Anne & Hyde (GA)
Member Since 2015
Hyde was diagnosed last Monday 5/18 with a BG of 425 at the vet. She was not showing any symptoms prior to diagnosis.
We had a diabetic 10 years ago using Humulin U and our protocol was to start with a low dose for a few weeks, then do a full curve and up the dose and repeat until we got good numbers. She finally settled out around 4 u.
Hyde is on ProZinc starting at 1u 2x daily. Her PS numbers are consistently over 500. With this different insulin, how long before we can increase the dose? I have read the protocol thread in the ProZinc forum but I was confused as to how long a cycle was. Details are in her SS in the signature.
She is eating wet food twice a day (not a large serving because she will over eat and puke). There is dry food out all day because they are used to free feeding and because of health issues with her brother.
Suggestions?
Anne & Hyde
We had a diabetic 10 years ago using Humulin U and our protocol was to start with a low dose for a few weeks, then do a full curve and up the dose and repeat until we got good numbers. She finally settled out around 4 u.
Hyde is on ProZinc starting at 1u 2x daily. Her PS numbers are consistently over 500. With this different insulin, how long before we can increase the dose? I have read the protocol thread in the ProZinc forum but I was confused as to how long a cycle was. Details are in her SS in the signature.
She is eating wet food twice a day (not a large serving because she will over eat and puke). There is dry food out all day because they are used to free feeding and because of health issues with her brother.
Suggestions?
Anne & Hyde