how to switch from humulin to lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucca

Member Since 2015
Hey guys.. I'm wondering if anyone can help me out with changing Luke's insulin. He's been on humulin since being diagnosed almost 5 months ago and he's actually not done very well on it. I've never been able to get his numbers steady. Just those high numbers than a dramatic drop only to spike again.. so I'm ready to switch to lantus, I've got the solostar pens already. I just need to know how to make the switch? Do I use the same amt of lantus? Is lantus given pretty much the same way as humulin, every 12 hrs? Does anyone know how
they compare? I hate that my baby kitty is having such a hard time :( most days he can hardly walk bc his back legs are so weak. I'm just hoping and praying that maybe changing him to lantus does the trick. He clearly isn't doing well on humulin. As always I thank you all so very much for they help and support. You guys are the best! I've gotten more help from you all here on this site
than I was getting from the vet! Crazy! However, I will make an appt for Lucca if I should take him in before changing his insulin.. Ughhh
 
The starting does is usually 1 unit twice daily. Any data you have with Humulin N can change that starting does. However, y did not provide recent data with Humulin N
 
Thank you for the reply, I was beginning to think I was on my own :( I've not been able to upload the ss with all of his info bc I do not have a comp or internet right now and it is impossible to do from my phone, unfortunately.. I do keep a journal of everything, all of his bg readings and units of insulin, etc. I kinda stumbled onto this site searching for help. I was taking Luke in weekly to the vet where they continued to increase his insulin to the point he was practically comatose! I decided than to start trying to figure things out on my own. I began home testing and adjusting his insulin according to his numbers. I also learned about a low carb diet from this site. We've had a few good weeks here and there but mostly just struggling. Now I'd really like to switch him to lantus but don't know if the dosing is the same as humulin. For example, this morning his bg was 517 and he got 4 units of insulin. I'm just really confused :\ and sad for my sick kitty.
 
You could ask the vet for a suggestion of what dose to give Lucca. BTW if you can get to a library they have computers with internet access and you could use one of those to create a spreadsheet, then you should be able to update it on your phone going forward.

If you can't get a suggestion from the vet of what dose of Lantus to use that makes sense to you, I guess you could start with 1 unit of Lantus and see how he does. I think you're supposed to hold an increase of Lantus for 3 days (6 cycles) before making any increases. And yes, give it every 12 hours.

Also, ask your vet about B12 shots for his back legs. Sounds like he's dealing with some neuropathy from being unregulated and the B12 should help until he gets better regulated.

So sorry you have to deal with this but at least you have a solution in sight. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Edited to add: I just posted a query on the Lantus forum to ask people there if they have more advice about how to switch and tagged you.

Shane
 
Last edited:
First we need some information.....What is Luke eating? Is he getting any kibble at all or is he eating nothing but low carb canned?

What's his current dose of Humulin? 4U twice/day? How much does he weigh and is he underweight, overweight or about ideal?

It will be important for you to figure out how to use our spreadsheet though....If you can get to a computer at the library to get it set up, that'd be great...then you can download Google Drive to your phone and keep it updated from your phone. If you can't do that, let us know. We have people who can start the spreadsheet for you and then transfer it to your ownership to keep updated

The weakness in his back legs sounds like diabetic neuropathy...Most of us use Zobaline for cats for that...just crush it and put it in food (it's supposed to be tasteless). It takes time, but it can really work miracles, but what's going to help the most is getting his diabetes under better control. The B-12 you get at the vet (injection) is a different form of B-12 that's not as effective on neuropathy
 
The B12 shot you got at the vet was probably cyanocobalamin, used for pancreatitis and IBD. See Chris' suggestion above. Many here use Zoabline (methylcobalamin) for diabetic neuropathy.

As granadilla and Chris mention, it is very important to set up the spreadsheet or have someone assist you with setting it up so members can determined the correct Lantus dose Lucca should be on and see how he's doing on it. Don't determine the dose yourself.

Humulin and Lantus work very differently. Humulin is fast-acting and exits the body generally in less than 10 hours. (It only lasted for CJ for up to 6 to 8 hours). Lantus is a gentler, longer lasting insulin that stays in the body longer.

For more info on B12/methylcobalamin, see this link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/treating-feline-neuropathy-with-methylcobalamin.130883/
 
Last edited:
Hi, Lucca is beautiful! :) Come on over to the Lantus/Levemir forum, you'll get more eyes that are experienced w/ Lantus there. Once we know more of the data on Lucca members there can give dosing advice. There is a formula for calculating the initial dose of Lantus, but if a cat has been on another insulin there are are other things to consider. That's why we have so many questions. We also have a number of "stickies" (information posts at the top of the forum) that go into great detail on how Lantus is used.

Some vets have heard that Lantus is a good insulin for cats, but haven't studied up on it and tend to treat it like Humulin or Prozinc. There are a lot of differences for instance:
  • The initial dose is held for 5 to 7 day so the shed can build up.
  • Doses aren't adjusted on the preshot number, they are adjusted on the lowest (the nadir) that the dose takes the BG.
  • And they aren't adjusted daily like Humulin, depending on the protocol you choose to follow you hold the dose for 3 to 7 days.
I know it's a lot to take in, but there are usually members around to help.

Methylcobalamin (also called Methyl B-12) is more readily used by the cats body, cyanocobalamin has to be converted to methylcobalamin before it can be used. But it will still take several weeks to see results. You are rebuilding the nerves. Be sure to order Zobaline (the cat formula) not Xobaline (the human form.)
 
Last edited:
If you have the Lantus, there isn't any special reason that you need a vet appointment to switch from one to the other.

The dose on the Humulin is important, also how low that dose was taking Lucca. We can help you with a starting dose, just need more information. Whether or not he's eating dry food is important.

The Zobaline will likely help with his back leg weakness. We've seen kitties come back up on their toes after walking down on their hocks, after being on Zobaline for a while.

We can definitely help you - just give us what info you can. As far as the spreadsheet goes, if you can get to a library you could borrow a public computer and set it up. Another option is that we do have members who will set one up for you and put it whatever info you have. Then you can update #s from your phone.

I wanted to make sure you see this post on taking care of your Lantus. I can't tell if you are thinking of using the pen needles that attach to the Solostar pens, but we use u-100 syringes and poke them into the rubber stopper of the pen, rather than using the pen needles and the dial on the pen itself. With cats, you'll want to be able to adjust the dose in 1/4 unit increments, which is impossible with the pen needles.

There's more on how to use the pens and draw up the dose without contaminating your insulin here on this post.

Hang in there - we all live feline diabetes 24/7. There's a wealth of knowledge on this site and people will help you. Go back up through people's posts and answer their questions, then we can help you make the switch to Lantus. If you can't get the spreadsheet going, please ask for help. It's an essential tool and once you get the hang of it, you'll see why we use them.
 
Oh my gosh! You all are amazing people.. seriously. Thank you for taking time to help me with all this info. I'm so sorry I didn't reply sooner! I actually just got up with Lucca now and decided to check on this to see if anyone had replied. Well don't I feel stupid! So many awesome ppl with so much great information stopping to help others... Priceless :)
I now understand so much more just from reading all these comments! Like how lantus differs from humulin.. and the stuff you all suggested to help his legs, I sure wish my vet woulda told me sooner! I also didn't know I could use my phone to update once I get the ss set up from a computer.. Well, thank you all again. I will work on the ss idea (maybe a friend's computer) and at least answer as many of these questions as possible until then.. I gotta get back to sleep now but I had to leave a reply when I saw how much important info you guys left for me. I'm seriously alone and scared quite often with Lucca and it is such a tremendous feeling to have ppl there to help who know and understand what I'm going thru with a diabetic cat. Thank you all! Night friends :)
 
Just a quick note: when you do make the change to Lantus it's important to update your vets because they need to know which treatment(s) your kitty is receiving.

Also, it shines out of your posts how much you love your little one and how worried you are, so I want to send you some of these >>> :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I really felt for you when you wrote about how wiped out Luke was on the Humulin. My Saoirse was first put on Caninsulin (legal requirement in the UK). It's another quite harsh insulin and it hammered her poor little body. When I managed to get Lantus prescribed for her it was like night and day: she started feeling better straight away. I'm really hoping that Luke will have a similar result with Lantus. :)

This sugar dance does get easier, and Luke will get better. Hang in there. :)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top