Savin
Member Since 2016
Hi all,
Mango's vetsulin dosage was increased about a week ago, and I've been monitoring BGs closely to see how it's working out for her. Right before insulin, she's been at 304, 313, and 320; four hours after, she's been at 118, 155, and 147. Today, however, fours hours in she was at 54. Her behavior was fine, and she ate like a champ, so I monitored her for the next hour, after which her BG was 130. I called the emergency vet, with whom she has a relationship, whose advice was to lower the dose back down: she said this increased dosage obviously isn't working for Mango. Then, tonight, right before insulin, her BG was 457! I was expecting lower, especially since she got so low earlier today. And if the increased dosage isn't working for her, won't a lower dosage give her even higher numbers right before insulin? Can anybody explain this? Thanks!
Mango's vetsulin dosage was increased about a week ago, and I've been monitoring BGs closely to see how it's working out for her. Right before insulin, she's been at 304, 313, and 320; four hours after, she's been at 118, 155, and 147. Today, however, fours hours in she was at 54. Her behavior was fine, and she ate like a champ, so I monitored her for the next hour, after which her BG was 130. I called the emergency vet, with whom she has a relationship, whose advice was to lower the dose back down: she said this increased dosage obviously isn't working for Mango. Then, tonight, right before insulin, her BG was 457! I was expecting lower, especially since she got so low earlier today. And if the increased dosage isn't working for her, won't a lower dosage give her even higher numbers right before insulin? Can anybody explain this? Thanks!