Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Member Since 2012
First of all, thanks to everyone on this board who came over to my link on the health board yesterday and today with suggestions for my kitty Josie. And thank you SO much to the posters who linked my thread to this board.

Secondly, I need some help today.

As my previous thread indicated, Josie's BG was at 29 yesterday at 4+. Through a combination of high carb food and some Karo, her numbers got up quickly. She was at 146 within an hour or so. Now, we probably overdid it with the food and Karo because last night, before her injection, she was at 573. That is the highest she has EVER been by a LOT. (It's rare for her to be in the 400's at home.) We gave her 1 unit, which is half her normal dose. (She generally gets 2 units at midnight and 1.5 at noon). By 6+ she was at 280.

I expected her PS number to be really high, but it's only 304. So really, it barely moved from 6+. This seems strange to me. And I'm having trouble figuring out how much insulin to give her. I am thinking .50?

Does anyone have any suggestions? I would appreciate any advice you could give!

Here is the link to my post from yesterday:

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=64398

I am sorry I don't have a spreadsheet, I am working on that!
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

I think your .5 sounds good. You can always raise it next cycle if needed, but better safe until things shake out.

If you need help with the spreadsheet, just ask. It's a little tricky.
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Thank you, Sue and Oliver! That's what I was thinking.

I'm sure I will be back asking questions about the spreadsheet. :-)
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

I would let her level out, and you can up some later..
By the way..Welcome to PZI,
glad you came over here and we will help you through this!
Just as Sue says...Breathe...you will get there :mrgreen:
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Thanks for the welcome, dmartini4!

We went ahead and gave her the .5. She also ate a decent amount of wet food, more than usual, I think. Hopefully the lower dose and the increase in food will prevent a repeat of yesterday!
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Just stopping by to say hello & welcome to ProZinc.

You are doing a good job. All of this does get easier with time.

Jenn & Baxter
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Hello Holly & Josie, If you can get your SS up asap, that will help a ton. If I am reading your post correctly, you're asking to go from 1.0 to .05? There is so much to keep in mind when you're decreasing insulin, so again... having the spreadsheet will help you plus the folks here on the message board. I personally feel .05 is too low, but again, I can't see everything Josie is going through. But hitting the 29 definitely calls for a decrease. My Prudence hit 29 once and It was a scary thing to go through nailbite_smile

You're doing great! I know I sound like a broken record, but get your SS up soon. :smile:
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Michelle,
Just so you are familiar with recent events...
Josie went really low twice on I think 1.5, down to 29 yesterday, so she cut back to 1u this morning (midnite). He dropped 280 points by +6 on 1u. So her reasoning for the .5 on the 304 PMPS was that, I guess. He didn't have 280 points to spare.... Plus he's probably a bit insulin sensitive after the 29 yesterday. I hope she gets a SS running soon so it makes more sense to everyone. Yesterday was a pretty rough day for kitty and mommabean.
Very glad to see you and others with lots of PZI experience posting lately. There's a glut of new PZI/Prozinc kitties. At least a dozen in the past two weeks!
Carl
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Jenn and Baxter - Thanks for the welcome!

Michelle & Prudence - I think you were right that the .50 was not quite enough. Josie's BG was at 478 before her AMPS. That's pretty high for her.

carlinsc - You pretty much summed up everything exactly right. That's exactly what happened and that was pretty much my reasoning.

I went ahead and published my spreadsheet even though I'm not finished filling everything out. I got it set up and then filled out the last few days and I hope to get the rest of it finished today. I figured it was better to go ahead and have the most recent information up than nothing at all.

Thanks again everyone for your replies/advice!
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

The spreadsheet looks great, Holly. It will be a huge help for you, us and your vet. Your dose today looks good. I hope maybe you can hold it for a few cycles to let everything settle down. (Unless you get low numbers and then, of course, would reduce.)

Is she still on antibiotics? How does she seem to be feeling in general?

We like to see how you and Josie are doing daily. If you want, start a new thread every time and give us the "news"
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Rob and Harley. - Thanks for the welcome!

Sue and Oliver - Yep, she's still on the Albon Liquid. She'll be on that until Thursday. She sleeps a lot, but that's pretty normal for her. We ended up giving her just 1 unit for the PMPS, because she wasn't eating quite as much wet food as we wanted her to and because she does tend to have lower numbers in the afternoon. Thanks for the advice on starting a new thread. I will do that beginning tomorrow!
 
Re: Hypo yesterday and needing help with insulin amount toda

Welcome to PZI! The most friendly place in the FDMB universe!
Hope to see a picture of your sugar baby posted soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top