How soon does BG change after eating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Very Active Member
Can anyone point me in the direction of information about how soon after eating I can expect BG to change? Radar's BG was 182 this morning preshot. I decided to only give him 7 units of Vetsulin instead of the 8 we've been giving because that seemed like a low place to begin the day. I tested him at + 2 and his number was 62. I then gave him a snack of FF with gravy because I didn't want that number to drop anymore. I also offered some kibble which he ate with no hesitation. I'm close to +3 and will test again to see where we are...

Am I over-reacting? Or is this a reasonable course of action? I guess I'm feeling a bit nervous because I got caught up on my reading about hypoglycemia yesterday and prepared my toolbox.
 
62 isn't hypo. It's a great number on and off insulin. Under 50 is when you need to worry. Good that you have your toolbox ready.

So far, you're doing a great job today keeping a close watch on the numbers. I am not familiar with Vetsulin and its effect with dose changes/on BG but it's in a similar class with Novolin and Humulin in that they are not long lasting like Lantus and Levemir.

I wonder if Lantus, Levemir or even ProZinc would be better for Radar. Hopefully someone here can advise.
 
Last edited:
Numbers going up a bit. You are a dedicated tester! Be sure to stick to low carb food unless BG # falls under 50.
 
Last edited:
I just got off the phone with the Vet and he says that Radar has earned a reduction. Yeah! It's nice to know that my "mommy instincts" are in tune with what my little guy needs. Am emboldened now to continue with the transition to all wet food. Radar agrees. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top