Charlotte & Prop
Member Since 2011
My cat prop was on caninsulin for 4 weeks 10 months ago and became dietcontrolled and fortunately still is. At that time I started my own homepage www.sukkerkatten.dk to let people in Denmark know about how to treat diabetes differently from what pretty much every vet in DK suggest. Several people have through my homepage contacted me and the first to, caninsulinusers I helped get in remission in a very short time, but this last one Pelle is more difficult. So here is what has been going on since they wrote to me the first time til now, day 2 on levemir.
November 10. th. they wrote me an e-mail asking for help. Their male cat Pelle had diabetes and the vet said he didn't respond at all to insulin and he ate and peed alot and got skinnier and skinnier, all classic signs of uncontrolleddiabetes. I wrote back about wetfood and hometesting and they told me they were going away for a few day and didn't want to change before they were back home. They contacted me again on saturday the 19.th of november and told they had desided to put Pelle to sleep. The vet said that it was probably a tumor there was the reason for the cat not to react to the insulin. I pretty much begged them to give me a chance for a week to see if he would react to insulin. And they desided too
At that time they gave him 1 unit of this one twice a day:
I told them to get rid of the dryfood and only feed wet low carb.Not a problem. They were pretty open to hometesting but it was and still is very difficult for them. They have to be two to do it, one to hold the cat and the other one to test. After the food change Pelles AMPS and PMPS on this insulin was around 252. At nadir he was between 144-216. The pen could only give 1 unit at the time and since I at that time didn't know how to get insulin out in smaller doses I suggested to get them back on caninsulin where you can deside the dose yourselves. It might soud crazy, but the vet in Denmark is actually not allowed to give you anything but caninsulin, therefore it was not an option in my mind.
On caninsulin we started him on 0,5 unit and that did not make any difference at all, in fact his number began to rise. They talked to the vet who actually suggested levemir, I told them to get it right away. They got it friday, it looks like this:
The vet told them to start with 1 unit once a day. I told them to do it twice a day (was I wrong here?) The first day prior to his first dose his pmps was 313 and he was 238 at +5. Saturday yesterday at amps he was 266 and they gave him 1 unit again. I told them to test during the day at least at +3 so we could see how it worked, but it is not really their favorite thing to do. They came home at +6 and did the first test there and he was on 48. They called me and I told them to give sirup and thes in 30 minutes. He was up a bit after 30 minutes and I told them to test in another hour, at that time the suger had stopped workin and he was down to 54. Sugar again and after a while he slowly began to rise. He was only at 100 at pmps, so no shot that evening. This morning 24 hours after the shot he was at 252. Since he no longer should have 1 unit there was some problems, because they didn't have the right syringes, and not any syringes that could messure only .5 unit. The lady shot 1 unit out in a steril dish and then only took about half up in a syringe, but precisely how much it is is hard to tell, but no were near one unit. I convinced them to test at +3 to see how his reaction was and at that time he had rised to 306. I told them to chek again at +5, but they didn't since only one of them were home and they cant do it alone. At + 12, before pmps he was at 216 and they called me to ask me what to do. Since I didn't know if he was on his way up or down I told them not to shoot after he came so low yesterday. We talked about them shooting after he ate, but since they have the wrong syringes it is really difficult to even know how much they are giving him.
So that is where we are now. What do I need to know to give them good advice. Believe me I am telling them to test a lot more than they are doing, but it is an older couple and the cat pretty much hates it, so do they.
Few questions:
- is shooting once or twice a day - asking because yesterday his numbers didn't start to rise until after +12, but maybe it was because of to high a dose.
- Should the levemirpen be in the fridge after opening?
-Microdosing is really difficult, how do the rest of you messure such small amounts?
-Anything else that would be good for me to know about?
Thanks for you answers and sorry for the long post
Charlotte
November 10. th. they wrote me an e-mail asking for help. Their male cat Pelle had diabetes and the vet said he didn't respond at all to insulin and he ate and peed alot and got skinnier and skinnier, all classic signs of uncontrolleddiabetes. I wrote back about wetfood and hometesting and they told me they were going away for a few day and didn't want to change before they were back home. They contacted me again on saturday the 19.th of november and told they had desided to put Pelle to sleep. The vet said that it was probably a tumor there was the reason for the cat not to react to the insulin. I pretty much begged them to give me a chance for a week to see if he would react to insulin. And they desided too
At that time they gave him 1 unit of this one twice a day:
I told them to get rid of the dryfood and only feed wet low carb.Not a problem. They were pretty open to hometesting but it was and still is very difficult for them. They have to be two to do it, one to hold the cat and the other one to test. After the food change Pelles AMPS and PMPS on this insulin was around 252. At nadir he was between 144-216. The pen could only give 1 unit at the time and since I at that time didn't know how to get insulin out in smaller doses I suggested to get them back on caninsulin where you can deside the dose yourselves. It might soud crazy, but the vet in Denmark is actually not allowed to give you anything but caninsulin, therefore it was not an option in my mind.
On caninsulin we started him on 0,5 unit and that did not make any difference at all, in fact his number began to rise. They talked to the vet who actually suggested levemir, I told them to get it right away. They got it friday, it looks like this:
The vet told them to start with 1 unit once a day. I told them to do it twice a day (was I wrong here?) The first day prior to his first dose his pmps was 313 and he was 238 at +5. Saturday yesterday at amps he was 266 and they gave him 1 unit again. I told them to test during the day at least at +3 so we could see how it worked, but it is not really their favorite thing to do. They came home at +6 and did the first test there and he was on 48. They called me and I told them to give sirup and thes in 30 minutes. He was up a bit after 30 minutes and I told them to test in another hour, at that time the suger had stopped workin and he was down to 54. Sugar again and after a while he slowly began to rise. He was only at 100 at pmps, so no shot that evening. This morning 24 hours after the shot he was at 252. Since he no longer should have 1 unit there was some problems, because they didn't have the right syringes, and not any syringes that could messure only .5 unit. The lady shot 1 unit out in a steril dish and then only took about half up in a syringe, but precisely how much it is is hard to tell, but no were near one unit. I convinced them to test at +3 to see how his reaction was and at that time he had rised to 306. I told them to chek again at +5, but they didn't since only one of them were home and they cant do it alone. At + 12, before pmps he was at 216 and they called me to ask me what to do. Since I didn't know if he was on his way up or down I told them not to shoot after he came so low yesterday. We talked about them shooting after he ate, but since they have the wrong syringes it is really difficult to even know how much they are giving him.
So that is where we are now. What do I need to know to give them good advice. Believe me I am telling them to test a lot more than they are doing, but it is an older couple and the cat pretty much hates it, so do they.
Few questions:
- is shooting once or twice a day - asking because yesterday his numbers didn't start to rise until after +12, but maybe it was because of to high a dose.
- Should the levemirpen be in the fridge after opening?
-Microdosing is really difficult, how do the rest of you messure such small amounts?
-Anything else that would be good for me to know about?
Thanks for you answers and sorry for the long post
Charlotte