How to deal with the PS blues

Status
Not open for further replies.

kphowe

Member Since 2012
ok so I did not expect to get a blue this am, but WOW I did. I am stalling for 1/2 hour to see if she comes up a little. I have made my shoot range 190 and above. I think I will only shoot .4 this am and hope she goes by the path I have played out in my mind. maybe we will see some green today. I need a little guidance in planning for green (do I feed her some when she is below 100?) or ride it out? I dont want to cause another bounce. I also posted this to the health site.
 
Hope you're still stalling, please come back! I wouldn't give her .4 into a 200. Are you gonna be home today?
 
Alright, I'm gonna hang for a few before I get back in bed. Next time you need help use the 911 icon, I know it's not life or death and all but it is designed to get you eyes when you need them, and you are at a disadvantage cause you're shots are so early. I can try to be up and on a 5 am for a while.

Here's the next step: I don't think these results are just the insulin, her P is coming back. That PMPS was a late bounce, it cleared, and she went way down...but not too low. I wouldn't shoot that heavy into a red again unless you know it's not a bounce. So now you set your do not shoot number, which is hard being new. Where will you be comfortable shooting? I'm not good at scales, but I think 0.2 to 0.3 into a 200 unless you can be home all day today. You will test like you have been, but probably on the hour from +2 to +8 unless you see something dropping fast, or you get into the greens then you will test 30 minutes. Yes, use low carb food to slow the drop and if you start seeing anything below 65 or feel it's heading that way switch to 15-20 minute testing. Now if she's 40-65 at +6 or +7 it's much less worrying than if it's happening at +3. I feel that kitties headed toward remission can have spurts of normal BG while on small doses of insulin, which is scary, but my cat never acted hypo when she was low....and I had caught a hypo before because she was in a stupor.

If this continues, you will be shooting as needed....which means anytime the number comes up above your do not shoot line.
 
I'm with Cathy - IF you shoot, it should be a reduced dose. I wouldn't want to put the kitty at risk (by shooting) just because the clock says it's time to shoot. This is how Grayson ended up w/ some marathon cycles early on. Like Carl said last night, I'd rather go long for a couple of hours, than too low for one minute.
 
I forgot to mention on your concern about keeping her from bouncing. Unfortunately, she's almost certainly going to bounce after her first strong run of greens. It's just part of the dance, you have a liver that has been accustomed to BG 300-500 and now it sees a 80 and panics because it thinks the cat is going to die. The goal is to use as little insulin as possible and give her a nice easy dip into the greens so she surfs, not have her go from 105 to 60 in an hour and immediately bounce back up. You're gonna still get some bounces, hopefully now your bounces will be purple and not red, but the bounce after the first greens may very well be a big one....or it may just present as a flat following cycle (maybe with a delayed bounce like yesterday's PMPS).
 
ok well I had already given the 0.4 before I saw your post Cathy. But I will be home all day today and can check often. I do think Mr.P is trying as I have already seen a bit of a drop from the 208 in just 2hrs she is now at 186.

I will be checking back here often today, you bet on that.
 
As long as you're home, you'll be fine...I was just concerned that you might be working today as you were off the last two. I'm actually glad you shot at +13 and didn't let her go higher. You might be in for a ride today, get a +3 if you can to see that the drop isn't super steep because you've already gone down 10% and your biggest drops come between +2 and +4 it seems. 0.4 might be a good dose, you want to push her green at this point. Don't be shocked at a bounce for PMPS and a flat cycle this evening, I would not increase dose for a higher PMPS tonight. Because we're looking at .4 vs. a true micro dose of .1 or .2 you'll want to be a little more aggressive with the food if her numbers start to tank, I'm not as worried about hypo on the micro doses at low numbers as I think it's more Mr. P than the insulin...but with the .4 and Mr. P working some I'd be a little more cautious.

Another thing to think about as we're getting into lower doses is their scale to each other. Going from .4 to .3 is a 25% change, going from .4 to .2 is a 50% change. Small adjustments at this level means a much bigger % change than it did when you were thinking about a 1u vs. a F1.

You're doing great btw!

*Two things, can you edit your subject to "Help with dosing. PMPS 447, .75u. AMBG 154, +13 208 0.4u" to get people to look at it and I'll remove my post for help.

Also, when you make a comment on your spreadsheet we don't see it, we see a bracketed number indicating there is a comment. So can you add 0.4u in your +13 box if that's when you gave the shot. When you do you will have to color code it manually. The boxes for this are in the tool bar at the top of the screen, there are two capital A icons, one changes background color and one changes text color.
 
If I am reading your SS correctly and you shot .4 into 208-- I think you are okay and it looks like you caught the rising number. I see no scary numbers on your SS and the 20 point drop in the first two hours is fine. In fact, you would expect a little drop to start happening around +2 as the onset starts. Just test the cycle and see where it leads, if you see low numbers just be prepared to intervene if necessary. If you start to see a steep drop early in the cycle, feed a little low carb food to slow the drop. Hopefully, you will have a slow easy drop and the bg will not drop too much creating a bounce.

Good Luck!
 
I have already informed Mya that she would have her ear poked often today :-D and I will have some comfort food for me. I dont think I will get much studing done today, but thats ok.
Thanks Cathy. I have actualy been studing your Spread Sheet very closely (thanks for having all the coments) and found that Mya is very close to Kitten in the progress
Thanks to everyone else also I have used a little from all of you to help with this journey.
 
Good am to you & Mya,
Glad to hear you are going to be able to test today thru out the day...Please take a look at Beans ss, as .5 can do ALOT!. From 412 to 54 at +2 and 301to 34 at +6. I should have done a .2 or .3....was too new at this. I believe that her p was trying to work as well.
She has been in remission for almost 1 yr!!!!!
Very happy to read about Mya's numbers and that you will be home to test.
Please keep us posted nailbite_smile
 
Re: Help with dosing

Im trying to add the 0.4 to +13 but it keeps coming up as an error and will not take. How do you keep adding in text without the box getting larger.
I finally figured it out so you can now see.
 
kphowe said:
.
Thanks Cathy. I have actualy been studing your Spread Sheet very closely (thanks for having all the coments) and found that Mya is very close to Kitten in the progress.

I think so too, even though ECID. I'm excited for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top