Hypo numbers with no symptoms

Status
Not open for further replies.

Calli & Layla

New Member
Unfortunately I don't have a curve yet for my Layla, but as a quick update she was diagnosed in June and has been on PZI for about a month now. She had a flucosamine check last week that was high so she was increased from 1 to 1.5U every 12. She had a low AMPS yesterday (I wasn't reliably home testing but the increase made me nervous) so I held her shot yesterday morning. PMPS was in the 200s and today's AMPS was 330. Tonight PMPS was 38! I tested twice to make sure. She is acting okay and ate a good amount of food and a recheck 20 min later was 43. And apparently I am out of strips so I'm making a quick trip to Wal-Mart. I'm thinking maybe the increase was too much? These are the lowest numbers I've seen.
 
Unfortunately I don't have a curve yet for my Layla, but as a quick update she was diagnosed in June and has been on PZI for about a month now. She had a flucosamine check last week that was high so she was increased from 1 to 1.5U every 12. She had a low AMPS yesterday (I wasn't reliably home testing but the increase made me nervous) so I held her shot yesterday morning. PMPS was in the 200s and today's AMPS was 330. Tonight PMPS was 38! I tested twice to make sure. She is acting okay and ate a good amount of food and a recheck 20 min later was 43. And apparently I am out of strips so I'm making a quick trip to Wal-Mart. I'm thinking maybe the increase was too much? These are the lowest numbers I've seen.
Yes, it seems that increase was too much. Why not try eyeballing 1.25 u when you give her next dose.
 
We are up to 57 - obviously no shot tonight and she's eating a little more. How often and how many times should I test before I can breathe? :p
 
Id lower back to one and get a lot more tests. The increase was just based on the fructosamine test.... That's not a reliable judge of what's happening in a day.... Could be high from bouncing from going too low! Do you have some higher carb food you could give
 
We are up to 57 - obviously no shot tonight and she's eating a little more. How often and how many times should I test before I can breathe? :p
You want three tests over 50 rising on their own. But you haven't shot since this morning, so I can't see it really going down at this point
 
As Janet says, you haven't shot since this morning, so really the insulin SHOULD be out of her by now. I'd get another test in before relaxing, but I think you'll be okay.
 
You want three tests over 50 rising on their own. But you haven't shot since this morning, so I can't see it really going down at this point

That's my thought too, especially since she's eating fine and otherwise acting normal. Just scary to see those numbers! The low yesterday morning was 73 I think, so I wasn't as concerned but I still didn't shoot. I'll back off on the shot tomorrow and so a better curve to see where we are at.

Side note, in these instances should I just wait until the am normal time or should I shoot early to prevent a rebound high? It would kind of throw the timing groove off which can be a struggle anyway with work schedules and what not but I hope this doesn't set her back at all with super bouncy numbers :(
 
That's my thought too, especially since she's eating fine and otherwise acting normal. Just scary to see those numbers! The low yesterday morning was 73 I think, so I wasn't as concerned but I still didn't shoot. I'll back off on the shot tomorrow and so a better curve to see where we are at.

Side note, in these instances should I just wait until the am normal time or should I shoot early to prevent a rebound high? It would kind of throw the timing groove off which can be a struggle anyway with work schedules and what not but I hope this doesn't set her back at all with super bouncy numbers :(
bounces happen but they pass. I'd just wait until usual time.
 
Just stay on schedule and don't shoot tonight :). Also you can take down the 911 since it's been a couple hours and you got some eyes on the thread. Top right ish, "thread tools" click "edit title", then you can remove 911 or change it to a "?".

I also agree to drop back the dose to 1.0 or 1.25U. This is why AMPS and PMPS tests are the most important :cat:

From your first thread on Main, Post #5 I gave you a bunch of links :smuggrin:. It has the Food chart, SS template, Signature instructions, and Hypo instructions :)
Here's the link to that thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feeding-issues.179798/
 
Yup I will update all those things when I have time. Her AMPS this morning was 303 but I only gave 1u and will see where we are!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top