Hypo

Mousie3030

Member Since 2026
Last night at 7pm gave my cat his usual dose of 1.75 his blood was 301 this morning tested him at 7am his blood was 44 he was wobbly and going in circles I gave him honey and high carb food got his numbers up to 53 but went back down to 49. We took him to the vet they said he might be in remission. They sent us home and said to test him every hour and text him the results. He was still pacing and going in circles when we got home. He finally settled down gave him more high carb food and got his numbers up to 63. Gonna test again in an hour.
 
Hello. I haven’t heard from you for a while. I hope you are well!

I do see on the spreadsheet that there have been quite a few times where it looks like he should have had a .25 reduction in dose but he’s been kept on the same dose regardless. Also, there are no nighttime tests when cats tend to drop into lower numbers so we have no idea what he’s been doing at night. Also there are so many days where there are no mid-cycle tests — so you can’t tell how low he’s been going. Cats don’t always have the same kind of cycle every day. Their insulin needs do change over time, so you can’t always count on their insulin dose needing to stay the same. I suspect he needed a reduction in dose and has been dropping lower than desired during the day or at night. I do not recall what his reduction point is — a custom reduction point it says in your signature Was it 70? - it doesn’t say in your signature…. but he has had many drops below 70 and should have had a dose reduction of .25 units.

He cannot be in remission or he would not have preshot numbers in the 300s A cat in remission will stay between about 50-120 all the time without any insulin. He may even be in the 40s… many of my cats who are not diabetic will test in the 40s at times especially of they haven’t eaten for a while.

How is Fifty doing now?
 
Hello. I haven’t heard from you for a while. I hope you are well!

I do see on the spreadsheet that there have been quite a few times where it looks like he should have had a .25 reduction in dose but he’s been kept on the same dose regardless. Also, there are no nighttime tests when cats tend to drop into lower numbers so we have no idea what he’s been doing at night. Also there are so many days where there are no mid-cycle tests — so you can’t tell how low he’s been going. Cats don’t always have the same kind of cycle every day. Their insulin needs do change over time, so you can’t always count on their insulin dose needing to stay the same. I suspect he needed a reduction in dose and has been dropping lower than desired during the day or at night. I do not recall what his reduction point is — a custom reduction point it says in your signature Was it 70? - it doesn’t say in your signature…. but he has had many drops below 70 and should have had a dose reduction of .25 units.

He cannot be in remission or he would not have preshot numbers in the 300s A cat in remission will stay between about 50-120 all the time without any insulin. He may even be in the 40s… many of my cats who are not diabetic will test in the 40s at times especially of they haven’t eaten for a while.

How is Fifty doing now?
Fifty’s doing so much better today!!! The vet got us back to start with the 0.5 units and texting him the results every 2 hours. It was are first official hypo scary but we made it through. Back to testing more often
 
He earned a reduction down to 1.5 units or possibly 1.25 units if you are more comfortable restarting with a .5 unit reduction. It’s clear from today’s numbers that going down to .5 units is not enough insulin. It wasn’t an awful cycle because he at least got out of the yellow for a little while, but he can do better. I hope he was feeling better today and eating well.
 
Back
Top