Human Meter (Nova Max Plus) versus Alphatrak ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thabbo

Member Since 2015
Hi!

I finally decided to get a human meter, so that I don't have to worry about the different numbers anymore and to save money and now this happened:
I used the testfluid and checked both meters and the result is:

Alphatrak: 140, 155
Nova Max: 80, 82, 77, 82

And then I went ahead and tested Thabbo with both meters:
Alphatrak: 122
Nova Max: 81

What do I do now??? The AT value would mean I can shoot based on what we did the last few days, the Nova Max results mean: no shot!

And on a side note: I am out of Alphatrak strips now - those are so darn expensive.

We have another 2.5h to decide, but this discrepency is very disturbing! However, that might explain, why Thabbo showed some signs of going hypo last week even though I measured values of around 90 on the AT, I went with my gut feeling and intervened and he was fine after a little while .... but still this is VERY disturbing

Does anybody have/had similar experience with their meters???
 
Yes, this is common. That's one of the reasons that I encourage people to use a human glucometer and stick with it, because our documents here on FDMB, and the Tight Regulation Protocol that came out of the University of Queensland, all are based upon human glucometers.

It's not that A Traks are inaccurate - they aren't. But you're comparing apples and oranges, and it will make you crazy. I would choose one glucometer and stick with it - and as I've said, I think there are many reasons to support sticking with a human meter.
 
I used the testfluid and checked both meters and the result is:

Alphatrak: 140, 155
Nova Max: 80, 82, 77, 82
Did you use the same test fluid when testing both meters or did you use the appropriate test solution made for each meter?

And then I went ahead and tested Thabbo with both meters:
Alphatrak: 122
Nova Max: 81
I'm not surprised. All meters are allowed a +/- variance of 20%. Those results fall within that allowance.

What do I do now??? The AT value would mean I can shoot based on what we did the last few days, the Nova Max results mean: no shot!
I'm confused. It says you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol in your signature. When practicing TR, one would shoot anything 50 or over when using a meter calibrated for humans... if you're available to monitor and your hypo tool box is well stocked.

We have another 2.5h to decide...
A lot can happen in the next 2.5 hours. See how the rest of the cycle plays out before becoming concerned.

I would choose one glucometer and stick with it - and as I've said, I think there are many reasons to support sticking with a human meter.
I agree. Pick one meter and stick with it or you'll drive yourself crazy!
 
Try testing twice with the Nova Max and see if there are big discrepancies. Sometimes I test myself twice just to take a possible "cat variable" out of the mix. There are always going to be some variations in numbers, however. As Jill says, a 20% variation is "allowed".

Julie is right, of course. Stick with the Nova Max. Don't try to compare it with the AT.

With regard to your question about whether or not an 81 is safe to shoot: I see that you say that you have 2 and a half hours in which to make the decision. Do you normally base your decision on whether or not to shoot on a reading that is taken 3 hours before PMPS? (I see only +9 and +10 readings on today's spreadsheet). It is normal for blood glucose to rise after nadir, so by the time you reach PMPS the number should be higher. Most of us test, feed, and shoot more or less simultaneously (within 5 or 10 minutes or so). When do you feed?

One of the nice things about Lantus is that "onset"--when the insulin shot begins to take effect--usually doesn't begin for a couple of hours (this is a big difference from Vetsulin). So even if the PS number is a little low, you can usually figure that it will probably rise during those 2 hours or so before onset. One way to avoid surprises is to test at +1. If the number is the same, or lower, at +1 than it was at PS, that can be a signal that the cycle will be "active" and that Thabbo may drop. This gives you a "heads-up" to be ready to intervene with food.

It sounds complicated, but it is pretty logical. As you get used to Lantus and to the readings on the Nova Max it will become less frustrating.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks a lot for your input! I just panicked, because I made previous decisions on the AT where we obviously have higher values. I just tested Thabbo for hhis PMPS and he is now at 70 (nova max) ... so I'll go ahread and my usual routine and just breathe and monitor :D
I just have to get used to many more green numbers I guess... which is a good thing :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top