How to deal with sorta-remission BG readings? Shoot once a day?

soreto

Member Since 2025
Kitty was diagnosed 7 months ago. I used the SLGS method & in that time, he has gone from super high BG all the way to under 200.

I've now gotten to the point where I regularly struggle with whether to shoot or not because he has BG readings that are 'normal' for a non-diabetic cat. (between 80-120 on a pet meter)

I read about the Tight regulation method & it seems I am stuck on phase 3 & 4. Last month, it went like this-

1) he'll be on 1.25u for a week or so; his BG will dip too low, so i'll drop the dose to 1u.
2) he'll be on 1u for a week or so; his BG will go too high, so i'll up the dose back to 1.25.

This month, he is steadily having BG that is under 200- sometimes in the 'normal' range, other times between 120-200. Is this what it looks like transitioning to remission? There are multiple days where I've only shot once a day due to the AM reading being in the normal range.
 
A non-diabetic cat's glucose level is between 50-120, I do not give dosing advice, but changing dose according to the BG, it can very well be the reason for the ups and downs, Lantus I do know that since it is a Depot insulin, it takes about 7 days for the system to adjust to the cats system, remission happens when you stop using insulin altogether due to decreasing the dose 0.25u at a time, until there's no insulin dependency, example if you look at Corky's spreadsheet, click below in blue, you will see that his BG numbers are most in the low two digit BG numbers, that does not mean he is on remission, unfortunately he will be a lifetime diabetic so far, all cats are different of course, He is on ProZinc, if your cats' BG numbers fluctuate, it very well be the changes in doses, called Bounce, he will bounce from low to high numbers till he's body gets used to the dose Just give it time. I will tag a member that can give you dosing advice, is a holiday weekend, be a bit patient, but do not change the dose on the BG, and in this case, you should test at least every 3-4 hours tio make sure the dose change does not dive the B G too low
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
It would be very helpful to see what the actual numbers look like. Even the most experienced members want to see what your data looks like especially if you are dealing with numbers that are looking like your cat's close to remission. It's really hard on the caregiver if stop insulin and them find your cat's numbers are skyrocketing because your decision was premature.

When a cat is in better numbers, the insulin dose is tapered to what amounts to a drop twice a day. Once a day dosing is not a good way to manage dosing.

With Lantus, you can shoot low numbers. If you look at the TR instructions or look on the Lantus board, you'll see that those members who are following TR will give a dose as long as numbers are above 50. With SLGS, most members shoot above 90. (These numbers are based on a human meter.)

Is there any way you can resurrect numbers from your meter? Getting numbers on our spreadsheet will help us see what's going on with your cat's numbers.
 
@CORKY @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

With Lantus, you can shoot low numbers. If you look at the TR instructions or look on the Lantus board, you'll see that those members who are following TR will give a dose as long as numbers are above 50. With SLGS, most members shoot above 90. (These numbers are based on a human meter.)

thanks, this is helpful. I was not shooting when BG was under 100 because my vet told me not to. But looking at CORKY's chart, it looks like she shoots at <100 BG all the time. I was used to the BG dropping A LOT upon shooting when his numbers were higher which is why i was scared to shoot. Does insulin just act totally differently when BG is closer to normal?

i've posted my spreadsheet before but it never got commented on, so I havent kept up with it. i have all the data written down for myself though. i don't use google (for good reason, i promise) so i cant do the google spreadsheet. but if you want to look at some numbers, i posted this last month-

(I forgot to say in the original post that I've already tapered the dose down to 0.75u lately, so I will try to steadily shoot that twice daily and see how it goes.)


m1.jpeg
 
You mentioned me shooting Corky on 100BGs and in the 80s but It takes a lot of practice and is Been years, I am an obsessive tester, if you decide to shoot on low numbers please have a HYPO KIT, this should have some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs, some high carb food between 16-24% carbs some Karo syrup or honey, in case the BG gets lower than 50, but please posts us if you have that situation at least 1 hour before shot so we can help you hike up the BG rather with food than the syrup or honey, these two is only a quick fix so if you need to give it, only rub a bit on the gums, Also Corky uses ProZinc the protocols are a bit different, it takes some time to get to know your cat’s reaction to insulin first, but we are here for you a non-diabeticNormal glucose levels is between 50-120
 
Last edited:
Sorry you did not get any responses when you last posted. A few suggestions about that. Add the question mark prefix in your subject line. Add a link to your spreadsheet in your signature.

Are you testing at all after pmps? If so can you add a few of those results from your meter for the last couple of weeks?

Are you still following SLGS? If yes you do not shoot if the bg is under 90 and reduce the dose if under 90 also. Some people do lower the reduction number slightly but if you do it is important to get some night nadir checks as well as day checks.
 
You mentioned me shooting Corky on 100BGs and in the 80s but It takes a lot of practice and is Been years, I am an obsessive tester, if you decide to shoot on low numbers please have a HYPO KIT, this should have some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs, some high carb food between 16-24% carbs some Karo syrup or honey, in case the BG gets lower than 50, but please posts us if you have that situation at least 1 hour before shot so we can help you hike up the BG rather with food than the syrup or honey, these two is only a quick fix so if you need to give it, only rub a bit on the gums, Also Corky uses ProZinc the protocols are a bit different, it takes some time to get to know your cat’s reaction to insulin first, but we are here for you a non-diabeticNormal glucose levels is between 50-120
thanks for this! i fed high carb all day yesteday & he had 'normal' numbers so i lowered the dose again last night when the reading was 102. we'll see how it goes.
 
Are you testing at all after pmps? If so can you add a few of those results fom your meter for the last couple of weeks?

thanks! i can try this. my pmps is usually at 11pm, which is why i have little results in the hours after. i did a 7am (PMPS 102, +8 125) test today though & he was 125. (pet meter)

Are you still following SLGS? If yes you do not shoot if the bg is under 90 and reduce the dose if under 90 also. Some people do lower the reduction number slightly but if you do it is important to get some night nadir checks as well as day checks.

kinda, but not really? i'm basing it on what level carb food i'm feeding/his appetite/his last reading. i lowered the dose again yesterday based on this. i read about Tr method but i would not be able to test that often. (Kitty gets too stressed/fights me if i test too much which makes doing glucose curves hard.)
 
0-10% low carb/ 11-15 medium carbs/ 16-24 high carbs, could you please create the(our) spreadsheet, this way we have a better picture on what you are talking about , is really hard to not see the full day development to give you advice or suggestions and the doses are NOT increased or decreased according to the glucose levels especially that Lantus is a Depot insulin it takes between 5-7 days for the dose given to adjust to the cats’ system
to be downloaded on GOOGLE DRIVE with permission to read, if you have trouble creating the spreadsheet we can do it for you, I will also tag a couple of members that can assist you in your dosing with Lantus, I can tell you what I know about Lantus but I do not give dosing advice
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Back
Top