hypo! 44 what to do next?

Sanda Elena

Member Since 2019
Hello!
Pufi my 11 y old cat on Lantus 1.25 x2 and wet low carb food had a +5 of 44. I gave him HC dry food because he was a kibble addict and I was sure he will be interested. Tested in 30 min at 46. I than rubbed his gums with honey ( not without struggle and scratches and all) . Tryed to test in 30 min without succeding with him so agitated and me crying. Gave him HC kibbles again and than tested in 45 mn -78.
I am planning to skip the next dose and give him a reduction. In SLGL that means a 0.25 reduction am I right?
 
It appears you're getting him back into safer numbers now with that 78. Just don't get complacent, and keep testing him to make sure he doesn't go too low again. And yes, he earned a .25u reduction, which is great news!

Have you set up a spread sheet yet? Seeing Pufi's BG history is essential to those who don't know your cat. Instructions on setting up a spread sheet can be found here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/.

You're doing great! Hopefully somebody more experienced will come along shortly to offer more advice. Meanwhile, keep testing!
 
It appears you're getting him back into safer numbers now with that 78. Just don't get complacent, and keep testing him to make sure he doesn't go too low again. And yes, he earned a .25u reduction, which is great news!

Have you set up a spread sheet yet? Seeing Pufi's BG history is essential to those who don't know your cat. Instructions on setting up a spread sheet can be found here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/.

You're doing great! Hopefully somebody more experienced will come along shortly to offer more advice. Meanwhile, keep testing!
Thank you! I will set a spreadsheet. Right now I am still shaking and I am so scared. He seems to be fine , he is active, doing normal things . I will test in an hour. It is very difficult to test him , even thought I kind of trained him to come to the test spot using treats he still refuse to let me test him some times and I have to wait and give him some time
 
We are concerned because the honey can leave their system quickly and kitty can crash again. Offering small amounts of food is good, so kitty won’t get too full to eat. Good luck! How did you realize he was hypo?
 
I was testing at +5 to check the nadir and when I first read the value I thought a number is missing . He was in the yelows and blues for the last week and all of the sudden lime! He was acting normally, runing, purring and all. Although after seing the numbers I observed a twitching on his black, or it was just my imagination can be sure
 
You're doing very good! I think you should go back to wet food if you did not! HC kibbles are taking much much longer to wear off!
Nice that you will setup your spreadsheet, it will be so useful, without that it's very hard to help !
Don't forget to keep on testing because when the kibbles will wear off, numbers could go down!
 
192 4, 45 h after first reading at 44 and +8,45 . I know kibbles are not an option but I was so scared that he won't eat something else. He is on wet food with 5% carbs and he refused a gourmet pate so....now I feel guilty
 
Sorry ! I do not know how I did that! Editing your post. I definitly need sleep. I came home after a 12 h night shift and watched Pufi all afternoon. I feel exhausted.
 
Fabulous job. Don't feel guilty at all. Lots of people over treat a hypo, especially when there isn't a lot of data or experience. I haven't yet had a big scare. Hugs.
 
Most cats love cat food that has gravy which is high in carbs. You can give the gravy also be even to bring numbers up. You can also add a little honey to the regular food.
I did that but he refused to eat it.
Should I skip the next dose wich should be in 1:30 h ? Shot 0.5 maybe? I don't think I can monitor closely tonight I m just not feel well . Think I had hypo to . I couldn't eat being so affraid for my baby.
 
I would test and post the result. Often cats bounce after a low number. What the result is will help determine what to shoot or if you should skip.
 
I did that but he refused to eat it.
Should I skip the next dose wich should be in 1:30 h ? Shot 0.5 maybe? I don't think I can monitor closely tonight I m just not feel well . Think I had hypo to . I couldn't eat being so affraid for my baby.
Some say skip unless bg is high. I want to say 250, but now I can’t remember where I read that. The stickies have all the guidelines.
 
Hello! Pufi is fine. I decided to skip the shot. He was at 245 PMPS. In the morning was in the 300's so I gave him 1 U. He looks fine now . I am sorry I couldn't post because my husband was injured in a nasty car accident. Thank you all for your concern and for your answres . I can say you all saved Pufi's life , all my actions were based on what I learned here.
 
Laura, I hope your hubby is all right and not badly injured. Glad to read that Pufi is doing ok too.

When you get time, it would be helpful if you would create a signature with Pufi's information and then set up the spreadsheet.

That information will then be available whenever you post and is very important to have, it can make a huge difference in an emergency situation.
Then we can see the history of your testing, what increases or decreases in insulin doses you have made, as well as what kind of insulin, what kind of meter and what kind of food without backtracking through previous posts to find out what is needed to know.

click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
click on "signature" in the menu that drops down
type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what (s)he eats/any other meds or health issues (s)he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the country/time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/

If you have problems with the spreadsheet we have members who can help or set it up for you.
 
Back
Top