Hypoglycemic Nightmare

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justine & Caesar

Member Since 2012
To give a bit of a background, my boy Caesar was diagnosed with Feline Diabetes several weeks ago. When I did at home testing we determined that his blood glucose was steadily between 500 and 650+ which baffled us all. Please keep in mind that Caesar is elderly; around 16 years old. We knew with his stellar health throughout all of these years that his Feline Diabetes was due to old age and nothing else. I wanted to clarify that for future conversation. I discovered there was something wrong because he developed severe and sudden neuropathy in his hind legs within just a week or so.

Anyways, so we started out on 1 Unit of ProZinc twice daily. This worked for about two weeks in getting him down to around 200. His neuropathy was even improving a lot. Then it stopped working completely. I called the vet again and let her know that his insulin wasn't working anymore and so we brought him in for another checkup. (I was also faithfully logging everything in which I presented her everything I had.) Her recommendation was to up his dose a little. She explained that sometimes insulin works for a little bit but that some pets develop a sort of resistance. So we bumped him up to 2 units.

After 2 units was unresponsive, she bumped him to 3. He was spiking to 600+ and once he even started having spasms after an injection. It seemed from curves and regular testing that the more insulin we gave him, the higher his spikes were becoming. This seemed counter-intuitive to my logic and it worried me greatly. He was at that point wetting himself, pooping himself, letting himself go on grooming, and dragging himself mere inches when he moved. I told the vet at this point that if we couldn't get it under control that I would have no choice but to put him down because I didn't want him to suffer anymore. That's when she decided to go to 4 units. (Which quickly became 4 and 1/2.) Sidebar: He needed Sub-Q fluids twice in a three day span because he was in such poor quality.

With my heart in my throat, I gave it a try. It worked almost instantly. We were back to getting somewhere--on the first day. Even after that first dose he was walking (instead of dragging, but there was still extreme neuropathy) and he devoured the food he was previously neglecting. So for quite awhile, 4 and 1/2 units seemed to do him wonders. I did a curve and figured out that he was peaking a little later (at approximately 10 hours) than he should be considering I was supposed to give him doses every 12 hours. It didn't seem to be a problem though because he was spiking in the very high numbers by the time that came around.

So finally, we get to recent information...

A couple of days ago I noticed his blood glucose readings for the beginning of the day (pre-insulin) were dropping a lot more than they used to be. Pre-insulin he was now around 300-320. Even though I was instructed to give him the full 4 and 1/2 units unless 150 or under, I still called my vet with my concerns. She basically told me that I shouldn't micro-manage numbers at home and that one reading couldn't tell her anything. I explained that I was concerned because when giving him 4 and 1/2 units at 500-600, he would drop down to 200, and that if I gave him that same dose in the 300's he'd crash like crazy--at least that's what my senses and logic were screaming at me. She re-assured me that a blood glucose reading in the 300's was still way too high and that he should manage well. So I compromised with myself and gave him 4, but I was still worried that was too much.

Today, 15 hours after his last insulin injection, he was at 313. This was at 3pm. The vet had called me (but only because I hadn't called her first) to check up on Caesar. I explained that I had just tested him and gave her his number. I said that I was very hesitant to give him 4 units again and reiterated my previous worries. She said that we really needed to continue, and that since she was going to be out for the next three days, that I should continue as prescribed (4 units unless under 150) and to do a glucose curve before Tuesday. So I gave him 4 units at 3pm.

I hadn't intended to give him his curve until tomorrow because I'm seven months pregnant and I had been wiped out taking care of him these last few weeks. I figured we both needed some good sleep and 3pm was a little late to start a 12 hour curve. Well he was just as chipper as could be; chirping away at me, devouring his food like it was Christmas dinner, playing, purring, etc. At 7pm he had just flopped over and passed out. It's really humid here, and you know how cats are, so I didn't think too much of that, but I did think it might be a good idea to give him a quick test, especially since I wanted to try and get some sleep early tonight. I took his Blood Glucose. It was 40.

I freaked out. I showed my husband the glucometer and grabbed the Karo syrup. I rubbed it on his gums and noticed he was not really pulling away or fussing like one might think. He licked his lips a bit and I had my husband hold on to him while I called the clinic. It was of course after hours so I was forwarded to the emergency vet clinic. I quickly explained the situation with some brief background on Caesar and they basically told me to get in to their 24 hour clinic as soon as I possibly could. This took about fifteen minutes on the phone. I tested him again and he was in the low 30's.

We got to the clinic and they rushed him right on in. I gave them permission to test his glucose levels and give him an I.V. drip of Dextrose. They wanted to keep him overnight but they wanted to charge me $600+ for the evening. I told them I couldn't afford it and asked what his (hopefully improved) levels were. They said they hadn't tested him again, and asked if I wanted. I told them no since I brought my own kit with me. I tested him right there at 9pm, and he was 133. So he was improving. My concern was that this was only 6 hours after his insulin and he peaks around 10. I asked if I could help him at home and everything I could do for him. They gave me the general rundown and some syringes in case I needed to syringe feed him.

We quickly swung by the grocery store and I got the juiciest and fattest gravy wet food I could find. We got home finally and he devoured an entire can of giblets in gravy. I took his bandage off and he was swarming the empty dry food bowl (my other cat uses) so I cracked open another can and he ate about a third of it. At 11pm I took his blood glucose and it was 280. It's now 1am and he's sleeping on my chair.

I'm not entirely sure if I should have labeled this as a 911 post, however I'm still extremely nervous even though I know his numbers improved. I just took his 10 hour follow up test and he's now at 535. I know they say it's better too low than too high, but what gives? I'm so confused. I feel like I'm just screwing up every which way.

To make matters worse, the vet at the emergency clinic was dumbfounded that my regular vet would put him on such a high dose or let him continue with such a high dose when he was starting to come down. I'm angry, I'm upset, and I'm worried. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Again, I apologize if this doesn't constitute as a 911 anymore, but I'm afraid to sleep.
 
We hear this story here way too often. It's good that you were home testing but your vet's protocol was VERY wrong and you really are lucky your cat is still alive. 1u increases are WAY too much and too much insulin can show the same symptoms as not enough. We call it rebound/bouncing. When a cat is used to being in high levels for so long, the body is accustomed to that being "normal". So when you give the cat insulin, the numbers go down, out of that "normal" range. The cat's body thinks it is going hypo(low)glycemic, even though it's not. So the liver puts out these counter-hypo hormones to raise the glucose. If you're not getting mid cycle (between shot) tests, you might not see these drops. But what will happen is, the blood glucose will be significantly elevated after one of these rebound incidents, and that can last up to a few days. Eventually the body can't keep up and the cat will hypo, like yours did. I suspect this is what happened to Caesar. We recommend increasing in small increments, .25u at a time, in order to not miss the "sweet" dose.

You are very lucky to have joined FDMB, though. We can help you get your cat regulated and healthy again, using the RIGHT protocol for your insulin.

Can you please post all of the blood glucose readings you have gotten for Caesar in the following format:

Date
AMPS (number before you give AM shot)
any mid-cycle tests in this format
+1 (if the test was 1 hr after the shot)
+2 (if it was 2 hrs after the shot)
+3 etc. all the way to +11
PMPS (number before you give PM shot)
+1
+2
+3-11

Here's an example:

8/26
AMPS 500
+2 350
+6 80
PMPS 500
+4 180
+8 350

If that is too much to post, someone can hook you up with the link to create a spreadsheet (like the one in my signature)

And can you also tell us what food you are feeding Caesar?
 
Hello Ry & Scooter,

We hear this story here way too often. It's good that you were home testing but your vet's protocol was VERY wrong and you really are lucky your cat is still alive. 1u increases are WAY too much and too much insulin can show the same symptoms as not enough. We call it rebound/bouncing. When a cat is used to being in high levels for so long, the body is accustomed to that being "normal". So when you give the cat insulin, the numbers go down, out of that "normal" range. The cat's body thinks it is going hypo(low)glycemic, even though it's not. So the liver puts out these counter-hypo hormones to raise the glucose. If you're not getting mid cycle (between shot) tests, you might not see these drops. But what will happen is, the blood glucose will be significantly elevated after one of these rebound incidents, and that can last up to a few days. Eventually the body can't keep up and the cat will hypo, like yours did. I suspect this is what happened to Caesar. We recommend increasing in small increments, .25u at a time, in order to not miss the "sweet" dose.

To give a small measure of credit to the vet in question, she did say that originally we don't up doses in crazy increments as we had, however Caesar's health was in extremely poor health. Although the brief explanation looks bad, and it was, he was being monitored through his peaks and whatnot just to make sure we really weren't in 'yo-yo' mode you described. It really did seem like 4 units was the sweet spot, up until I noticed his first reading for the day had stabilized so much. That's where I think her professional opinion was really off, and where I feel completely and utterly horrified that my gut reaction was right. (I really should've stuck to my guns more.)


You are very lucky to have joined FDMB, though. We can help you get your cat regulated and healthy again, using the RIGHT protocol for your insulin.

Thank you. My friend recommended this site to me and said everyone here is very helpful. I am more than willing and happy to be as equally helpful back with any information I can give to help Caesar out more. I'm just hoping that I didn't do this too late -- as his numbers have startling spiked now. (As I mentioned, at the 10 hour mark he's now at 535.)


Can you please post all of the blood glucose readings you have gotten for Caesar[?]

I tried to sleep, but I just couldn't. He worried me by limping off and hiding under the bed. Between that and the fact that my hubby gets up in a half hour, I figured I'd give him a little longer before turning in. Although I don't have his older readings handy (but I will fetch them from the glove compartment tomorrow) I can give you a format from 8/17 to present. I'll start working on the more comprehensive chart, like in your signature, as soon as I can.

PS: My glucometer reads as "HI" over 600 but does not give an actual exact number.

8/17
PMPS 600+

8/18
AMPS 511
+8.5 141
PMPS 204

8/19
AMPS 543
+7 275
PMPS 401

8/20
AMPS 450
+9 295
PMPS 485

8/21
AMPS 326 (Gave 4 Units instead of 4 and 1/2)
+8 265
PMPS 10.5 425

8/22
AMPS 506
PMPS 339

8/23
AMPS 333
PMPS 238 (No Insulin Given)

8/24
AMPS 403
PMPS 305 (4 Units as Determined by Vet Against Judgement)

8/25
AMPS 313 (4 Units as Determined by Vet Against Judgement)
+4 40
+5 133 (We fed him wet Friskers, Senior Formula.)
+7 280
+9 535

Hope this helps in some way... I definitely feel more compelled to do an in-depth spreadsheet now.


And can you also tell us what food you are feeding Caesar?

Up until we started him 3 Units he was prescribed MD (Dry) but when we switched to 4 Units we started him on wet MD.
 
Up until we started him 3 Units he was prescribed MD (Dry) but when we switched to 4 Units we started him on wet MD.

There is part of your problem - both M/D formulas are just too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. Carbs directly influence blood glucose levels. More carbs, higher blood glucose, just like diabetes in humans.

MD dry and canned have around 14% calories from carbs - we recommend under 7% - the lower the better. I bet with a 2-4% carb diet you'd see much better numbers. Janet and Binky's list here has carbohydrate info. Fancy Feast "classics" are good low carb foods that you can find pretty much anywhere.

I think the course of action from here might be to drop to a lower carb food and restart insulin at 1u and increase in slower increments. You can also use methyl B12 for the neuropathy (I don't know much about it though). Another thing you will want to do ASAP is go to any pharmacy and buy Ketostix - they are urine dip sticks for testing for ketones. Diabetic ketoacidosis is a deadly complication usually caused by some combination of not enough food + infection + not enough insulin. It is good to test a cat regularly, especially in the higher #'s.
 
there is part of your problem - both M/D formulas are just too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. Carbs directly influence blood glucose levels. More carbs, higher blood glucose, just like diabetes in humans.

What?! My vet recommended this over his senior dry food we were originally giving him! Are you telling me that Senior Friskers and those other wet foods are better?! I don't disbelieve you, but what the heck?!

I think the course of action from here might be to drop to a lower carb food and restart insulin at 1u and increase in slower increments. You can also use methyl B12 for the neuropathy (I don't know much about it though). Another thing you will want to do ASAP is go to any pharmacy and buy Ketostix - they are urine dip sticks for testing for ketones. Diabetic ketoacidosis is a deadly complication usually caused by some combination of not enough food + infection + not enough insulin. It is good to test a cat regularly, especially in the higher #'s.

He was tested for Keytones before 4 units which I completely forgot about until you mentioned it. His test was negative. However, I really should do this at home as well since things are so hectic. I'm still just sitting over here so baffled over the MD recommendation... it was described to me, by my vet, as being for diabetic cats. How frustrating.

Okay. I'm off to try and get some sleep. I'm going to test him when I wake up. The emergency vet clinic recommended that I don't give him any insulin until I consult with a vet on Monday. I'll have to weigh my options when I see his numbers... and get working on the comprehensive charting.

I am so very grateful for the response, and thank you so much. I feel better knowing there's so many people here to help!
 
What?! My vet recommended this over his senior dry food we were originally giving him! Are you telling me that Senior Friskers and those other wet foods are better?! I don't disbelieve you, but what the heck?!

So sad, isn't it.... Hills is really only concerned about the $$$. They pay the vets to say nice things about their food. I'm not saying all vets are evil, but they're like general practitioners - have to know a lot about a lot of things, so rarely look into the fine details (even though as said, diet is the foundation of health). Hills food is garbage, low quality ingredients like high amounts of liver, corn/wheat, and cellulose (WOOD PULP) in the food. It is overpriced for how poor quality it is. All you are paying for is the label that says "prescription" on it.

Unfortunately your senior dry food is probably far worse than the m/d is (even though the m/d is still bad - for a diabetic). The keyword here is dry. All dry foods are inappropriate for a cat because they are extremely depleted in moisture - this can (and often does) lead to renal failure and other things like crystals in cats. And often, dry foods are absolutely loaded with corn, wheat, soy, etc. because they are cheap sources of (inferior) protein - and these are also high sources of carbs. Most grocery store brands of dry are around 30-40% carbs... or even higher. Feeding that is like expecting a human diabetic to get their diabetes under control eating nothing but Twinkies, potato chips, and Coke. Even "grain free" dry foods have some kind of starch holding them together - usually potato, which is still high in carbs. In short, no dry food is the best dry food.

Here are the ingredients of Friskies Griller's Blend, a dry food recommended for senior cats:

Ground yellow corn, corn gluten meal, chicken by-product meal, soybean meal, beef tallow preserved with mixed-tocopherols (form of Vitamin E), turkey by-product meal, meat and bone meal, animal liver flavor, phosphoric acid, salt

If that isn't horrific, I don't know what is. :o How often do you see a majestic wild cat taking down a stalk of corn and chowing down? This food is probably 30-50% carbs, maybe even higher, and EXTREMELY low in moisture!

This is m/d dry:
Chicken By-Product Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Pork Fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), Pork Protein Isolate, Powdered Cellulose, Brewers Rice, Whole Grain Corn, Dried Egg Product, Chicken Liver Flavor

a LITTLE better, but not much. Corn, cellulose (WOOD PULP), rice, and more corn... for a cat... let alone a diabetic?!? Even the canned m/d contains that stuff making it too high in carbs.

Now let's look at something cheap and easily available, for example, Fancy Feast classic chicken feast:

Chicken, chicken broth, liver, meat by-products, fish, poultry by-products, artificial and natural flavors

Wow, real ingredients! And nothing that would cause it to have high carbs or allergens (like rice, corn, wheat, soy). Yes it's not the highest quality possible but it still contains a good amount of high quality protein and is only around 4% carbs and it is FAR cheaper than Hills prescription food.

Hope that helps you understand a bit better!

Also, testing for Ketones is an every day thing - a cat can go very fast from negative to full blown diabetic ketoacidosis - which is VERY expensive to treat and potentially deadly!
 
Ry has been giving you great advice. It is difficult to switch from a high carb food and a high dose of insulin because you can't be sure how low the new food will take him. (for our Oliver, it was 100 points lower overnight)

If you decide to go down in dose and restart with wet low carb, plan to monitor carefully, both for glucose levels and for ketones. The nice thing about ProZinc is that you can try the new dose for a few cycles and quickly increase. And as Ry said, not by whole units but by .5 units if the numbers are high, by .25 if you need to be more cautious.

Here is a large document on ProZinc that has great links and info.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799
 
Here is more on food that may help you to further understand what RY is saying. This comes from a vet who is a huge supporter and occasional poster on this forum. She has also provided consults for many FD cats.

Dr. Lisa - www.catinfo.org

Also, regardless of what insulin you are using, we never recommend changing the dose 1 unit at a time, rather we have a mantra here that is - start low, go slow - what that means, is starting at a low dose such as 1 unit or less and slowly over the course of several days (even weeks) adjusting the dose based on home testing by .25 to a max of .50 units at a time. Yes, I wrote 1/4 to 1/2 unit adjustments, never 1 whole unit adjustment.

The reason for this, is that by adjusting too much such as 1 unit at a time, going from 1 to 2, etc, you just may skip over the ideal dose such as 1.25 or 1.50 and end up in a situation that you just encountered.

Hopefully, this makes sense and if you follow the guidance of the others here, we can help you keep your cat safe and adjust the dose safely.

Now, take a moment to breathe and calm down as you just went through some harrowing hours.
 
I'm still just sitting over here so baffled over the MD recommendation... it was described to me, by my vet, as being for diabetic cats. How frustrating.

Don't feel alone! That sentiment is expressed by the overwhelming percentage of people who post here for the first time. My vet "prescribed" the same food for Bob. Luckily, I found "binky's list" within one week of Bob being diagnosed.

Apparently, the salespeople who work for Hill's are really good at what they do. I have never been to a clinic that doesn't have shelves stocked with countless varieties of "Science Diet". It seems they have a super duper special formula for whatever ails our cats? Most vets aren't "experts" in feline nutrition, although we want them to be experts at everything. They can't be, there are too many ailments out there. So they buy into what Hills and the other "prescription only" food makers are selling, and pass that on to us at outrageous cost. Hills M/D is terrible, dry or canned, for a diabetic cat. I like to refer to it as "carbage".

Bright side? Now YOU know. If you have any left in the house, take it back to the vet for a refund. And share that link to catinfo.org with them. It might at least get them to look into things and benefit every other cat that ever comes into their clinic.

I am very happy that you "found this place", and I am thankful every day that I found it last year. Especially when I look down at my little guy, Bob, curled up under my desk healthy and happy and not having had an insulin shot in over a year. He wouldn't be there if it were not for this board and the amazing people here.

Carl
 
I'm still just sitting over here so baffled over the MD recommendation... it was described to me, by my vet, as being for diabetic cats. How frustrating.

Let me share a funny and, unfortunately a truth, about the Hills & Science Diet foods and my vet. I love my 'GP' vet to pieces but he sees from 20 to as many as 30 animals an hour at times - everything from just vacines to major injuries. He TRIES to stay up with all the info but he just can't. He gets a visit from the sales people monthly. He told me to use S/D for Diabetic kitties - I told him it was too high in carbs for a diabetic and shouldn't be fed to them. He got the most surprised look on his face and said "But they MAKE it for diabetic cats!". I told him 'No, they make it for PEOPLE to THINK it's for diabetic cats"....he no longer even carries the 'diabetic' food which I THINK they've changed to another name....

Yep, they have good salespeople...
 
Okay -- so I guess my question now is, should I give him any insulin today? I just tested -- he's at 426. The emergency clinic recommended that I not hive him any until Monday when I can talk to my vet.
 
I think it was overlooked in my previous post--we switched him to wet MD a couple of weeks ago. I also have wet Friskers (Senior Formula)-- those are the only two foods I have today and ready. He seems really perky, but I know his numbers are too high. I just don't want a scary repeat of yesterday.

Also... maybe I should make a new thread, but I'm unsure how to read these charts. I have one set up in the proper format (I copied someone's and deleted their info)... what are the second readings to the right, after the PMPS?
 
Is the 426 +12 for today? He had the 535 last night. Did you give him insulin then? How much? Do you have any other numbers for today?

Sorry for all the questions. It is hard to figure out what is going on and I want to give good advice. I can help you with the spreadsheet if you want once we decide about the dose.
 
Re the spreadsheet. Is this the template you used? It should have been blank like this one - no numbers already on it.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ah0YVeaRP1QcdElGdUtrQ2VRQkJOZUFYRjhzRzE5R1E#gid=0

Then you rename it and share it with anyone with the link (using the button on the RH top) and save that url to your favorites. To let us see it, you go over to the LH side and choose File, Publish to the Web and then use that url in your signature. Kinda tricky. I'd be glad to help if you need it.

After pmps and amps is the U column. That is for units of insulin given.
 
He was at 535 at 1am last night. I did not give him any insulin. He is now at 426. (3pm) -- But keep in mind he also had a shot of Dextrose and was loaded with sugar around 7pm last night because of the emergency vet.

Thank you for the blank spreadsheet! I just requested access to use it. :)
 
A spreadsheet will really help us see what is happening with his numbers. Can't wait to see it .

This is tricky. Hate to see him in the high numbers, but it's hard to gauge how much is an residual from the dextrose, and we have to figure some of the high number is because of the 24 hours since the last shot. Obviously 4 was too much. What do you think about giving him a token one unit for tonight? Monitor some to see if he drops and how much. That gives you some data for your vet (and you) for tomorrow, but should be safe for overnight.
 
I think one unit sounds reasonable. I am kind of afraid to give any because they really made it clear I shouldn't adjust his dose at home. I got scolded for reading his BG at home too. Ugh. Hubby just walked in the door. I'm going to discuss what you guys have said since my initial post.
 
It is hard to go against your vet. The thing that cemented it for me was to think what I would do with 2 legged child. I would always test at home, especially before I gave a shot. I wouldn't give insulin and come back in a couple weeks for a check.

And your vet has not done a very good job dosing. The 4 unit dose was way too high.
 
Is the Friskies a pate flavor? If, so I would try it. Md is not bad for carbs, just too expensive and not great ingredients.

We are big on trusting your gut. If you want to wait for the vet tomorrow, that 's what you should do. I'm, of course, not a vet. Just someone who has used PZI.
 
Riot said:
I also have wet Friskers (Senior Formula)-- those are the only two foods I have today and ready. He seems really perky, but I know his numbers are too high. I just don't want a scary repeat of yesterday.

The Friskers is 'cut' and the MD is patte. I'll go for the MD for right now while hubby and I talk.

Is it the Friskies Senior Diet Tender Cuts Chicken & Tuna Dinner In Gravy one? if so, that's way too high in carbs to be fed to a daibetic cat, 18% carbs according to Binky's new food chart. The M/D canned is slightly lower at 14% carbs. Diabetic cat should be fed foods with no more than 10% carbs. Gravy/sauce foods should not be fed at all to a diabetic cat unless the cat is having a hypoglycemic episode. The high carbs will raise blood glucose levels.

You can stick with Friskies, just feed the ones that have under 10% carbs. I think the pate/loaf-style ones are the low carb varieties. Friskies is on Binky's new food chart, link above. The other food charts and lists membes here use are:

Binky's canned food charts
Pet Food Nutritional Values list
Hobo's Guide To Nutritional Values
Dr. Lynne's Wet Food list
List of low carb gluten free Fancy Feast

On Binky's charts, stick with foods that have a number 10 or less in the carbs colum. On the Pet Food Nutritional Values Chart and Hobo's Guide, look at the %kcal from carbs column and choose foods that have a number 10 or less.
 
Just a slight correction to what Sue mentioned above. It gets confusing with the cat food companies using just letters in the "flavor" names. Hill's uses a couple of letters to "describe" all their varieties for some reason.

"Hill's M/D" is supposed to be their special formula for diabetic cats. But, it's 14% carbs, which is weird because I think the dry M/D is only 13% - both are too high to be any good for diabetics, but that's Hills for you...

Purina makes a prescription food they call "DM" which I think is what Sue was thinking of. It's actually low carb (used to be 7% but I think they improved it to be only 3% recently. But, the ingredients are not really good for what you are paying for it, mostly by-products and liver (yummy!). And very expensive compared to brands like Friskees or Fancy Feast.

Carl
 
I don't have any sound advise to give, since I am new to the diabetes arena, but I hope your kitty is feeling better soon!
 
Riot said:
I think one unit sounds reasonable. I am kind of afraid to give any because they really made it clear I shouldn't adjust his dose at home. I got scolded for reading his BG at home too. Ugh.

I know how you feel. It is hard to go against your vet's advice. And we SHOULD be able to 100% trust a professional's advice. But we can't, and you've seen that - they almost killed your cat!!! And had you not been testing, you may have just left him passed out and never known...

The thing about FDMB is we live and breathe feline diabetes 24/7/365. We know it inside out, what works and what doesn't, because we've been living it for years and years. My Scooter is now OTJ (off insulin) because of the guidance of this forum. They were here for me when I needed them, just like they are for you now :)
 
Well I thank everyone for their support. I still haven't given any insulin today, but I was going to test him again soon since he wobbled his way out for some fresh water and food. He seems a little more perky at the moment, which is always a good sign from This Old Man.

Edit: He's now at 510. I'm going to give him 1 Unit right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top