carlinsc said:Next time you test him, check to see what color his gums are.
Just an overall "warm", body or ears is not are very reliable indicator that he might have a fever, which is why I asked about a thermometer. Sometimes rapid breathing can indicate some sort of pain. It could just be he's had a rough day...
Carl
Sam and S'mores said:Good morning Kathleen,
I hope you were able to sleep some after all that excitement last night!
One request: Assuming Spike's numbers are OK this morning, could you please go back to the first post in this thread and edit it to change the icon? With a 911, people will keep jumping in to make sure everything is OK.
Second request: PLEASE TEST AND POST! I'm hoping that last night made it obvious to you why the people here are so adamant about home testing, but I say it again because too many people do not learn the lesson even after scary nights like you just had. You've already done the hard part, which is learn how to test, so now all you have to do is keep testing and post here for advice. You need to test before every shot (what we call the "pre-shots", either AMPS or PMPS), and ideally 3-5 more times during the day, most ideally in the +4-+8 range after you shoot, but it's better to have some measurements around the shot than nothing at all on those days where you just can't get mid-cycle measurements.
When I say "here", after you get your spreadsheet up and running, I would suggest that you move over to the Lantus forum for dosing advice. Please read the LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ... sticky to get started.
I'm not checking his numbers before each shot. As of a few days ago, he was on 2U BID, and when he went to the vet for a bloodwork recheck a few days ago, he was in the 40s-50s range (I can't remember exactly) at 6 hours post-shot. At that point his dose was changed to 1U BID, which I started Friday evening.
kbean said:I don't know if 183 is generally a shootable number or not, but given last night's events and the fact that I won't be here all day, I'm not giving him his shot .
squeem3 said:If the bg is over 200, then you can give the 1 unit, or even half a unit if you're really cautious.
kbean said:I'll test him tonight around 7:00 Central Time and let you guys know what the number is. Regardless, it sounds like I probably shouldn't shoot tonight (or if I do, a smaller amount).
I'm still waiting for the vet to call me back, so we'll see what he says. If he recommends going cold turkey, I'll probably try to wean Spike off of it instead. How quickly would that generally be done? Is it sort of standardized, or generally just going by the cat's BG levels?
In terms of home testing, I can definitely start doing that. However, on weekdays there's really no way for me to get numbers during the day. I can definitely do pre-shot AM and PM numbers and up to about +4 hours post-shot in the evening, but that's all I'll be home for. Weekends are obviously much more flexible. Should that suffice?
- Kathleen
Sam and S'mores said:That is correct, we never shoot 41!
carlinsc said:Kathleen,
Did he eat okay at dinnertime? I wouldn't panic about the 41 provided the next test has him a little bit higher. He hasn't had insulin for 36 hours or so?
Carl
Sam and S'mores said:Sorry, I had to put my little ones to bed.
First, I think you should start a new post, with a new title like "36 hours of Lantus, BG=41, Advice?" You might go ahead and post it in the Lantus forum instead of Health.
I agree with Carl. At 36 hours, there should only be a very small amount of Lantus left in Spike's system, so you don't want to overreact and stress his newly recovered pancreas with lots of sugar.
That said, there is still some Lantus in him, and if he is very insulin sensitive right now, it could be enough to cause a problem. It seems like he may naturally drop to low numbers in the evenings, so a little Lantus might push him over the edge again.
Any chance you picked up some gravy or other HC foods today?
Assuming the answer is no. I would suggest that you feed him some normal LC food, but don't let him stuff himself in case you need to spike Spike with karo in an hours. Test in 30-60 minutes. Lather, rinse, repeat.
I need to go to sleep soon. My littlest is getting ear tubes very early tomorrow :sad: