Hungry hungry hippo!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
Miley seems to be slowly but surely going down hill with his CKD, he's starting to lose weight quite dramatically even though he's eating quite a bit and his poos seem to be normal to slightly 'dry' for him...he's also having trouble just trying to jump on the couch now. I finally got him booked in for a vet appointment tomorrow with a new vet who has the equipment to do Blood pressure testing and they seem to be really good, they're getting all his records faxed over so they know what they're dealing with. I'm in high hopes that they can help me with his CKD...I feel totally overwhelmed and it's just so heartbreaking watching him deteriorate. He's just still so happy and purry and loving.

Okay must get to the point, with Milo losing so much weight, yet still being so hungry, can I up his feeds? Currently he has 4-6 85gram tins per day and if I let him, he'd graze all day, about every hour he looks at me and asks for more food. I am just wondering if I can feed him when he wants it and still be able to control his diabetes. I'm just a little lost with this...I thought I may increase his food intake and at the same time take extra BG's to keep an eye on if they are creeping up too much.

Thanks for any help!
Bebe
 
Tanya's site was a godsend! Until I saw that site I thought I would have to get Miley put straight to sleep like the vet told me...it has given me hope.

I'm so anxious to get to the vet appointment tomorrow and be able to get some test results, my current vet is a bit iffy giving them to me...I don't know why...I paid for them! The vet sounded really professional over the phone and they were cheaper than all the other places I rang...most wanted the $100-120 for the blood pressure test, but their price is $70. Thanks to everyone who has helped me on here, I am armed with a booklet of questions and things that can be done for him!

I plan on feeding his when he wants it from today, eek this could get pricey, my boy has a VERY healthy appetite! I am also going to go out and buy some fresh beef and chicken to supplement his tin food diet...maybe that will help some. I will try to do BG tests more regularly...but from what I can tell, his levels aren't too bad. He's just so happy :sad:.
 
What are you feeding? Maybe there are other canned that are cheaper although maybe with crf you want to make your own..

It's great that he is happy. How low does he go at night? Not dangerously I hope!!
 
I'm feeding him a variety of low carb, low protein food...a few different brands and trying to keep fish meals to only a few times a week now. I have also been giving diced raw beef, beef mince and chicken. He's already eaten 3 times today and is still looking for more, he's had 2 x 85 gram tins and then 100 grams of raw chicken...I was hoping the raw food would take longer to digest and make him feel a little fuller for longer, he practically breathed the chicken in and looked for more! He's currently curled up next to me all warm and purry. Milo has always been a big eater but I think the urinary dry food with all its carbs would make him feel fuller than the tin does.

At night his BG falls to about 150-180 at the nadir from what i've seen, do you think I should reduce him Pm shot from 2 units? Miley was on 1 unit from when he was first diagnosed (no adjustments), his sugar remained between 90-150...though sometimes went up to about 270ish...it then started regularly sitting at 200-270, so the vet just said to double the insulin. Since finding you all here, I now know how wrong everything has been and how little I and my vet even know about all this. Miley was his first Lantus kitty and I really don't think he knows a whole lot about feline diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top