coldenburg said:
Thanks for all of the information. I had started off with 1 unit on him before and we had gradually increased. Then all of a sudden this started happening.
That is a sign that his pancreas is perhaps healing and beginning to work on it's own producing some insulin, therefore his need for injected insulin decreases.
When I began treating my cat my vet started him on Caninsulin at 0.5U which was not enough so we slowly inscreased up to 2.8U, I thought once we reached an "optimal dose" which gave us good nadir numbers he would continue on that dose forever.....I was wrong, and he went hypo several times so I had to reduce the dose eventually going back down to 1U, but he still wasn't fully healed (although I suspect he was at that point producing some insulin on his own) he would still have higher preshots, the problem was that first of all he was a dry food addict and I had a year long battle to get him switched to canned food (his dry food was over 28% carbs!) and second Canisulin just didn't last long enough to keep his BG in the "healing range". High BG (hyperglycemia) is not only damaging to organs like the nerves and kidneys it actually makes the diabetes worse and more chronic because glucose continues to damage the cells in the pancreas which produce insulin. In addition any remaining functioning cells (called ß-cells) will work in overdrive trying to fight the high BG and eventually wear out leaving less and less functioning ones and eventually permently distroying the pancreas which means the diabetes is chronic and remission is no longer possible. By keeping the BG in a lower range (generally under 150) as many hours as possible each day the damage from high BG to the cells is reduced and the still healthy cells are allowed to rest and repair so eventually enough of them are working and healthy that the cat can produce enough insulin on it's own to regulate it's BG while eating a low carb diet.
Insulins like Lantus and Levemir last longer and make it easier to keep the numbers in that healing range for 8 or more hours each cycle (16+ hours each day) which is enough time to allow a lot of healing in the pancreas. 85% of newly diagnosed cats (cats that are 6 months or less diabetic) acheive remission after being treated with Lantus and Levemir.
I switched to Levemir and after several months of keeping his BG lower most of the time (I was also during that time able to get him started on eating some canned foods and less dry) he eventually did acheive remission, since then I have successfully gotten him completely off dry food and he is now 8 months insulin-free.
I have no personal experience with hyperthyroid but I have heard that it does have an effect on BG levels. Given that your Preshots are less than 300, I suspect that your cat is in remission from the diabetes (or close to it) and these higher numbers are simply due to the effects of hypo and the associated rebound (liver reaction) coupled with the overactive thyroid.
Pilling a cat is not easy, if you have a look around Dr. Lisa's site
http://catinfo.org/ there should be some info on pilling cats and some tips & tricks. You could also use the search here one board to find information on "pilling" and "hyperT" or "hyperthyroid".