Suzanne & Darcy
Very Active Member
How do you know?
Oh, I forgot to answer about the dose. He is getting 80 mcg per day. He is about 17 lbs.I wouod wait at lease a month. What dose (mcg/kg) is Darcy on now?
My Snuffles has been on it for three monts at dose of 10mcg/kg and it seems to be helping getting more consistant, lower BGs. I get PS BG in the low 100's with a few in the 90's.He is currently on 5 units Levemir and 9 units N.
That's about 10mcg/kg.He is getting 80 mcg per day. He is about 17 lbs.
Thanks. Does your Snuffles have any of the classic acro symptoms?That's about 10mcg/kg.
I wouod wait unitl at least two weeks on Levemir before considering upping cabergoline.
Darcy is getting 80 mcg daily. I think it's starting to help with the BG? Is it also supposed to help alleviate the other symptoms/problems associated with Acromegaly? Will it slow down or stop the excess growth of bones/englargement of organs and other damage done by the excess of growth hormone? Has it been measured that it reduces the growth hormone? Does anyone know? Of course, I imagine that if you tested IGF-1 on any given day, you would get a different number, but it seems like the number should be lower if the Cabergoline acts on the pituitary gland to reduce IGF-1. @Wendy&Neko Is there anywhere I can read about this? Thanks!I increased from .6 mL to .9mL after consulting with my vet after about 24 days. My vet said that after reading the research from Dr. Niessen from RVC, he recommends going to higher doses right away. As my vet said, 10 mcg/kg is on the lower end of the high end so we went from 60 mcg daily to 90 mcg daily. He’s been on cabergoline for 48 days (24 days at the higher dose) and I don’t think I’m seeing any resultts yet.
Just increased body weight (hen I pick him up to test he his hefty and not fat), a broadened face, maybe enlarged feet but hard to tell since he is front dclaw, protrusion of the mandible (prognathia inferior), increased interdental spacing, and a poor coatDoes your Snuffles have any of the classic acro symptoms?
Is there anywhere we can access this research from Dr. Niessen?[/QUOTE][QUOTE="My vet said that after reading the research from Dr. Niessen from RVC, he recommends going to higher doses right away.
Thanks, Wendy! My vet had seen that you could go 10-15mcg/kg so that is why we increased Howie up to .9 mL. I’m not sure what research he had seen that in.I've seen a couple copies of the RVC research - this post has the link to one of them. RVC started out at 5mcg/kg as the lower end, then upped it to 10 mcg/kg and said you could start with the higher amount 10 mcg/kg.
How much does Howie weigh?Thanks, Wendy! My vet had seen that you could go 10-15mcg/kg so that is why we increased Howie up to .9 mL. I’m not sure what research he had seen that in.
Thanks, Wendy! My vet had seen that you could go 10-15mcg/kg so that is why we increased Howie up to .9 mL. I’m not sure what research he had seen that in.
If those are starting dose ranges, I wonder what the upper limit is? I’m just curious. It seems like a lot of trial and error. I need to re-read old posts or check back with @Olive & Paula about what dose she finally ended up giving Olive.I've seen a couple copies of the RVC research - this post has the link to one of them. RVC started out at 5mcg/kg as the lower end, then upped it to 10 mcg/kg and said you could start with the higher amount 10 mcg/kg.
He weighs about 12 poundsHow much does Howie weigh?
If those are starting dose ranges, I wonder what the upper limit is? I’m just curious. It seems like a lot of trial and error. I need to re-read old posts or check back with @Olive & Paula about what dose she finally ended up giving Olive.
Oh, I thought you increased her dose based on her symptoms. I guess the .84 dose worked to control her symptoms like stridor, sensitivity to light, etc? What else did she have as a result of the acro? Did she get arthritis?Never saw the tag. I never based the cabergoline dose on Ollie's glucose or insulin dose. Ollie started at 0.6 ml and ended on 0.84 ml. I don't think it was much of a change for the almost 2 yrs and 9 months she was on it.
Oh, I thought you increased her dose based on her symptoms. I guess the .84 dose worked to control her symptoms like stridor, sensitivity to light, etc? What else did she have as a result of the acro? Did she get arthritis?