? Hypoglycemic Incident

Marc & Jen

Member Since 2018
Last post on FA's latest hospitalization for DKA/Pancreatitis HERE. Sorry in advance for the long explanation of my night below.

FA seems to be recovering well from his latest pancreatitis flare up. We've been administering subQ fluids at home every 3-4 days and have anti-nausea meds, appetite stimulant and some pain meds left in case he needs them. So far he has vomited just a couple times which is unusual for him but his appetite didn't seem to be affected - we gave him the nausea meds anyways in those instances just in case.

Yesterday he was very active and playing and seemed back to his normal self up until 9:30pm when I went to bed - his BG was 83 at that time. My husband checked his BG shortly after when he was going to bed and it was down to 57. He seemed a little off, but ate a little HC food that we gave him at the time. He was then at 61 a half hour later but was shivering/shaking and was very very upset if we picked him up, was growling and hissing quite aggressively which is not normal for him. He did not want to eat at that time, so I became concerned that he could be nauseous and it could be another pancreatitis attack and gave him an anti-nausea pill in a pill pocket (which helped his BG), an appetite stimulant shortly after along with sticking some corn syrup in his mouth. We offered him a variety of different foods and the only thing he was interested in was the greenies dental treats that we have for his sister. We monitored him regularly throughout the night and 'slept' on the floor next to him and his BG came up.

He still isn't back to his regular self this morning - I had to bring his food to him where he was laying in the closet instead of him coming for it as usual. I did get him to eat some and also put out some dry food out so he has options. I reduced his dose from 3.75u to 3u. Will try and get him back on to his regular food/feeding schedule this evening. I am always concerned about ketones when reducing a dose since he has been prone to them in the past so I am monitoring with a blood ketone monitor.

My question is, how long does it take to recover from a hypoglycemic incident like this? And I was under the assumption that he was still safe when having a BG over 50? He has seen numbers in the 50s/60s in the past with no symptoms like these. Usually he will be pretty hungry at these levels and eat whatever he can but this time it was a struggle to get him to eat anything.

I came into work late today and will go home at lunch to check on him. My husband installed a camera this weekend so we can monitor the cats from our phones and I saw he got up to eat some dry food which means his BG will probably sky rocket but I'd rather make sure he eats and gets a little back to normal this morning then have a huge drop again.
 
The aggression, hiding sounds like pain. Vomiting would also cause the abdomen to ache.
That's what I thought (he had no vomiting last night though and hasn't had any since Friday) and therefore was concerned that it was due to another pancreatitis flare up and not a hypo incident. However this morning he allowed me to pick him up just fine and I pushed around his belly area a bit and he didn't seem to mind and we didn't administer any pain meds last night (but I was planning to this morning if it had continued). As I'm watching him on the camera, he is back out in the main area of our house laying on his heating pad as usual. So I'm hoping that means he's starting to feel back to normal again after whatever it was that happened last night.
 
Cats hide pain so well. Max had chronic pancreatitis for years that helped lead him to diabetes. His vet never got him to react to pain while examining even in a flare. Pancreatitis is so difficult to figure out. I’m glad your boy is better this morning.
 
Cats hide pain so well. Max had chronic pancreatitis for years that helped lead him to diabetes. His vet never got him to react to pain while examining even in a flare. Pancreatitis is so difficult to figure out. I’m glad your boy is better this morning.
Do you think it was a pancreatitis flare up vs. a hypo incident? The shivering/lethargy/aggression can be all symptoms of hypo, no?
 
Do you think it was a pancreatitis flare up vs. a hypo incident? The shivering/lethargy/aggression can be all symptoms of hypo, no?
Yes those can be symptoms of a symptomatic hypo. His numbers weren’t so low for a hypo though but it’s a possibility. Pancreatitis symptoms unfortunately can change even in the same cat. Most of the time Max didn’t throw up or have diarrhea but he did a couple of times. He always was nauseous and inappetent.
 
FA's numbers are not in the range for hypoglycemia for most cats. That doesn't rule it out for your cat -- every cat is different. This link has a description of the symptoms of hypoglycemia and there's a slightly different set of symptoms in the How to Handle Low Numbers sticky.
That’s what I thought but didn’t know if the pancreatitis could have come on so suddenly which is why we were thinking he was hypo. He did try and jump on the counter earlier in the night and missed and hit his belly a bit - I’m not sure if that could have maybe been hurting
 
Yes those can be symptoms of a symptomatic hypo. His numbers weren’t so low for a hypo though but it’s a possibility. Pancreatitis symptoms unfortunately can change even in the same cat. Most of the time Max didn’t throw up or have diarrhea but he did a couple of times. He always was nauseous and inappetent.
It’s tough to tell what’s going on with him right now, he’s definitely less energetic than he was yesterday and back to sleeping in the closet (although he was out all day). I’ll give him another dose of anti nausea meds and appetite stimulant tonight and leave out a variety of foods for him to make sure he eats
 
Some cat just don't feel great if there's a wide swing in their numbers. In about a 12-hour period, FA's numbers went from 57 to 344. Maybe that's why he's a bit off.
 
Back
Top