 1 in the pm.
I don't think my vet is very knowledgeable when it comes to feline diabetes so here I am. I did some online research and am wondering if he possibly was hit by the somogyi effect?
When I brought him in his BG was 70 and I have no clue what it was prior to that because I was not doing home BG testing.. I am now though.
Yesterday before dinner his BG was 158 and an hour after dinner he was at 121. He is now on 1 unit in the am and 1 unit in the pm.
Today before breakfast his BG was 128 and an hour after breakfast he was at 106.
I guess I am wondering what you folks think caused his issue? I am also curious what your opinions are of his BG numbers yesterday and today so far?
Any comments or suggestions I would really appreciate!