fearlessmom
Member Since 2017
I feel like I have wasted the last 3 wks. Started Fearless @ 2U of Lantus per vet. Even though vet agreed we would follow SLGS, starting dose according to this forum should have been .5U (or no more than .75U if we were following TR protocol as Fearless was underweight to start, at 6.5 lbs). Under vet's advice, after 5 days (first 4 not tested) switched to 1U, another no-no according to this forum. We then shot between .5 and 1.5 for a couple days until settled on 1U for 5 days. We were flatlined in the 300s and 400s so increased to 1.5U. Stayed there and thought we were doing OK until couldn't get out of the 400s and 500s, so under vet advice increased to 2U. Trying to be consistent I overdosed him this morning and now bouncing into 400s. Before I pull out what's left of my hair, I have a few specific questions:
1. Even though we had pretty good numbers yesterday, was the 116 (on pet meter) too low to give full 2U last night, even though +3 pm count was 139? If the 156 at +1 am today was a food spike, could the 139 last night have also been a food spike?
2. According to the sticky note, after a week at a specific dose (for us that was 1.5U from 4/6 to 4/12), we should have done a 12 hour curve (which we didn't, but the nadir was still >150) and increased by .25U. If this is true, once Fearless is over his current bounce, should we reduce to 1.75U and follow SLGS rules (e.g., NOT shoot if he is <68 on pet meter)?
3. That brings up another question: Because we know today's numbers are a bounce, should I not shoot at all tonight? If not, what are the rules for how much insulin to give during/after a bounce? How do I even know when the bounce is over?
4. Alternatively, should I start from the beginning again at a much lower dose?
I guess my main concern is that I have yet to see a pattern in Fearless's counts and thus I am unsure how to proceed after this latest bounce.
BTW, here's link to previous thread on Fearless:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nd-his-spiking-bg-levels.175753/#post-1940549
1. Even though we had pretty good numbers yesterday, was the 116 (on pet meter) too low to give full 2U last night, even though +3 pm count was 139? If the 156 at +1 am today was a food spike, could the 139 last night have also been a food spike?
2. According to the sticky note, after a week at a specific dose (for us that was 1.5U from 4/6 to 4/12), we should have done a 12 hour curve (which we didn't, but the nadir was still >150) and increased by .25U. If this is true, once Fearless is over his current bounce, should we reduce to 1.75U and follow SLGS rules (e.g., NOT shoot if he is <68 on pet meter)?
3. That brings up another question: Because we know today's numbers are a bounce, should I not shoot at all tonight? If not, what are the rules for how much insulin to give during/after a bounce? How do I even know when the bounce is over?
4. Alternatively, should I start from the beginning again at a much lower dose?
I guess my main concern is that I have yet to see a pattern in Fearless's counts and thus I am unsure how to proceed after this latest bounce.
BTW, here's link to previous thread on Fearless:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nd-his-spiking-bg-levels.175753/#post-1940549
