How to handle PMPS was an hour late

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
Came home from work exhausted and went to take a nap - was supposed to be awakened at 6pm (amps +11) by hubby but HE fell asleep too! Woke up at 8pm an hour after my cats PMPS. Tested him he was 343 (actually not as bad as I'd worried) and shot what we've been shooting. Wondering how everyone handles this now in the morning? I've changed his time b 15 minute increments before to get to a time that makes sense but never an hour off like this. Should I move back slowly to the old time - like shoot at 7:45am tomorrow morning and 7:30 tomorrow night or something?
 
You can either roll back by 15 mnutes per shot or 30 minutes once a day.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
OK thanks that was kind of what I figured. ugh... throws my whole work schedule off. So much for napping! LOL
 
You're on ProZinc, which is not as rigid as Lantus and does not have carryover in most cats.

After looking at the spreadsheet, you've been on 4 units for 4 days, with lots of mid-cycle testing and you're barely breaking a blue mid-cycle. I think you can shoot on time in the morning (which may act as a slight dose increase) and possibly go up another 0.25-0.5 units in the evening, unless you have some good reason not to do so?

And come on over to the PZI forum for ProZinc and PZI users to give you feedback. It works rather differently than Lantus and Levemir, as it doesn't build up over time. (Some insulin management tips are specific to whether or not you have a depot/shed insulin.)

I'm going to pm Carl to take a look - he's really familiar with ProZinc.
 
I didn't even realize (only half awake) that I wasn't in the PZI forum. I've mostly been posting there - Carl's been a big help- I do appreciate your input - I've been contemplating going up a bit but wanted to give the 4.0 a good test run and we've actually been on that dose for a week with one 3.00 when I wasn't going to be around and was gun shy at his numbers- poor Carl - he's gonna see that PM and think "what's Ellen done now?" LOL Thank you!!
 
LOL, when BJ sent me the PM, she didn't identify the poster, just asked me to take a look.... What has Ellen done now??? LOL

With PZI/Prozinc, you can shoot off a 12 hour schedule much easier than with one of the L insulins. I 2nd what BJ said above. Given that you have room to go lower in the middle of the cycles, you could give Robbie his shot at the normal time tomorrow morning. The only exception I would make to that is if for some reason you see a really low AMPS number. If you do, then you want to wait, hold off food, maybe 30-45 minutes and test him again, just to make sure his BG is on the way up rather than on the way down when you shoot. If his PS number is in the same range as it's been lately, the 4u dose would be fine. It might be time to consider increasing the dose, but I wouldn't do so in the morning when if effect the shot will be early compared to tonight's shot. Perhaps up the dose on the PM shot tomorrow, but I'll have to take another look at the SS before I can tell you how much of in increase I think is indicated.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl - did you get the short stick when the PZI experts were pulling to see who got to deal with Ellen and Robbie? LOL You've been very helpful and reliable.
Robbie was 347 45 minutes early for his shot (when measuring against the shot last night) - I was up with a frightened dog from 4-5am and over slept by a few minutes again this morning - the dog doesn't like the sound of the sprinkler system since we switched over from well water to town water, something I hadn't anticipated and she was freaking out so I sat with her while Robbie had his 4am snack (and I got to see a nice yellow 229 - had been hoping for maybe a patch of blue). So at 347 with only 45 minutes to a legit 12 hours between shots I did the 4.00 again. We'll be out for a bit today but I should be able to get a +2 and a +5 to see how he's doing - right now he's going to town on a cat nip carrot so he's obviously feeling pretty feisty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top