? I am confused as to the order in which I Test, Shoot & Feed... advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krystina & Nelli

Member Since 2018
Thank you in advance.
Nelli is (now, recently) getting 3.25U. Her readings have stayed almost exclusively in the 350-400 for a 11 day stretch.
12 days ago she was getting 2U- vet(!?) told me to pump her up to 3U- of course ignorantly at time... followed instructions.
This past Sunday, a member advised I increase to 3.25.
She continues to o be weak & unstable to extent she has troubles not falling down after she has used litter box :-\
 
We recommend you test, feed and then shoot all within about 10-15 minutes. I myself had to shoot while my kitty had his head in the food dish- it was the only way.

Always test before giving insulin.

Getting tests during the PM cycle is important. Without them you only have half the picture. Try getting a ‘before bed’ test in each night and if you should happen to wake up during the night grab a test at that time. The more data you collect the clearer the picture will become.
 
Thank you in advance.
Nelli is (now, recently) getting 3.25U. Her readings have stayed almost exclusively in the 350-400 for a 11 day stretch.
12 days ago she was getting 2U- vet(!?) told me to pump her up to 3U- of course ignorantly at time... followed instructions.
This past Sunday, a member advised I increase to 3.25.
She continues to o be weak & unstable to extent she has troubles not falling down after she has used litter box :-\
Are you following TR or SLGS dosing protocol?

The falling down may be neuropathy weakness. In addition to getting into better numbers you can give b12 methylcobalamin Supplements to help reverse the neuropathy. A popular choice is Zobaline.

Zobaline™ (for Diabetic Cats) 3 mg x 60 tabs https://www.amazon.com/dp/B008G3LI2M/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Thank you Janet.
1. I am not following a dosing protocol. Have been confused as to which one... Would there be a better protocol than another based upon Nelli history?
The B-12... YES I know about it and have Been frothing at the bit to start her on. With that said, her vet wanted me to get her insulin stable regulated until I started to deal with that. BTW this is was a vet we have/had who does not know how to treat a diabetic cat on Lantus. Two weeks ago he had me jump her from 2U to 3U.
I am now taking on her diabetes and feel blessed that I have this wealth of information, data here at felinediabetes.com :-)
I am learning and being corrected on a daily basis from-by members.
Self-employed (shorthanded) jugglingto keep my business going and Nelli‘s health on track. Nelli is priority.
I will get her going on B12 today!
 
We recommend you test, feed and then shoot all within about 10-15 minutes. I myself had to shoot while my kitty had his head in the food dish- it was the only way.

Always test before giving insulin.

Getting tests during the PM cycle is important. Without them you only have half the picture. Try getting a ‘before bed’ test in each night and if you should happen to wake up during the night grab a test at that time. The more data you collect the clearer the picture will become.
Thanks
 
Thank you Janet.
1. I am not following a dosing protocol. Have been confused as to which one... Would there be a better protocol than another based upon Nelli history?
The B-12... YES I know about it and have Been frothing at the bit to start her on. With that said, her vet wanted me to get her insulin stable regulated until I started to deal with that. BTW this is was a vet we have/had who does not know how to treat a diabetic cat on Lantus. Two weeks ago he had me jump her from 2U to 3U.
I am now taking on her diabetes and feel blessed that I have this wealth of information, data here at felinediabetes.com :)
I am learning and being corrected on a daily basis from-by members.
Self-employed (shorthanded) jugglingto keep my business going and Nelli‘s health on track. Nelli is priority.
I will get her going on B12 today!
No need to wait on the b12. Read through both protocols and see which is a better fit for you. If you are nervous then the slower one may be a better fit. If you are home often and testing is possible than maybe tr might be better. You could always start with SLGS and switch later.
 
I’d like to recommend that if you are home and can monitor, that you try the Tight Regulation Protocol since you are feeding a raw diet. TR will get her to a good dose faster. Then you can decide if you want to switch to Start Low Go Slow.

Any reason why you dropped her dose back this morning? I understand when you look at the numbers and your vet raised the dose by 1u from 2u to 3u, you might wonder if she is overdosed. In some cases, that can occcur but she doesn’t look overdosed to me.

Overdosed cats are not typically just flat like this (although some can be). They often will drop down a lot and then shoot back up.

There are a couple things I can suggest for you:
  • In order to make the proper dosing decisions on whether to increase her and by how much, you need to know how low a dose is taking her. Cats typically drop lower at night which means you do need some data there. It would be helpful if you can get the PMPS, a +2, and a before bed test. If you just happen to be an early riser and are up by +10, you could grab a test then.
  • If you decide to follow the TR protocol, you would hold the dose six consecutive cycles. If the nadirs are over 300, you’ll want to increase by 0.5u. If you follow SLGS, you would hold the dose for a week. See how you can get her to a better dose faster with TR? But you will need to be able to test and respond if she drops.
  • I’d be testing for ketones every day.
I would suggest you get the Zobaline started immediately. It’s the unregulated diabetes that is causing the neuropathy. It doesn’t make sense to wait until she’s regulated.

I would also suggest you make sure you have a Hypo Kit ready. I’m not saying she will hypo but it’s got the stuff you need to handle lower numbers and she will eventually see lower numbers. And the post on How to Treat Hypos is a good one to print out and have handy just in case she drops low and you can’t get on the board.

I know you are self employed but if you can post here daily, you will get a lot of support and we can help you decide when to change the dose. Making the Most of your Lantus Basaglar Levemir ISG Experience will give you the posting instructions and how to maximize your time while getting the help you need.

Theres a lot of knowledge on this board and all questions are welcome. And you always want to test before you feed if it’s not shot time and if it is, test first as well. Most feed while shooting as it distracts kitty. You don’t want to feed before you test as it is possible it will influence the BG.

Welcome aboard!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top