Hypoglycemic? Acting normal .. BG 55

Loquaciouslj

Member Since 2026
Just tested Mia .. 52. Tested again .. 55. Tested because she was lying by the water dish and drinking, which seemed odd. Expecting high BG, but got low numbers. Acts normal .. alert, perky. Can this be hypoglycemia?
 
Hi Janet, when using a human meter we don’t consider hypo until under 50 but I would suggest to monitor her closely. Do you have medium carb/high carb/syrup available if she goes lower?
 
Got worried, so I did give her a bit of Karo syrup and a 1/2 can of fancy feast gravy lovers. May have jumped the gun. Her BG went up to 67 (30 minutes ago).How often should I test her today, due to this?

BTW, as careful as I always am checking every cat food, I totally messed up on buying the Karo syrup. After giving it to her, I noticed the smaller print on the label said ‘light’ with ‘almond flavor’. The ingredients listed ethyl alcohol, part of the vanilla bean extract process. I was horrified, due to the toxicity of alcohol and cats .. hopefully, AI is correct and the amount given is so tiny as to not be a problem. I’m grateful I discovered this before I might need a healthy dose to treat her! Don’t know if I’m the only person that unaware, or if this might be helpful information to any other newbies buying Karo syrup.
 
Got worried, so I did give her a bit of Karo syrup and a 1/2 can of fancy feast gravy lovers. May have jumped the gun. Her BG went up to 67 (30 minutes ago).How often should I test her today, due to this?

BTW, as careful as I always am checking every cat food, I totally messed up on buying the Karo syrup. After giving it to her, I noticed the smaller print on the label said ‘light’ with ‘almond flavor’. The ingredients listed ethyl alcohol, part of the vanilla bean extract process. I was horrified, due to the toxicity of alcohol and cats .. hopefully, AI is correct and the amount given is so tiny as to not be a problem. I’m grateful I discovered this before I might need a healthy dose to treat her! Don’t know if I’m the only person that unaware, or if this might be helpful information to any other newbies buying Karo syrup.
That’s ok, there’s a big learning curve with all this. When my cat first started seeing low numbers for the first time, I would test every 30 mins until the BG started to rise on its own without food.

Would you mind please filling in the spreadsheet so members can guide you better? You just put the BG from this morning before food and insulin in the AMPS column, put the amount of insulin you gave in the blue “U” column, then the +1, +2 ect is how many hours after insulin.

The spreadsheet helps members see what’s happening with Mia so they are able to give the best advice.

Here’s a link that explains it well.
How to use the spreadsheets

I have no experience with the karo issue so going to tag a few experienced members to see if they have any advice.

@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie
 
Karo isn't sold in Canada. No ethyl alcohol in the corn syrup I use. Lot of US people here have used karo. But we are talking drop sized doses, no more. Are you using a flavoured version of karo? Honey is another alternative for low numbers.

The point at which cat act hypoglycemic can vary from cat to cat. Here are the symptoms of a hypo: How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!! The other possibility is that your kitty has been in higher numbers for a while and just feels uncomfortable in these low normal numbers. However, without data in the spreadsheet, I can't help more.
 
Thanks for explaining the entries in the spreadsheet. I didn’t plan to do a full curve until tomorrow, due to schedules. I only have one entry yesterday (testing the process), and no baseline for today. Started testing today when she looked off and stayed home to keep testing until I knew she was ok. I’ll enter it all, but that is why it is so erratic and not complete.
 

I’m linking your previous posts for continuity

Newly Diagnosed Numbers/Dose

Did I ruin my Lantus tonight?

Window between meal and shot?


For Mia’s safety, please be sure you always grab a BG test before feeding and giving insulin. Testing beforehand is the only way to know if it’s safe to give insulin.
I know you mentioned you weren’t sure which dosing method you wanted to follow, but I’m going to add this link for you to review when you have a chance to look it over. It goes over what you should do for lower pre-shot numbers as well as lots of helpful information. I personally started with SLGS then switched to TR (because my kitty only eats wet food).
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

I am not even close to being experienced enough to offer any dosing advice, but I do find it interesting how Mia reacted today considering you are only giving 1 shot a day. Interested to hear others thoughts.
 
I’m giving two shots in a 24 hour period. I’ll check to see if I made a mistake on my signature. So, you’re saying I should test am and pm every day (before feeding)? I’m trying to get Mia (and me) accustomed to the ear sticks .. she doesn’t bleed on many of them, and it pains me to keep trying past a couple of jabs.
 
Back
Top