Brigitte & Talley
Member Since 2010
Talley went hypoglycemic three nights ago testing at 40 mg/dL six hours after feeding. He ate that night fully, and I'm positive I didn't give him the wrong amount... I did a curve and went to my vet and he suggested I reduce his 3u of Lantus to 2u. That night (last night) I gave him 2u of Lantus.
For one day, his curve on 2u of Lantus:
Preshot - 260
Peak - 135
Next Preshot - 315
So this morning I gave him 2u again and he's acted normal for the day. Despite his numbers being a little high, I stuck with 2u because I read that cats can be more sensitive to insulin after a hypoglycemic episode. This night, before feeding, he tested 40 mg/dL with no visible symptoms. That was about 40 minutes ago. I gave him 2 CC of Karo syrup on top of his meal and obviously did not inject him.
Tonight's 40 mg/dL test was on a new box of strips, but I tested him with four different strips and they all read 35-40 mg/dL. A quick test on myself came up with a regular number for human BG levels on that tester and strip pack.
That's the backstory. So now my questions:
-- What could be causing his numbers to fluctuate so dramatically? I'm positive he's eating (I'm currently on summer break so I'm with him 24/7). I haven't changed his diet at all.
-- Could it be remission? What's an average number I should expect if he does go into remission?
I'm going slightly crazy here. He's not showing any signs of hypoglycemia tonight but I'm staying up with him anyway. His episode 3 nights ago happened 6 hours after I fed him. Now he's in hypo range at feeding time on less insulin but the same food. I can't afford an emergency vet let alone another vet visit. This forum is my last hope for some answers or advice.
Thank you so much,
Brigitte
EDIT 1:
Thursday, August 12, 2010 - 10:30 reading: 67 mg/dL
For one day, his curve on 2u of Lantus:
Preshot - 260
Peak - 135
Next Preshot - 315
So this morning I gave him 2u again and he's acted normal for the day. Despite his numbers being a little high, I stuck with 2u because I read that cats can be more sensitive to insulin after a hypoglycemic episode. This night, before feeding, he tested 40 mg/dL with no visible symptoms. That was about 40 minutes ago. I gave him 2 CC of Karo syrup on top of his meal and obviously did not inject him.
Tonight's 40 mg/dL test was on a new box of strips, but I tested him with four different strips and they all read 35-40 mg/dL. A quick test on myself came up with a regular number for human BG levels on that tester and strip pack.
That's the backstory. So now my questions:
-- What could be causing his numbers to fluctuate so dramatically? I'm positive he's eating (I'm currently on summer break so I'm with him 24/7). I haven't changed his diet at all.
-- Could it be remission? What's an average number I should expect if he does go into remission?
I'm going slightly crazy here. He's not showing any signs of hypoglycemia tonight but I'm staying up with him anyway. His episode 3 nights ago happened 6 hours after I fed him. Now he's in hypo range at feeding time on less insulin but the same food. I can't afford an emergency vet let alone another vet visit. This forum is my last hope for some answers or advice.
Thank you so much,
Brigitte
EDIT 1:
Thursday, August 12, 2010 - 10:30 reading: 67 mg/dL