Charlotte & Prop
Active Member
Hi everybody
Let me start by thanking you all for writing in here. My cat was diagnosed with diabetic only a few weeks ago, and since then I have been spending a lot of time reading this site, I all ready feel more confident with it all.
Bg testing at home works perfectly and Prop (my eleven year old cat) is ok with it, mostly because of the chicken she gets when we are finished. All the advise in here helped me a lot, thanks.
We have startet with caninsulin 2 units twice a day, and in the 12 hours between the shots her BG is between 334 and 118 and back again.
My question is, how importent is it that there are exactly 12 hours between the shots. If I have to go anywhere, can I then give it a little earlier, but just reduce the dose a little or should I skip the whole dose? If I give it a lot later it will influence on the time the dose can be given the next morning, wich will be a problem if it is not in the weekend.
I am sure that some of you can help me, there migth even be a post with this subject somewhere, but I couldn't find any.
I hope you all understand what I write, I am from Denmark (lived in Sterling VA for a year though) and if something don't make sence, just ask me.
Thanks.
Charlotte and Prop
Let me start by thanking you all for writing in here. My cat was diagnosed with diabetic only a few weeks ago, and since then I have been spending a lot of time reading this site, I all ready feel more confident with it all.
Bg testing at home works perfectly and Prop (my eleven year old cat) is ok with it, mostly because of the chicken she gets when we are finished. All the advise in here helped me a lot, thanks.
We have startet with caninsulin 2 units twice a day, and in the 12 hours between the shots her BG is between 334 and 118 and back again.
My question is, how importent is it that there are exactly 12 hours between the shots. If I have to go anywhere, can I then give it a little earlier, but just reduce the dose a little or should I skip the whole dose? If I give it a lot later it will influence on the time the dose can be given the next morning, wich will be a problem if it is not in the weekend.
I am sure that some of you can help me, there migth even be a post with this subject somewhere, but I couldn't find any.
I hope you all understand what I write, I am from Denmark (lived in Sterling VA for a year though) and if something don't make sence, just ask me.
Thanks.
Charlotte and Prop