How often to test BG?

Jessica E

Member Since 2025
I'm getting conflicting answers and have a few thoughts on testing BG. My vet said to test 2 hours after eating, online everyone says how vital it is to test before meal + insulin. The test strips I have are $1 per, so testing 4 times a day seems excessive. So, how is everyone here testing their kitties?
 
Hi! Welcome! Most members here use human meters because the dosing guidelines were developed before the pet meters were made. The strips for the human meters are so much cheaper. Under 20 cents each, I think. I have a ReliOn Platinum that I got for the App, but I never use the App. I use this forum's spreadsheet. So I would get the one described below if I didn't already have one.

@Wendy&Neko said in a recent post, "Test strips [for pet meters] are too expensive, they can be hard to get in a pinch quickly when you need more. We have a large body of knowledge in using human meters and our insulin dosing methods are written with human meter numbers, which is all that people (including vets) used to use. The Relion Premier I think is what a lot of people in the US use (from Walmart) if you have one nearby. And you can pick it up today. Basically any meter with a small blood drop requirement and cheap test strips will work. Yes to testing daily. You test before each shot tomake sure it's safe to give insulin and a couple more to see how low the dose is taking him."
 
Your previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...diabetes-and-feeling-very-overwhelmed.299165/

Always, always BEFORE giving insulin. That way you know what your cat's blood glucose level is and if it's at a safe enough level for any insulin to be given. Blindly giving insulin without knowing what the blood glucose level is dangerous. Even if you're dead tired or in a rush, the few minutes it takes to test your cat can be a lifesaver. Newbies should not give insulin if the cat tests under 150 mg/dl. This is to prevent a possible hypo in a matter of hours. There may be some exceptions such as ketone prone cats.

Random spot checks between the insulin injections are ideal. This way you know how your cat is responding to the insulin. A few spot checks daily is good. Some people do this after the PM insulin because they're not home during the day. A full curve can be done whenever you have a full day available (weekends for many people). For a curve, you test about every 2 hours. It's ok if the cat doesn't always cooperate. Get as many tests done as you can. Track all of the blood glucose readings in some way. Paper and pencil works but what FDMB recommends is an online spreadsheet that can be shared with anyone, even the vet. The instructions are here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

It's perfectly OK to ignore the vet :) Many vets aren't familiar with treating feline diabetes since it's not taught in depth in vet school. Some vets flat out refuse to let clients test for one reason or another. You do not need the vet's permission to test as often as FDMB recommends.

What meter did you buy? You don't need a pet specific meter (too expensive). A basic cheap Human blood glucose meter works well. Any brand that is sold online and also in a store pharmacy is ideal. If you forget to order more online and don't have an auto subscription, you can just run to a pharmacy to pick up another box.

Did you decide on Bexacat or insulin for your cat?
 
You need to withhold food 2 hours before testing the AMPS so the number isn't going influenced by food .
A curve is testing every 2 hours , starting with the AMPS and ending with the PMPS . You can feed your cat his usual small snacks during the curve

Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

squeem 3 gave you the link on how to create our spreadsheet which will also explain how to use it. It's very easy

@Jessica E
 
Last edited:
Your previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...diabetes-and-feeling-very-overwhelmed.299165/

Always, always BEFORE giving insulin. That way you know what your cat's blood glucose level is and if it's at a safe enough level for any insulin to be given. Blindly giving insulin without knowing what the blood glucose level is dangerous. Even if you're dead tired or in a rush, the few minutes it takes to test your cat can be a lifesaver. Newbies should not give insulin if the cat tests under 150 mg/dl. This is to prevent a possible hypo in a matter of hours. There may be some exceptions such as ketone prone cats.

Random spot checks between the insulin injections are ideal. This way you know how your cat is responding to the insulin. A few spot checks daily is good. Some people do this after the PM insulin because they're not home during the day. A full curve can be done whenever you have a full day available (weekends for many people). For a curve, you test about every 2 hours. It's ok if the cat doesn't always cooperate. Get as many tests done as you can. Track all of the blood glucose readings in some way. Paper and pencil works but what FDMB recommends is an online spreadsheet that can be shared with anyone, even the vet. The instructions are here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

It's perfectly OK to ignore the vet :) Many vets aren't familiar with treating feline diabetes since it's not taught in depth in vet school. Some vets flat out refuse to let clients test for one reason or another. You do not need the vet's permission to test as often as FDMB recommends.

What meter did you buy? You don't need a pet specific meter (too expensive). A basic cheap Human blood glucose meter works well. Any brand that is sold online and also in a store pharmacy is ideal. If you forget to order more online and don't have an auto subscription, you can just run to a pharmacy to pick up another box.

Did you decide on Bexacat or insulin for your cat?

Thank you, I thought the vet's recommendation didn't sound right - not that I should always take the internet's advice on things but when a vast majority of feline diabetes owners insist on testing beforehand, I genuinely thought maybe my vet could be wrong.

We bought the Alpha Track meter but now I think we will be using the little Libre attachment for him (keeping the Alphatrack as a backup). We received his insulin yesterday evening and were supposed to start it but last night and this morning we could not get a successful glucose reading from him. Yesterday there wasn't enough blood the first time, the second time we tried our meter errored out. He struggled a bit last night, too. This morning he was very good but we ended up pricking 4 times with not enough blood coming out to sample and by that point he was done with us. We are very overwhelmed, so we think the Libre meter will be helpful. Doesn't help we have a vacation planned in two weeks, so we are additionally stressed. I think the Libre will help us especially while we are gone - gives the sitter one less thing to do with him.

We ended up going with insulin. The bexacat, while very enticing, had too many negative variables after researching enough about it. Insulin is tried and true.
 
A bit of information about the Libre....

The sensors last 2 weeks if all goes according to plan. Sometimes cats are able to remove them, they fall off, or they prematurely stop working. You can replace them yourself. There's a Facebook group that has information on the Libre in pets.

The biggest downside to the Libre is that if numbers are around 100, they tend to give inaccurately low readings. If you see unexpectedly low numbers, always err on the side of caution and get a reading from a handheld glucometer. I'd also encourage you to practice home testing. It takes a while for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to develop more fully. That's why it's often hard to get enough blood when you first start testing. If you get a low Libre reading, you are going to be anxious and having confidence in your ability to manually home test will be helpful when sorting out whether your cat is really experiencing low numbers. Your cat sitter may also be more familiar with home testing. If you're going to practice home testing, please remember to give your cat a treat every single time you poke your kitty's ear! Positive reinforcement does work.

The Libre will be very helpful with a cat sitter. I'm not sure if you can have the phone app read on the sitter's phone but I would see if that's possible.
 
A bit of information about the Libre....

The sensors last 2 weeks if all goes according to plan. Sometimes cats are able to remove them, they fall off, or they prematurely stop working. You can replace them yourself. There's a Facebook group that has information on the Libre in pets.

The biggest downside to the Libre is that if numbers are around 100, they tend to give inaccurately low readings. If you see unexpectedly low numbers, always err on the side of caution and get a reading from a handheld glucometer. I'd also encourage you to practice home testing. It takes a while for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to develop more fully. That's why it's often hard to get enough blood when you first start testing. If you get a low Libre reading, you are going to be anxious and having confidence in your ability to manually home test will be helpful when sorting out whether your cat is really experiencing low numbers. Your cat sitter may also be more familiar with home testing. If you're going to practice home testing, please remember to give your cat a treat every single time you poke your kitty's ear! Positive reinforcement does work.

The Libre will be very helpful with a cat sitter. I'm not sure if you can have the phone app read on the sitter's phone but I would see if that's possible.

Oh I'll follow the FB group! I have read that it's good to double test if the Libre is low, which is why we are keeping that AlphaTrack. We'll keep practicing, just don't feel like we have to at any certain time of the day (say, let's say, twice a day 12 hours apart, lol).

Cat sitter is familiar with insulin (giving to humans), so I thought it would be one less thing to have to try to get her to take BG readings as well. If we can just show her how to give the insulin (which I think he will be better for), I'll feel a lot better
 
What insulin did the vet prescribe? ProZinc (a pet insulin) and Lantus (a Human insulin) are popular and work well.

What is your cat's starting insulin dose?

Hometesting tips: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Few people are pros at testing from the get go. It takes a bit of time to learn and figure out what works best for you and the cat. Warm ears bleed best so if you haven't done that yet, start doing so. The "rice sock" method is popular: Take a small old cotton sock. Fill with ~1/4 cup or less of uncooked rice or dried beans. If you have a really small sock (child size or baby size), use a few spoonfuls. Tie the sock closed. Heat in the microwave until just barely comfortably warm for you to hold in your hand. Try 10 seconds to start and add more time if needed. Apply the warm sock to your cat's ear. Make sure it's not too hot otherwise you'll burn your cat's ear. If the sock is too warm, your cat will flinch so let the sock cool a bit. Wrap the sock around the edge of the ear and hold in place for a minute if possible. Then hold the sock inside the cat's ear to provide a firm surface against which to poke the lancet. You should get blood. If you get too much, not a big deal. Get what you need onto the test strip and hold a tissue to the ear to stop the bleeding. Not enough blood, try "milking" the blood drop to help it bead up more. If you're using a lancet device, adjust the depth setting so you're using the lowest setting that will give you blood.

Tip to prevent the meter from giving an error message if you don't get blood onto the test strip before it errors: Stick the test strip partially into the meter, just far enough to hold it in place but not so far that the meter will turn on. Set aside within easy reach. Warm up the cat's ear. When the ear is ready, push the test strip all the way into the meter to turn it on and show the ready for blood icon whatever it may be. It takes a second or two. Poke to get blood and by the time you have a good blood drop, touch the test strip to the blood and let the meter do it's thing while you reward the cat and stop and bleeding with a tissue. I can push the test strip into the meter with one hand. I kneel on the floor to test my cat so I brace the meter against my knee while right hand pushes test strip in while the other hand is holding the rice sock on the ear to keep it warm. If you're not that coordinated, you'll need to use both hands or and extra set of hands and somehow try to keep the cat from slinking away at the same time.

The AlphaTrack test strips are expensive. Most people use a basic Human blood glucose meter. The Relion (Walmart brand) is popular and the test strips are affordable. I'm not sure if you can buy this brand online if you don't have a local Walmart store. I personally use the AccuChek Guide. It's a brand name and widely sold online and at store pharmacies.
 
What insulin did the vet prescribe? ProZinc (a pet insulin) and Lantus (a Human insulin) are popular and work well.

What is your cat's starting insulin dose?

Hometesting tips: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Few people are pros at testing from the get go. It takes a bit of time to learn and figure out what works best for you and the cat. Warm ears bleed best so if you haven't done that yet, start doing so. The "rice sock" method is popular: Take a small old cotton sock. Fill with ~1/4 cup or less of uncooked rice or dried beans. If you have a really small sock (child size or baby size), use a few spoonfuls. Tie the sock closed. Heat in the microwave until just barely comfortably warm for you to hold in your hand. Try 10 seconds to start and add more time if needed. Apply the warm sock to your cat's ear. Make sure it's not too hot otherwise you'll burn your cat's ear. If the sock is too warm, your cat will flinch so let the sock cool a bit. Wrap the sock around the edge of the ear and hold in place for a minute if possible. Then hold the sock inside the cat's ear to provide a firm surface against which to poke the lancet. You should get blood. If you get too much, not a big deal. Get what you need onto the test strip and hold a tissue to the ear to stop the bleeding. Not enough blood, try "milking" the blood drop to help it bead up more. If you're using a lancet device, adjust the depth setting so you're using the lowest setting that will give you blood.

Tip to prevent the meter from giving an error message if you don't get blood onto the test strip before it errors: Stick the test strip partially into the meter, just far enough to hold it in place but not so far that the meter will turn on. Set aside within easy reach. Warm up the cat's ear. When the ear is ready, push the test strip all the way into the meter to turn it on and show the ready for blood icon whatever it may be. It takes a second or two. Poke to get blood and by the time you have a good blood drop, touch the test strip to the blood and let the meter do it's thing while you reward the cat and stop and bleeding with a tissue. I can push the test strip into the meter with one hand. I kneel on the floor to test my cat so I brace the meter against my knee while right hand pushes test strip in while the other hand is holding the rice sock on the ear to keep it warm. If you're not that coordinated, you'll need to use both hands or and extra set of hands and somehow try to keep the cat from slinking away at the same time.

The AlphaTrack test strips are expensive. Most people use a basic Human blood glucose meter. The Relion (Walmart brand) is popular and the test strips are affordable. I'm not sure if you can buy this brand online if you don't have a local Walmart store. I personally use the AccuChek Guide. It's a brand name and widely sold online and at store pharmacies.

He will be on Prozinc, 1 unit twice a day

I tried the sock method today. He was a bit weirded out with it beside his head so I just rubbed it his head and ears and would give him a treat for doing so. I also treated him when the clicker clicked from the lancet. I guess today will just be a training session on what goes on with these sessions. I wanted to start his insulin and I'm getting nervous about not giving it to him. Will he be okay for a few more days without while we get him adjusted to testing? I'm not sure I'm comfortable giving him his insulin dose without testing his BG first, even if it is a small amount of insulin.

Yes, we realized that the strip in the meter had sat too long and that's why it errored out - which is a shame because we actually had a good droplet. Milking is hard as he won't be still long after we get the blood to start showing. We have not been able to get it done on the floor yet, one of us usually has to hold him in our arms while the other pricks and tests.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy can give you more info about ProZinc.

Some cats need lots of treats to get used to a warm thing on their ear and a strange click. Maybe start with the sock without warming it up. Maybe try a smaller sock so it's not so scary to your cat. I DIYd a 2 inch square bag from scrap cotton fabric. You don't need to be on the floor to test. Some people put their cat on a chair or table or counter. Whatever is most comfortable for you and the cat :)
 
I'm getting conflicting answers and have a few thoughts on testing BG. My vet said to test 2 hours after eating, online everyone says how vital it is to test before meal + insulin. The test strips I have are $1 per, so testing 4 times a day seems excessive. So, how is everyone here testing their kitties?
Wow. I am just joining this thread. You should buy a ReliOn meter from Walmart. Strips are $17.88per 100. I am sure someone else already said that. If so. Sorry.
 
Regarding how many times to test…. in order to keep your cat safe, you do need to know where your cat’s blood glucose is before you give insulin. It could be that your cat’s BG is too low to give the full dose — or to give any insulin at all. So always test before every shot. Now another very important thing to know— equally important really — is to know how low a particular dose takes your cat. In order to make decisions about whether to increase or decrease a dose, you must know the cat’s nadir (lowest point in the cycle). If you don’t know this, you could give too large of a dose (that maybe you think is okay because you only do an occasional spot check — or the vet does an occasional spot check — or even if the vet does a fructosamine test which gives an average BG for a few weeks — or even if the vet does a curve which will probably be elevated due to the cat being stressed at the vet or the cat could even be bouncing on that day and all the numbers be high and the vet tells you to increase as a result.
 
Introduction post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...diabetes-and-feeling-very-overwhelmed.299165/

You need to withhold food 2 hours before testing the AMPS so the number isn't going influenced by food .
A curve is testing every 2 hours , starting with the AMPS and ending with the PMPS . You can feed your cat his usual small snacks during the curve

Can you please fill out your signature
Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


Can you please set up our spreadsheet so you can enter your cats BG numbers

instructions are here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

It will also explain how to use it , it's very easy
@Jessica E
 
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them. Most of us use human meters
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart on line



Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. Youcan fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up


Here is a video one of our members made, just ignore when she has to code it, that's because she is using a pet meter ,with a human meter like the Relion no coding is needed
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
Finally was able to get a BG reading on him after struggling to get blood out for 3 days!!! Inner ear works best for us. His BG last night was 253 so we gave 1 unit of his insulin. This morning his BG was at 212....insulin or no? He hasn't eaten very much in the 20 minutes since we gave it to him.
 
Finally was able to get a BG reading on him after struggling to get blood out for 3 days!!! Inner ear works best for us. His BG last night was 253 so we gave 1 unit of his insulin. This morning his BG was at 212....insulin or no? He hasn't eaten very much in the 20 minutes since we gave it to him.


@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Finally was able to get a BG reading on him after struggling to get blood out for 3 days!!! Inner ear works best for us. His BG last night was 253 so we gave 1 unit of his insulin. This morning his BG was at 212....insulin or no? He hasn't eaten very much in the 20 minutes since we gave it to him.
Hello and welcome! I can’t see your spreadsheet so I am not sure.
 
Back
Top