Hypoglycemia

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kaylups, Aug 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kaylups

Kaylups New Member

Newbie here!
    My 4y baby was diagnosed a week ago. It answers a lot of her other health issues, namely her UTIs and bladder infections. We just finished her anti-inflammatory and are still taking an antibiotic for it.

Yesterday she became hypoglycemic, and it was absolutely terrifying. I thought I was going to lose her. About an hour after I gave her her insulin she starting seizing. She had 3 seizures within an hour and after the last one her breathing was very labored, she stopped moving, and did not respond. The vet told me to put honey around her mouth and under her tongue, and after about an hour she finally started responding and moving. I was instructed to give her sugar water every half hour, but she needed to eat as soon as possible. Its now been over 24 hours, and although shes running around and acting normal again, she still won't eat. She's acting like she's starving - meowing and running to her food bowl when I put something in it, but she'll just sniff it and walk away. Ive given her wet food, dry food, a can of tuna, and pieces of chicken.

I need some help on how to get her to eat, please!!

Edit: Shes taking Vetsulin I believe? 2 units every 12 hours. I have not given her any more until I can take her to the vet Monday morning.
    Thank you guys so much for the help. I didnt even know feline diabetes was a thing until last week. Its been overwhelming learning how to give her a shot and make changes to her diet.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2020
    Reason for edit: added information
  2. KyraCat

KyraCat Member

Hi I hope you're doing OK!!

I think if you change your thread type to 911 people may get to it quicker *fingers crossed*