Marc & Jen
Member Since 2018
Last post on FA's latest hospitalization for DKA/Pancreatitis HERE. Sorry in advance for the long explanation of my night below.
FA seems to be recovering well from his latest pancreatitis flare up. We've been administering subQ fluids at home every 3-4 days and have anti-nausea meds, appetite stimulant and some pain meds left in case he needs them. So far he has vomited just a couple times which is unusual for him but his appetite didn't seem to be affected - we gave him the nausea meds anyways in those instances just in case.
Yesterday he was very active and playing and seemed back to his normal self up until 9:30pm when I went to bed - his BG was 83 at that time. My husband checked his BG shortly after when he was going to bed and it was down to 57. He seemed a little off, but ate a little HC food that we gave him at the time. He was then at 61 a half hour later but was shivering/shaking and was very very upset if we picked him up, was growling and hissing quite aggressively which is not normal for him. He did not want to eat at that time, so I became concerned that he could be nauseous and it could be another pancreatitis attack and gave him an anti-nausea pill in a pill pocket (which helped his BG), an appetite stimulant shortly after along with sticking some corn syrup in his mouth. We offered him a variety of different foods and the only thing he was interested in was the greenies dental treats that we have for his sister. We monitored him regularly throughout the night and 'slept' on the floor next to him and his BG came up.
He still isn't back to his regular self this morning - I had to bring his food to him where he was laying in the closet instead of him coming for it as usual. I did get him to eat some and also put out some dry food out so he has options. I reduced his dose from 3.75u to 3u. Will try and get him back on to his regular food/feeding schedule this evening. I am always concerned about ketones when reducing a dose since he has been prone to them in the past so I am monitoring with a blood ketone monitor.
My question is, how long does it take to recover from a hypoglycemic incident like this? And I was under the assumption that he was still safe when having a BG over 50? He has seen numbers in the 50s/60s in the past with no symptoms like these. Usually he will be pretty hungry at these levels and eat whatever he can but this time it was a struggle to get him to eat anything.
I came into work late today and will go home at lunch to check on him. My husband installed a camera this weekend so we can monitor the cats from our phones and I saw he got up to eat some dry food which means his BG will probably sky rocket but I'd rather make sure he eats and gets a little back to normal this morning then have a huge drop again.
FA seems to be recovering well from his latest pancreatitis flare up. We've been administering subQ fluids at home every 3-4 days and have anti-nausea meds, appetite stimulant and some pain meds left in case he needs them. So far he has vomited just a couple times which is unusual for him but his appetite didn't seem to be affected - we gave him the nausea meds anyways in those instances just in case.
Yesterday he was very active and playing and seemed back to his normal self up until 9:30pm when I went to bed - his BG was 83 at that time. My husband checked his BG shortly after when he was going to bed and it was down to 57. He seemed a little off, but ate a little HC food that we gave him at the time. He was then at 61 a half hour later but was shivering/shaking and was very very upset if we picked him up, was growling and hissing quite aggressively which is not normal for him. He did not want to eat at that time, so I became concerned that he could be nauseous and it could be another pancreatitis attack and gave him an anti-nausea pill in a pill pocket (which helped his BG), an appetite stimulant shortly after along with sticking some corn syrup in his mouth. We offered him a variety of different foods and the only thing he was interested in was the greenies dental treats that we have for his sister. We monitored him regularly throughout the night and 'slept' on the floor next to him and his BG came up.
He still isn't back to his regular self this morning - I had to bring his food to him where he was laying in the closet instead of him coming for it as usual. I did get him to eat some and also put out some dry food out so he has options. I reduced his dose from 3.75u to 3u. Will try and get him back on to his regular food/feeding schedule this evening. I am always concerned about ketones when reducing a dose since he has been prone to them in the past so I am monitoring with a blood ketone monitor.
My question is, how long does it take to recover from a hypoglycemic incident like this? And I was under the assumption that he was still safe when having a BG over 50? He has seen numbers in the 50s/60s in the past with no symptoms like these. Usually he will be pretty hungry at these levels and eat whatever he can but this time it was a struggle to get him to eat anything.
I came into work late today and will go home at lunch to check on him. My husband installed a camera this weekend so we can monitor the cats from our phones and I saw he got up to eat some dry food which means his BG will probably sky rocket but I'd rather make sure he eats and gets a little back to normal this morning then have a huge drop again.