human vs cat glucose numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

midnightsfamily

Member Since 2012
Hello,
I have literally spent hours today trying to find information on this web site as well as out on the Internet, simply telling me what the human BG numbers convert to for cat BG numbers and I cannot find the answer! I do have a call into my veterinarian but she won't be available until 3pm. I am using a ReliOn Confirm BG monitor. Please email me ........ Thank you so much!
Mary & Midnight
 
BJM is usually here to post this, but here are the reference ranges.

Reference ranges for decision making
BJM said:
Conceptually, it is somewhat like reading a thermometer in Celsiums vs Fahrenheit. Freezing, for example, is 0 degrees Celsius and 32 degrees Fahrenheit.

That said, here are some glucose reference ranges for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir in long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, especially if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and in danger of DKA and hepatic lipidosis
- Test for ketones; more than a trace, go to vet ASAP.

Hope that helps.

You might like this Wiki article also. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diabetes_in_cats

p.s. We don't email our replies. We like to keep the information on the message board public so other people can see the replies and understand what is going on.
 
Thank You So Much! I just went round and round with my vet, using the exact same example you used for Celsius to Fahrenheit and she didn't get it! Cannot thank you enough for passing along this information!
 
I don't have a clue why people fool around with conversions.
You are using a human meter and the BG of 86 is a good one.
If your vet doesn't get it, take your relion with you the next time you go to the vet and you can compare your meter to the vet's.

The overpriced pet meters register higher numbers than the humans... maybe around 30-50points higher, but it doesn't matter to you as you are following numbers in the protocol that are based on human meters.

Gayle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top