Hypo / low numbers all day

Hey Suzanne, max is 110 and it is almost insulin time . I’m not sure what to do
I see you shot a reduced dose. That’s good. I hope you have tested him since then? Did you shoot late? Anyway, if he’s low like that you can wait 30 minutes or longer (an hour) if you have a little more time — and just don’t feed him and then retest him to see if his BG is rising. If it is, you should be fine shooting the normal dose since the new shot won’t onset usually for about two hours.
 
It is +2 hours in now and he is at 79 . We just gave him his regular snack now . I will continue testing him through the night a few times to check and see how he is because I’m nervous he will go further down .

So below 90 no shot …but How do I know at numbers like tonight what is best to do ?

I’m gone for 2 days at work starting tomorrow . My mom is having a hard time with the testing but did manage to get one tonight when we were practising . I’m really nervous though if she can’t get the test or if she does and it is low like this how much insulin he should be on for the next 2 days .

I’m guessing it will depend on how tonight goes ? Say he drops below 60 tonight … I’m unsure what to do in the morning . Did I shoot to high tonight ?
 
It is +2 hours in now and he is at 79 . We just gave him his regular snack now . I will continue testing him through the night a few times to check and see how he is because I’m nervous he will go further down .

So below 90 no shot …but How do I know at numbers like tonight what is best to do ?

I’m gone for 2 days at work starting tomorrow . My mom is having a hard time with the testing but did manage to get one tonight when we were practising . I’m really nervous though if she can’t get the test or if she does and it is low like this how much insulin he should be on for the next 2 days .

I’m guessing it will depend on how tonight goes ? Say he drops below 60 tonight … I’m unsure what to do in the morning . Did I shoot to high tonight ?
I see that you only gave low carb food last night when he was at 56 and it looks like that was just perfect. I am really proud of you for not panicking. The LC snack did the trick. I would wait and see where he is for AMPS this morning. What happened on Saturday 4/20? I don’t see many tests, and I don’t see a preshot test for the p.m. cycle. I was just trying to interpret yesterday’s numbers in light of the previous day/night, but there are no tests recorded.

I think you made a good choice last night to shoot 1 unit. It worked out nicely as you were there to steer the numbers— and no medium or high carb food was needed.

Anyway, if he has an AMPS this morning that is similar to last night’s, you could consider a dose of .75 because you will be gone (all day?) and your mom is still learning to test. It’s great that she had a successful test though. She probably just needs practice to gain confidence. She will be home today and tomorrow to watch him and give snacks at +2, +4, etc?
 
Okay thank you . He is at 155 this morning . We just gave him .75 incase my mom has issues testing at +6 hours in . She will be home to give snacks at +2 and +4 though . If his number is higher at shot time tonight would it be best to go back up to the 1.5 or just to the 1 now ?
I’m really sorry for the questions , trying to decide the rite dose is the difficult part .
Saturday evening I was gone and my mom had just gotten out of surgery and was having a difficult time pre testing so he didn’t get it that night . She is much better getting the test though and did it again this morning so I’m hoping she can get the tests now . I will be away untill Wednesday now but still helping her with the dosing over the phone
 
Okay thank you . He is at 155 this morning . We just gave him .75 incase my mom has issues testing at +6 hours in . She will be home to give snacks at +2 and +4 though . If his number is higher at shot time tonight would it be best to go back up to the 1.5 or just to the 1 now ?
I’m really sorry for the questions , trying to decide the rite dose is the difficult part .
Saturday evening I was gone and my mom had just gotten out of surgery and was having a difficult time pre testing so he didn’t get it that night . She is much better getting the test though and did it again this morning so I’m hoping she can get the tests now . I will be away untill Wednesday now but still helping her with the dosing over the phone
Oh. So you actually will not be home in the evening. I understand. If she can’t get preshot tests then I would not advise shooting much insulin. His needs could change rapidly; we don’t know.
 
I understand about the surgery! No wonder she couldn’t test him. I hope she’s doing better now.

He should not have been given 1.5 units of insulin without a preshot test that night and without any follow up tests. You just should have skipped the dose entirely probably.

So if she can’t test while you’re away I think you should give only a very small amount of insulin. Without any numbers it would just be a guessing game though. But perhaps your mom will rise to the challenge and will be able to get a couple of tests. It sounds like she really is trying.
 
I’m using the mmol chart the transfers to the mg but I’m not sure why the .75 dose won’t show up on the other chart for some reason for this morning .
But good news , my mom has gotten 2 tests on her own today and will pretest before dinner !!! :cat:

His numbers are higher today than recently so she should probably go back up to 1 unit and see how he does ?

she is off work for 2 weeks now after her surgery so will be able to test during the day and hopefully get an evening test in at either +2 or +4 before she goes to bed . His dosing time is a bit messed as he got it later friday so we are now doing 7am and 7pm . We need to get it back to his regular time of 5am and 5pm for when she is at work . Can we go down slowly over the next few days over half hour increments and just make sure to test pre shot ?
 
Great news about the testing! I can’t understand why the units aren’t transferring to the U.S. chart. It’s not even different— I mean it’s units of insulin so it’s the same for both of us.

You can move his shot time back up to 30 minutes a day. You can do 15 minutes a.m. and 15 minutes p.m. or you can do 30 minutes at one shot time as long as his numbers are okay to shoot.
 
His numbers are higher today than recently so she should probably go back up to 1 unit and see how he does ?
Why would you not take him back to his former dose of 1.5? Is it still nervousness about your mom’s ability to test? It’s okay if that’s it. We can call it a vacation dose (except you are hardly on vacation!) You can see how he does tonight on 1 unit if you like.
 
I can have her give the 1.5 . I just was nervous because of his numbers last night . If we go back up to 1.5 and he drops below 90 again then do we lower it by .25 ?
 
Yes, you would do that (lower by .25 if he drops below 90). Keep in mind that below 90 does not mean dangerous. It’s really just SLGS method that keeps the cats in a little bit higher numbers (target nadirs between 90 and 149). MPM method allows for more of the “healing greens” …. But all things in good time. I think it would be okay to try one unit for tonight. You said that your mom could test at +2 and maybe +4 and really I think we don’t want to push her. She is still recovering from a surgery. She may be tired. And we are already super proud of her testing! Later when you get back and you two are a team who can test and feed him, we can work on seeing if he’s going to be able to surf in the safe greens and perhaps earn reductions. Don’t stress and let’s not push your mother too much. Don’t you think so?
 
I do agree . I just spoke with her and she is not feeling great at all and seems a bit weak rite now . She will do the pre shot test in an hour and then feed him and I’ll let her know what to dose . I’m hoping to get an evening test after his shot but I’m just not sure if she will be awake for much longer tonight . But even these tests are huge for her , I think she understands at the minimum he needs the pre shot test
 
It still looks like he needs a little more insulin. He’s safe while you’re away though. How much was shot last night? I can’t see anything on the spreadsheet after the PMPS test of 220.
 
Since you still aren’t home yet (right?) I would either wait or try 1.25. If your mom can’t test tonight then just stick with 1 unit.
 
No I’m not home tonight. I work a lot though so am gone often . I’m only there Wednesday and Thursday this week so really hoping my mom can get the tests in for him . She has been good with the pre shot tests and will continue doing that . She is off work for 2 weeks so can get the +6 hour in test during the day. The night time mid cycle test in the evening mite be a problem as she is usually asleep 3 after after dose though .
 
On April 24 in the pm we gave 1.25 … I’m not sure why on some days it won’t transfer over to the us spread sheet .
My mom has been good with getting the tests in mid day . I will be home in the evening the next 3 days and will get some evening tests in also .
We have switched his mid day snack to tiki instead of the feline naturals freeze dried and his numbers seem to be better . I am going to have to look into the amount of carbs his raw and freeze dried have again . The end of this week my mom is back to work so we will have no way of giving him a snack during the day . We are looking into an automatic feeder with his freeze dried but I will confirm the carbs are ok
 
Hi Suzanne .

I was wondering if you could take a look at maxs spread sheet and let me know your thoughts on what I should do with dosing ? His numbers are up and down rite now . I just had blood work done and that was all good but his fructosamine and glucose was pretty high . Today he is at 90 so we are skipping his dose . I’m really at a loss on what dosing to help him rite now
 
Hi Suzanne .

I was wondering if you could take a look at maxs spread sheet and let me know your thoughts on what I should do with dosing ? His numbers are up and down rite now . I just had blood work done and that was all good but his fructosamine and glucose was pretty high . Today he is at 90 so we are skipping his dose . I’m really at a loss on what dosing to help him rite now
I am so sorry. None of my notifications for threads that I am watching have been working. Let me look at this and your new post. I’ve been nursing a sick cat (last week was bad) but I still was trying to check in. You can always try sending me a PM as well if I don’t respond because I should get an email saying that a new conversation has been started. Then I will respond on your thread.
 
Back
Top