I am new and have a few questions :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Member Since 2011
Hi everybody

Let me start by thanking you all for writing in here. My cat was diagnosed with diabetic only a few weeks ago, and since then I have been spending a lot of time reading this site, I all ready feel more confident with it all.

Bg testing at home works perfectly and Prop (my eleven year old cat) is ok with it, mostly because of the chicken she gets when we are finished. All the advise in here helped me a lot, thanks.

We have startet with caninsulin 2 units twice a day, and in the 12 hours between the shots her BG is between 334 and 118 and back again.

My question is, how importent is it that there are exactly 12 hours between the shots. If I have to go anywhere, can I then give it a little earlier, but just reduce the dose a little or should I skip the whole dose? If I give it a lot later it will influence on the time the dose can be given the next morning, wich will be a problem if it is not in the weekend.
I am sure that some of you can help me, there migth even be a post with this subject somewhere, but I couldn't find any.
I hope you all understand what I write, I am from Denmark (lived in Sterling VA for a year though) and if something don't make sence, just ask me.

Thanks.

Charlotte and Prop
 
Since you are hometesting you have a little flexibility in when giving shots. You do not want to give insulin less than 10 hours after the previous shot. Even then, you must test first to make sure that your cat's BG readings are not in the "do not shoot" range. For newbies, we recommend not giving insulin if the BG is less than 200.

If you have to skip one dose, that is ok. The next reading will most likely be considerably higher than normal but that is expected. Usually within 1 or 2 shots, you will be back to your normal preshot readings.
 
Welcome Charlotte and Prop!

Wonderful that you have done your reading and have already started hometesting. It is the best way to keep your kitty safe.

Very few people on this site are using Canninsulin (called Vetsulin in the US) It had a recall based on quality control problems and vets here were advised not to prescribe it. Here is the info: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=311 However, vets in Europe seem to be still using it. We have several European members who are working with it with varied success. Here is the primer for using it: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302

The problem with it is just what you are seeing - it tends to be harsh and drops the kitty fairly fast, then moves back up before the cycle ends. I have never used your insulin but I have helped a number of people with general questions about it. It does tend to be easier to vary the schedule with than an insulin like Lantus which builds up a shed and has overlap. With Canninsulin, with most cats, once it is gone, it is gone. So the schedule does not have to be a strict 12/12. But to vary it, you will need to carefully keep track of his blood glucose levels.

The best way to do that is to use our spreadsheet. It is color coded and the World version will show you the numbers in metric and show us the numbers in our system. Here are the directions: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 Be sure to pick the World version. If you are computer savvy, it isn't hard. If you have trouble, just send me a private message. I have helped lots of newbies set theirs up.

Learning about feline diabetes is a steep learning curve at first, but you are doing fine. Keep reading and asking questions.
 
Hello Charlotte and Prop.... and welcome.

I am going to take your questions 1 at a time.
I also used caninsulin. :)

Let me start by thanking you all for writing in here. My cat was diagnosed with diabetic only a few weeks ago, and since then I have been spending a lot of time reading this site, I all ready feel more confident with it all.

-Way to go, reading is knowledge and it helps so much to understand all this.

Bg testing at home works perfectly and Prop (my eleven year old cat) is ok with it, mostly because of the chicken she gets when we are finished. All the advise in here helped me a lot, thanks.

- Whoot, welcome to the Vampire Club......I had a terrible time learning, so you are already ahead of where I started 5 years ago.

We have startet with caninsulin 2 units twice a day, and in the 12 hours between the shots her BG is between 334 and 118 and back again.

-This is a higher than usual starting dose. Kitties usually begin with a 'start low and go slow" philosophy and 1 unit BID ( twice a day ).
Please keep testing that mid cycle " nadir" or low point and ensure Prop does not drop too low.
You also want to watch out for dramatic swings, say for instance 380-118 in the first 3 hours, as this could set up rebound in your kitty and feels awful.
I would even consider dropping back just a wee bit to 1.5 units BID and test for ketones.

My question is, how importent is it that there are exactly 12 hours between the shots. If I have to go anywhere, can I then give it a little earlier, but just reduce the dose a little or should I skip the whole dose? If I give it a lot later it will influence on the time the dose can be given the next morning, wich will be a problem if it is not in the weekend.

-You have flexibility with this insulin, we all need to have our lives and that darn work will get in the way.
Make sure you are shooting a number that is rising anywhere above +11 ( 11 hours after shot ) and you should be fine.
If you see a lower than usual preshot level, like below 240, lowering dose or coming here to check in about it would be my advice.

I am sure that some of you can help me, there migth even be a post with this subject somewhere, but I couldn't find any.
I hope you all understand what I write, I am from Denmark (lived in Sterling VA for a year though) and if something don't make sence, just ask me.

You are doing great already... well done
I am going to link some handy info about caninsulin for you to have a look at with some tips about using food to help, etc. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=302
Please keep in touch and ask lots of questions.
Kimmee

Thanks.
 
Thanks all of you.

I have read a lot about the reasons for not using caninsulin (vetsulin) and I will talk to my vet about it if the BG numbers shows that she is early out of the cycle. But for now the cycle look likes this:
0: 398 Yesterday after vet visit (normally she is around 342
+2: 263
+4: 182
+5: 158
+6: 145
+8: 180
+10: 275
+12: 331

But then again, this was the first day, it might look different in a while, but for now it looks good or?????
 
Yes, that actually looks really good, especially for a kitty so newly diagnosed.

if you go to a lower carb diet, please also be aware that diet alone can significantly lower the need for insulin.
Please, when you make a switch to a low carb diet under about 12% , lower your dose along with it to keep prop at a safe place.
 
I am actually having some problems finding low carb/high quality wetfood. So while I look I feed RC diabetic. I have read all you have to say about dryfood and I might change it when we have been on insulin for a few weeks, but I want my vet to be in on the plan and that will be easier doing it one step at the time.
Any of you know anything about danish cat food? :D
 
I only think we have whiskas and kitekat from that list, but are they really good quality to feed your cat?
 
The jury is out on that. Lots of us figure the cheaper foods are much better than dry and they are what we can afford. (And remember, you are comparing any food you feed to the cat's natural diet - a mouse :razz: ) Lots like the higher quality foods. It is a decision for you to make based on what your cat will eat and what you can afford - and what you can find in Denmark.

Don't forget - if you do change to a lower carb, watch the numbers. Oliver went down 100 points overnight when we changed from dry to wet.
 
Thanks a lot, really great to have you all to share my thougths with. My friends think i'm kind of crazy for not putting her to sleep.But allrerady after two days on caninsulin, she drinks less and seems more playfull.

I guess if and when I change the food, I will do it going into a weekend so I can get the BG numbers every 2 nd. hour and maybe just change a bit at the time or is i better to just do it overnight?
 
Depends on you and the cat. Oliver was thrilled to see wet food and we never looked back. Some kitties have more delicate stomachs and they benefit from a slower process, maybe mixing old and new for awhile, gradually moving to all new. It is usually a good idea to introduce one flavor at a time, so you can figure out that they get diarrhea with beef but not chicken, for example. Some cats are sensitive to beef, some are sensitive to gluten. Who knows? Also, limit seafood to once or twice a week. It has mercury and phosphorus so you don't want to feed it exclusively.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top