Hugo AMPS 239, PMPS 291 and BW results, help with AB and dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone! Hugo's BG has been staying pretty flat all day, but still has symptoms of the diarrhea and fatigue. The BW results are back and they look fine. His pancreatis test FPLI result is 3.2 ug/l, which is normal, Pro BNP negative and fructosamine 380 umol/l (was 468 when diagnosed).

I asked about the low thyroid and she didn't think there was any reason for concern. She also shot down my worries about any issues he might be having with his pancreas, but said if I want to they can test it. I asked about giving Flagyl for the diarrhea and she told me that wasn't available anymore, so she prescribed an antibiotic called Clont 250mg. It's also metronidazole. For 10 days. If diarrhea continues then I should contact them again. His activity level is the same (not good), but has only gone once for number two, and it was loose. I hope the antibiotic helps him soon...But what if the Tylosin I'm giving now is helping already? Shouldn't I keep giving that and wait with the new one?

Yesterday's condo
 
Oh, and one more thing...Vet said to reduce insulin to 1.25 until diarrhea resolves, any opinions about that? I shot already and gave the normal 1.50U anyway...
 
As long as he's eating, I'd keep giving the 1.5 units. I'm not sure about the AB. You may want to put AB? in your subject line. I'm glad the b/w was good. Sending prayers.
 
As long as he's eating, I'd keep giving the 1.5 units. I'm not sure about the AB. You may want to put AB? in your subject line. I'm glad the b/w was good. Sending prayers.
Thanks! I don't see any reason to lower the insulin dose, I'm not sure why should I even...He is eating well, luckily.
 
Clont is the same as Flagyl -- it's another brand name for metronidazole. Brand names for drugs are not the same in every country. It's why we try to use the pharmacological name of the drug.

If you can get the lab values from your vet, there's a tab on your spreadsheet where you can enter the information.

I agree -- I don't see any need to change the dose.

 
Tiina

Glad to see good results on the Pro BNP and fPLI.

I agree that you should stay with the same dose. If Hugo is not feeling well or is in some discomfort that can cause glucose levels to be higher.

Did the vet say to discontinue the Tylosin and just to take the metronidazole? Just trying to clarify this. With taking AB it is helpful to use a good probiotic. Maybe someone can weigh in on that as well.
 
But what if the Tylosin I'm giving now is helping already? Shouldn't I keep giving that and wait with the new one?
Metronazodile is stronger than Tylosin. I would try giving it and see if it can stop the diarrhea. And I agree with Mary Ann about adding a probiotic. It doesn't have to be a pet specific probiotic. If you can get a human one, that can work. Your vet may have a suggestion about a brand.
 
I'm going to get him probiotics tomorrow, since I don't have any at hand now. I gave him a Tylosin pill tonight, but if his diarrhea is back tomorrow morning I'm going to switch to Clont. The vet didn't say which one is better, but prescribed metronidazole when I requested it. When I have used Tylosin before it has worked like a wonder and is well tolerated with my boys. I'm going to follow your advice and keep the dose in 1.50U. Just now his BG seems to stay in the same number. I didn't find the pumpkin today from my local shop, hopefully tomorrow can get a ride to a bigger supermarket. I have totally forgotten to add info to the labs section, will do that :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top