Remember that after a low (we dont know for sure this was a hypo since he never dropped that low ie under 2.2 as far as we know), he will bounce so dont panic about any high numbers. Although it has to be noted 9.3 isnt that high.
We usually recommend dose increases of 1/4unit. I know your vet told you 1/2. That may have been too much. Reducing to 2 units sounds like a good idea!
Perhaps also read about our protocol below on dose changes which says you hold the dose for 3-5 days before making a change unless the kitty drops under 50 (2.8)
Wendy
"General" Guidelines:
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.